Bitcoin Forum
June 18, 2024, 08:05:06 AM *
News: Voting for pizza day contest
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Incorrect RPCuser or RPCpassword ( authorization failed )  (Read 9334 times)
Stephenpaulraj (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2013, 10:30:36 AM
 #1

Hi

   I am running Eloipool on Gentoo linux and testing it over VMware workstation, I have installed Bitcoind and blocks are up to date, when i type

eloipool@mypool ~ $ ./bin/bitcoind getinfo
{
    "version" : 80100,
    "protocolversion" : 70001,
    "walletversion" : 60000,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 243906,
    "connections" : 8,
    "proxy" : "",
    "difficulty" : 19339258.27238668,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1371974854,
    "keypoolsize" : 101,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : "Warning: Please check that your computer's date and time are correct! If your clock is wrong Bitcoin will not work properly."
}

And when i type

eloipool@mypool ~ $ ./bin/bitcoind -rpcuser=stephen -rpcpassword=3QtnxrB7P5y4EpBdad1MkCeB2RHmArvcarw7udgXsAce getinfo
error: incorrect rpcuser or rpcpassword (authorization failed)

my bitcoin.conf
is this
### bitcoin.conf configuration file. Lines beginning with # are comments.
### Uncomment and edit options you wish to use.

## JSON-RPC options (for controlling a running bitcoin-qt/bitcoind process)

# server=1 tells Bitcoin to accept JSON-RPC commands.
server=1

# You must set rpcuser and rpcpassword to secure the JSON-RPC api
# You should create your own new random password.
# The username and password MUST NOT be the same.

rpcuser=stephen
rpcpassword=3QtnxrB7P5y4EpBdad1MkCeB2RHmArvcarw7udgXsAce

# How many seconds bitcoin will wait for a complete RPC HTTP request
# after the HTTP connection is established.
rpctimeout=30

# By default, only RPC connections from localhost are allowed. Specify
# as many rpcallowip= settings as you like to allow connections from
# other hosts (and you may use * as a wildcard character):
#rpcallowip=10.1.1.*
#rpcallowip=192.168.1.*

# Listen for RPC connections on this TCP port:
rpcport=8332

# You can use bitcoind to send commands to bitcoin-qt/bitcoind
# running on another host using this option:
rpcconnect=127.0.0.1

# Use Secure Sockets Layer (also known as TLS or HTTPS) to communicate
# with Bitcoin -server or bitcoind
#rpcssl=1

# OpenSSL settings used when rpcssl=1
rpcsslciphers=TLSv1+HIGH:!SSLv2:!aNULL:!eNULL:!AH:!3DES:@STRENGTH
rpcsslcertificatechainfile=server.cert

## Network-related settings:

# Run on the test network instead of the real bitcoin network.
#testnet=1

# Connect via a socks proxy
#proxy=127.0.0.1:9050

# Select the version of socks proxy to use (4-5, default: 5)
#socks=5

# Use proxy to reach tor hidden services (default: same as -proxy)
#tor=<ip:port>



Can you help me where i gone wrong

when i tried connecting with GUI miner with host : 192.168.1.9 ( local host server ip ) with rpcuser and rpcpass it says

2013-06-29 15:55:20: Running command: poclbm.exe stephen:3QtnxrB7P5y4EpBdad1MkCeB2RHmArvcarw7udgXsAce@192.168.1.9:8332 --device=0 --platform=0 --verbose -r1
2013-06-29 15:55:20: Listener for "Default" started
2013-06-29 15:55:23: Listener for "Default": No PyOpenCL
2013-06-29 15:55:23: Listener for "Default": Not using OpenCL
2013-06-29 15:55:23: Listener for "Default": Nothing to mine on, exiting

I need help on this.
Jouke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 426
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
June 29, 2013, 11:19:08 AM
 #2

add -rpcssl=0 to the getinfo command

Koop en verkoop snel en veilig bitcoins via iDeal op Bitonic.nl
Stephenpaulraj (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2013, 12:00:58 PM
 #3

I get the same error,

eloipool@mypool ~ $ ./bin/bitcoind -rpcuser=stephen -rpcpassword=3QtnxrB7P5y4EpBdad1MkCeB2RHmArvcarw7udgXsAce -rpcssl=0 getinfo
error: incorrect rpcuser or rpcpassword (authorization failed)
eloipool@mypool ~ $

i am using the bitcoin version - 0.8.1 is this creating the problem.

pat1900
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 29, 2013, 12:08:52 PM
 #4

I get the same error
Where is your bitcoin.conf located?
bitcoind can't find it. You may need something like
-conf=/Users/stephen/Bitcoin/bitcoin.conf

(and there is also a -datadir arg just in case you have problems with your wallet.dat afterwards)

USD: 0.000 BTC       EUR: 0.000 BTC
Stephenpaulraj (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2013, 12:14:46 PM
 #5

Thanks for your help,

Here is my Bitcoin.conf located

eloipool@mypool ~ $ cd /home/eloipool/.bitcoin
eloipool@mypool ~/.bitcoin $ ls
bitcoin.conf  blocks  chainstate  database  db.log  debug.log  newblock.sh  peers.dat  run-bitcoind.sh  wallet.dat
eloipool@mypool ~/.bitcoin $

If want to take a look at my server i can give you access, Can you help me out in solving this issue.

