Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Bitcoin Technical Support => Topic started by: zenderady on July 08, 2018, 10:07:30 AM



Title: Lightning Node
Post by: zenderady on July 08, 2018, 10:07:30 AM
I have a ubuntu working Bitcoin core full node. Can someone point me the right dirrection to install on top of it a lightning node?


Title: Re: Lightning Node
Post by: jackg on July 08, 2018, 10:29:17 AM
Are you on windows or Linux?

For Linux I found this: https://medium.com/coinmonks/bitcoin-setup-your-own-lightning-node-on-mainnet-94337bda09fa


Windows equivalent: https://medium.com/@jadmubaslat/bitcoin-lightning-network-node-easy-setup-tutorial-for-windows-desktop-users-a-how-to-guide-9937b5a8a669


Title: Re: Lightning Node
Post by: zenderady on July 08, 2018, 10:45:08 AM
as I said I have ubuntu
tried that tutorial and I get a error

~/lightning$ make
The 1990s are calling: use ./configure!
The 1990s are calling: use ./configure!
Makefile:182: recipe for target 'ccan/config.h' failed
make: *** [ccan/config.h] Error 1


Title: Re: Lightning Node
Post by: zenderady on July 08, 2018, 11:17:59 AM
figured I had to use ./configure

now stuck here:

~/lightning$ lightningd --alias=<znd> --rgb=<#42f459> --network=bitcoin --lightning-dir=<home/znd/lightning> --bitcoin-datadir <~/.bitcoin/> --log-level=debug
bash: syntax error near unexpected token `newline'



Title: Re: Lightning Node
Post by: jackg on July 08, 2018, 11:26:26 AM
So you ran this:
Code:
lightningd --alias=<your_alias> --rgb=<your_hex_color_value> --network=bitcoin --lightning-dir=<optional/path/to/lightningd> --bitcoin-datadir <optional/path/to/bitcoind> --log-level=debug[/quote]

The ./configure was what was needed to run, you usually also need make and/or make/install straight after it (sometimes ./autogen.sh is needed but that normally sets up the configure bit).

You could try adding "" on the path names to see if that solves the issue of the syntax errors.

Just to clarify, have you gone through this (or similar):
Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install -y \
  autoconf automake build-essential git libtool libgmp-dev \
  libsqlite3-dev python python3 net-tools zlib1g-dev
git clone https://github.com/ElementsProject/lightning.git
cd lightning
./configure
make

From  here (https://github.com/ElementsProject/lightning/blob/master/README.md)

Try running just this and see if it throws an error:
Code:
lightningd/lightningd --network=bitcoin --log-level=debug


Title: Re: Lightning Node
Post by: zenderady on July 09, 2018, 07:57:14 PM
stuck here. bitcoin core IS running in the background.

https://ibb.co/g0197T


Title: Re: Lightning Node
Post by: jackg on July 09, 2018, 08:02:00 PM
stuck here. bitcoin core IS running in the background.

https://ibb.co/g0197T

You answered your own question I think, close bitcoin core and see if it works again or not.

You want the bitcoind to be running not bitcoin qt/core


Title: Re: Lightning Node
Post by: Abdussamad on July 09, 2018, 08:05:00 PM
Some basic linux proficiency is required. When they say <insertsomethinghere> you should have the good sense to omit the <> symbols. Try this:

Code:
lightningd --alias=znd --rgb=42f459 --network=bitcoin  --bitcoin-datadir ~/.bitcoin --log-level=debug


Also bitcoind has to be synchronized. Has it downloaded all 180GB of the blockchain?


Title: Re: Lightning Node
Post by: jackg on July 09, 2018, 08:45:48 PM
Some basic linux proficiency is required. When they say <insertsomethinghere> you should have the good sense to omit the <> symbols. Try this:

Code:
lightningd --alias=znd --rgb=42f459 --network=bitcoin  --bitcoin-datadir ~/.bitcoin --log-level=debug


Also bitcoind has to be synchronized. Has it downloaded all 180GB of the blockchain?

Wow. How did I miss that, it's been longer than I thought since I used linux then :'(.


Title: Re: Lightning Node
Post by: zenderady on July 10, 2018, 06:13:45 AM
Some basic linux proficiency is required. When they say <insertsomethinghere> you should have the good sense to omit the <> symbols. Try this:

Code:
lightningd --alias=znd --rgb=42f459 --network=bitcoin  --bitcoin-datadir ~/.bitcoin --log-level=debug


Also bitcoind has to be synchronized. Has it downloaded all 180GB of the blockchain?


I am not linux savy but thank you for replying. Doing my best to make this work without having the technical skills and feel so appreciative when someone answers one of many my noob questions.

1.When I typed that I get:
znd@znd-desktop:~/lightning/lightning$ lightningd --alias=znd --rgb=42f459 --network=bitcoin  --bitcoin-datadir ~/.bitcoin --log-level=debug
lightningd: command not found

2.what is the difference between bitcoind and the core? bitcoin core is fully synchronised and both ways connections.

I'm sure these are silly questions.. but I really want to make the server working


Title: Re: Lightning Node
Post by: bob123 on July 10, 2018, 07:43:23 AM
1.When I typed that I get:
znd@znd-desktop:~/lightning/lightning$ lightningd --alias=znd --rgb=42f459 --network=bitcoin  --bitcoin-datadir ~/.bitcoin --log-level=debug
lightningd: command not found

Command not found appears because you didn't set a path variable.
Navigate into the folder again and use ./lightningd instead of lightningd.
In your case: ./lightningd --alias=znd --rgb=42f459 --network=bitcoin  --bitcoin-datadir ~/.bitcoin --log-level=debug


2.what is the difference between bitcoind and the core? bitcoin core is fully synchronised and both ways connections.

The executable named core is the GUI version, bitcoind runs without a GUI and is a daemon (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daemon_(computing)).


Title: Re: Lightning Node
Post by: zenderady on July 10, 2018, 05:58:19 PM
I get this

znd@znd-desktop:~/lightning/lightning$ ./lightningd --alias=znd --rgb=42f459 --network=bitcoin  --bitcoin-datadir ~/.bitcoin --log-level=debug
bash: ./lightningd: Is a directory


if someone can dm me if he has 5 mins I can share teamviewer credentials to get this running. I would appreciate it a lot


Title: Re: Lightning Node
Post by: bob123 on July 10, 2018, 06:50:34 PM
znd@znd-desktop:~/lightning/lightning$ ./lightningd --alias=znd --rgb=42f459 --network=bitcoin  --bitcoin-datadir ~/.bitcoin --log-level=debug
bash: ./lightningd: Is a directory

Can you list the output of ls -al ?
But if lightningd is a directory, then open it and run the command inside the directory where your executable (called lightningd) is located.


Title: Re: Lightning Node
Post by: zenderady on July 10, 2018, 06:58:54 PM
https://ibb.co/n9zYmo

running that command says bitcoin-cli command not found


Title: Re: Lightning Node
Post by: zenderady on July 10, 2018, 09:25:58 PM
After reading a bit online I just realised that maybe I have just the qt installed. proceding to install the cli as well