Bitcoin Forum
May 24, 2024, 10:52:50 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Transaction Fees Problem  (Read 640 times)
tuaris (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
May 11, 2014, 01:44:20 PM
Last edit: May 11, 2014, 03:18:31 PM by tuaris
 #1

I recently sent a few payments and the transaction fees were huge:

Code:
Array
(
    [amount] => -9.7
    [fee] => -0.8
    [confirmations] => 61
    [blockhash] => 9e21d3f1c10d88896e815dd5f884bc441f3bffc8aac310b411a17bc0d40ebe07
    [blockindex] => 4
    [txid] => 5de9507afeefda771b3a4449400c26d12efccf687d0a3829ddb6aff17d65a5b6
    [time] => 1399813341
    [details] => Array
        (
            [0] => Array
                (
                    [account] =>
                    [address] => SWcx3zoXCAj24RcaUVP8NaqjJGV5JfzsJN
                    [category] => send
                    [amount] => -9.7
                    [fee] => -0.8
                )

        )

)


What can be done to avoid this (besides grouping payments)?

Nagato4
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 625
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 11, 2014, 04:14:45 PM
 #2

I recently sent a few payments and the transaction fees were huge:

Code:
Array
(
    [amount] => -9.7
    [fee] => -0.8
    [confirmations] => 61
    [blockhash] => 9e21d3f1c10d88896e815dd5f884bc441f3bffc8aac310b411a17bc0d40ebe07
    [blockindex] => 4
    [txid] => 5de9507afeefda771b3a4449400c26d12efccf687d0a3829ddb6aff17d65a5b6
    [time] => 1399813341
    [details] => Array
        (
            [0] => Array
                (
                    [account] =>
                    [address] => SWcx3zoXCAj24RcaUVP8NaqjJGV5JfzsJN
                    [category] => send
                    [amount] => -9.7
                    [fee] => -0.8
                )

        )

)


What can be done to avoid this (besides grouping payments)?


Which coin is that exactly? I am sure it is not bitcoin as the address is "SWcx3zoXCAj24RcaUVP8NaqjJGV5JfzsJN"

tuaris (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
May 11, 2014, 04:17:49 PM
 #3

it's suncoin.

Nagato4
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 625
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 11, 2014, 04:22:19 PM
 #4

it's suncoin.

Never knew it. Tongue
After checking the suncoin block explorer, it seems the min tx fee is 0.1/KB and so you should only pay 0.1 for your 453B tx...

tuaris (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
May 11, 2014, 06:44:09 PM
 #5

It just happened again.

Code:
Array
(
    [amount] => -9.7
    [fee] => -0.8
    [confirmations] => 49
    [blockhash] => 0869d176545ee1c4050a6cd72cac43fe2c0e0bf8ba208d84d6eecc71e810c5b0
    [blockindex] => 2
    [txid] => a0bd09b9c0c843ec2bc86b7bf5880ba4dd5a887aa1748f11bdd4598fdea4803c
    [time] => 1399831330
    [details] => Array
        (
            [0] => Array
                (
                    [account] =>
                    [address] => SWcx3zoXCAj24RcaUVP8NaqjJGV5JfzsJN
                    [category] => send
                    [amount] => -9.7
                    [fee] => -0.8
                )

        )

)

For now I can take the losses because Suncoin is so low, but how can I fix this?  From what I understand I can modify the source code?
Or is there a way for me to know what the fee will be beforehand?  This way I can wait until the coins age a little more.

tuaris (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
May 11, 2014, 08:13:13 PM
Last edit: May 11, 2014, 08:42:31 PM by tuaris
 #6

I think I solved it.  I made the following changes to the source code:

src/wallet.cpp:1179    
Code:
bool fAllowFree = true; //CTransaction::AllowFree(dPriority);

src/main.cpp:3558
Code:
bool fAllowFree = true; // (nBlockSize + nTxSize < 1500 || CTransaction::AllowFree(dPriority));

I understand that this could prevent my transactions from being picked up by some miners.  
So far they have been going through. Example: here and here.

If they don't, then they will get picked up by my pool when it finds a block (which is pretty often).

Is there a better way?

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!