Is it the version of bitcoin matters in this issue.

pat1900
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 29, 2013, 12:38:30 PM
 #6

./bin/bitcoind getinfo
...
./bin/bitcoind -rpcuser=stephen -rpcpassword=3QtnxrB7P5y4EpBdad1MkCeB2RHmArvcarw7udgXsAce getinfo
So have you tried
./bin/bitcoind -rpcuser=stephen -rpcpassword=3QtnxrB7P5y4EpBdad1MkCeB2RHmArvcarw7udgXsAce -conf=/home/eloipool/.bitcoin -datadir=/home/eloipool/.bitcoin  getinfo
?

I'm trying to find out why you want to use the rpcuser and rpcpassword arguments at all. Are you planning on accessing bitcoind from a remote machine later?
At the moment you work locally, i.e. your bitcoind process is running on the same machine as your command line entries. And you are not using RPC calls. You are using the command line commands.

USD: 0.000 BTC       EUR: 0.000 BTC
Stephenpaulraj (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2013, 12:56:11 PM
 #7

Why am i trying  rpcuser and rpcpassword arguments is because, when i try to mine with GUIminer i couldnt connect it, also i get error message with RPC user,authorization failed, take a look at the image below. The file is the _launchpool does it configured correctly to find the bitcoin.conf.

I am running Eloipool on VMware ( Gentoo linux ) i am trying to solo mine from Windows 7 using host 192.168.1.9 ( VMware IP ) Port 8332 with user name stephen ( RPC username ) pass 3QtnxrB7P5y4EpBdad1MkCeB2RHmArvcarw7udgXsAce ( RPC Pass ). I get this error on console of GUIminer.

Should i use RPC username and pass to mine or should i create a user to mine on this server.

2013-06-29 15:55:20: Running command: poclbm.exe stephen:3QtnxrB7P5y4EpBdad1MkCeB2RHmArvcarw7udgXsAce@192.168.1.9:8332 --device=0 --platform=0 --verbose -r1
2013-06-29 15:55:20: Listener for "Default" started
2013-06-29 15:55:23: Listener for "Default": No PyOpenCL
2013-06-29 15:55:23: Listener for "Default": Not using OpenCL
2013-06-29 15:55:23: Listener for "Default": Nothing to mine on, exiting

http://www.flickr.com/photos/98208596@N06/9166787242/lightbox/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/98208596@N06/9166787242/lightbox/

I have ready with everything on server, bit to tweek to get it run. I struck up.



pat1900
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 29, 2013, 01:48:28 PM
 #8

i am trying to solo mine
Hmm, the whole setup looks quite inefficient and complicated. What are you trying to do? Do you really want to setup a big mining pool and invite hundreds of people to join your pool???

Don't get me wrong, but could it be you confused "pooled mining" with "setting up a mining pool for a huge group of people with thousands of graphics cards and ASIC chips"?

If you just want to do "pooled mining", then you should simply use cgminer.exe on a standard Windows 7 PC (no VMware), and join an existing pool. Easiest to use are mining.bitcoin.cz, btcguild.com and mmpool.bitparking.com, I think.

If you really want to install a new mining pool for solo mining, then you shouldn't do that on a Windows PC. You'll run into massive performance problems as soon as a few hundred people join your pool.

USD: 0.000 BTC       EUR: 0.000 BTC
kokjo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1000

You are WRONG!


View Profile
June 29, 2013, 01:50:54 PM
 #9

i will fix your problem for 0.25 btc and ssh access to your server.

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves and wiser people so full of doubts." -Bertrand Russell
Stephenpaulraj (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2013, 03:07:26 PM
 #10

I am trying to setup a mining pool, I am testing with Eloipool on VMware, i got everything configured it correctly, I get a error  Incorrect RPCuser or RPCpassword ( authorization failed ).

And i tried to mine with the pool using GUI miner, I couldnt get it connected.

Server is on VMware ( gentoo linux + bitcoind + Eloipool ) and mining is on same machine on windows.

I cant get it connected.

How do i check Eloipool talks to Bitcoind, and GUIminers talks to Eloipool.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!