Bitcoin Forum

Alternate cryptocurrencies => Mining (Altcoins) => Topic started by: ChewyBongo on September 12, 2018, 06:02:58 PM



Title: How to bulk order 500 S9/L3+ from Bitmain?
Post by: ChewyBongo on September 12, 2018, 06:02:58 PM
Hey guys. Looking into setting up a large scale farm (been small for over a year now).

How do I go about ordering 500 ASICS from Bitmain? Do they allow coupons? I have a few hundred 50$ coupons. Iíve tried finding their sales email, no luck. Does anyone know the shipping process for this? Iíd imagine a container, as UPS is extremely expensive.

Also, for power distribution... how are large scale farms doing it? Surely they just not be using a million PDU strips. Thatís insanely expensive. Where are the miners plugging into if not a a PDU? I guess Iíll talk to my electrician. But if anyone could answer thatíd be great.

Please yíall, let me know.


Title: Re: How to bulk order 500 S9/L3+ from Bitmain?
Post by: tim-bc on September 12, 2018, 06:57:26 PM
Bitmain does allow coupons, and you can only use one coupon per miner. You can submit requests at https://support.bitmain.com/hc/en-us/requests/new

Sometimes Bitmain will fulfill orders with UPS, but not for much more than 200 miners at once. Otherwise they will likely be shipped in a container and then loaded onto a freight truck.

I haven't seen any large mining farms not use PDUs. It just factors into the cost of setup. Good PDUs can support 10-15 miners each if you set everything up right.


Title: Re: How to bulk order 500 S9/L3+ from Bitmain?
Post by: ChewyBongo on September 12, 2018, 09:16:38 PM
Thanks! Okay so about PDUs...

Seems like most PDUs are 30A, so that canít support more than 6 miners or so miners if math is correct. 60A PDUs are like 400-500$, and thatís what like per 12 miners? Thatís 4k in PDU per 100 miners, crazy!! Surely there is a cheaper way, or Iím not looking at the right tech.

I have 30A tripplite PDUs but only a few dozen miners so it works good. Large scale though, itís very expensive. 20k in PDUs??


Title: Re: How to bulk order 500 S9/L3+ from Bitmain?
Post by: adaseb on September 12, 2018, 09:31:35 PM
Since we are in a bear market you are better off contacting some farms which are liquidating their equipment due to the price declines.

If you post in the Classified section of Bitcointalk you might run into better luck there.

Always remember to use escrow and only buy from reputable people.


Title: Re: How to bulk order 500 S9/L3+ from Bitmain?
Post by: fanatic26_ on September 12, 2018, 10:17:36 PM
You have to look into the secondary market if you want cost effective PDUs in bulk.

It really is just the way to go. My facility has 3024 30 amp PDUs in the production environment.

Also if you are talking about how many miners you can NOT run 6 s9s on a 30amp PDU. S9s draw 7 amps or more, we run 4 per PDU and that is about the maximum, officially its a bit too much running 28 amps on a 30 amp PDU but I have been doing it for years.


Title: Re: How to bulk order 500 S9/L3+ from Bitmain?
Post by: Maxumark on September 13, 2018, 12:13:33 AM
You have to look into the secondary market if you want cost effective PDUs in bulk.

It really is just the way to go. My facility has 3024 30 amp PDUs in the production environment.

Also if you are talking about how many miners you can NOT run 6 s9s on a 30amp PDU. S9s draw 7 amps or more, we run 4 per PDU and that is about the maximum, officially its a bit too much running 28 amps on a 30 amp PDU but I have been doing it for years.

You must be on single phase. On 3 phase you can run 6 S9s per 3 phase PDU.

-M


Title: Re: How to bulk order 500 S9/L3+ from Bitmain?
Post by: ChewyBongo on September 13, 2018, 12:55:07 AM
You have to look into the secondary market if you want cost effective PDUs in bulk.

It really is just the way to go. My facility has 3024 30 amp PDUs in the production environment.

Also if you are talking about how many miners you can NOT run 6 s9s on a 30amp PDU. S9s draw 7 amps or more, we run 4 per PDU and that is about the maximum, officially its a bit too much running 28 amps on a 30 amp PDU but I have been doing it for years.

Really? Iím running 5 L3+ miners on a 220V 30A PDU. They are all overclocked 20% from stock. Never had any issues. S9s could be a different story though.



Title: Re: How to bulk order 500 S9/L3+ from Bitmain?
Post by: ChewyBongo on September 13, 2018, 01:02:22 AM
Since we are in a bear market you are better off contacting some farms which are liquidating their equipment due to the price declines.

If you post in the Classified section of Bitcointalk you might run into better luck there.

Always remember to use escrow and only buy from reputable people.

As in PDUs or the actual miners? Bitmain is selling the L3+ for 195, but take 50$ with coupon. I imagine itd be hard to find miners cheaper than 145$. And, these are new, not miners that have been through who knows what for the past year or two.

You really think farms are selling L3+ below those prices? If so, I?ll do some contacting. But I wouldnt think so.


Title: Re: How to bulk order 500 S9/L3+ from Bitmain?
Post by: lunobird on September 13, 2018, 02:30:18 AM
I would talk with collations facility like minery tech. A lot of customers want to get rid of s9 and L3+.

This is best way to avoid import charges. Last z9 mini shipment was 25 percent of cost in fees


Title: Re: How to bulk order 500 S9/L3+ from Bitmain?
Post by: octominer on September 13, 2018, 06:18:44 AM
Hey! OCTOMINER here. We manufacture & sell GPU miners but also bulk sell Bitmains products. Our office is based in Shenzhen and we can source Bitmain products for a very good price for our bulk customers.
We have helped multiple 5MW+ mining facilities with their setup. Our hardware and service quality is top notch, you can google us. :)

Shoot me a PM, we can help you get set up with all the hardware. We work directly with a solid PDU manufacturer also, we can provide custom PDU solutions to you if needed.