Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 10:18:19 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: I manage 10,000+ computers, how to mining ?  (Read 5191 times)
JerryW
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:22:46 PM
 #1

I manage 10,000+ computers with a central system (can install and run application & cloud computing), how can I mining with this resources?

Should I setup a pool? if yes how to do this?

Thanks a lot for your kindly help.
 
1481451499
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451499

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451499
Reply with quote  #2

1481451499
Report to moderator
1481451499
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451499

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451499
Reply with quote  #2

1481451499
Report to moderator
1481451499
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451499

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451499
Reply with quote  #2

1481451499
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481451499
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451499

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451499
Reply with quote  #2

1481451499
Report to moderator
1481451499
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451499

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451499
Reply with quote  #2

1481451499
Report to moderator
1481451499
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451499

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451499
Reply with quote  #2

1481451499
Report to moderator
Prze_koles
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 153



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:26:16 PM
 #2

First calculate if it's profitable.

JerryW
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:27:29 PM
 #3

If cost is not an issue, how to mining is best way?
speeder
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:29:35 PM
 #4

If cost is not an issue, how to mining is best way?

That really suggests you are stealing electricity of your employer.

Dobrodav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:30:08 PM
 #5

Before that, you should take in consideration that electro bills will sky rocket in your organisation.
Somebody will notice it for sure.
You can organise your own pool (pushpool project), or use multiminer, or promissing proxy project.
I am not sure, if bitcoin client in server mode can be used for that.

We will  meet in not-so-distant future.
Today`s strange music :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8mCgjbBPMk
Yesterday`s  strange music:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uCTyC1FGLw
trentzb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:30:59 PM
 #6

Should I setup a pool? if yes how to do this?
bitcoind -daemon
Chucksta
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:31:25 PM
 #7

Interesting, what GPU do the computers use ?
Dobrodav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:32:30 PM
 #8

If cost is not an issue, how to mining is best way?

That really suggests you are stealing electricity of your employer.

Not necessery, there is a  possability, that  we meet another botnet developer.

We will  meet in not-so-distant future.
Today`s strange music :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8mCgjbBPMk
Yesterday`s  strange music:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uCTyC1FGLw
bobR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:35:14 PM
 #9

1   rip off your electricity from your employer
2   rip off help to tell you how to do it
3   spend time in jail enjoying your earnings
JerryW
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:36:40 PM
 #10

the computers all with graphic card, I only want to use it for mining during idle time.

how much BTC is possilble to generate per day with this computing capability?
w128
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:37:30 PM
 #11

If cost is not an issue, how to mining is best way?

That really suggests you are stealing electricity of your employer.

Not necessery, there is a  possability, that  we meet another botnet developer.

I actually hope so.

Otherwise, this in the kind of idiocy that gives sysadmins a bad name.
Nilarium
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:38:25 PM
 #12

u didnt said what GPU that PC's got.

rezin777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:39:06 PM
 #13

the computers all with graphic card, I only want to use it for mining during idle time.

how much BTC is possilble to generate per day with this computing capability?


Since you give absolutely no specifics besides "10,000+ computers", I'd guess 3.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:39:41 PM
 #14

My spider senses are tingling..I sense someone is about to get fired!

JerryW
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:43:24 PM
 #15

If cost is not an issue, how to mining is best way?

That really suggests you are stealing electricity of your employer.

Not necessery, there is a  possability, that  we meet another botnet developer.

I actually hope so.

Otherwise, this in the kind of idiocy that gives sysadmins a bad name.

No stealing, the computer is for gamehouse, just try to use the idle wasting computing resources.
speeder
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:47:04 PM
 #16

If cost is not an issue, how to mining is best way?

That really suggests you are stealing electricity of your employer.

Not necessery, there is a  possability, that  we meet another botnet developer.

I actually hope so.

Otherwise, this in the kind of idiocy that gives sysadmins a bad name.

No stealing, the computer is for gamehouse, just try to use the idle wasting computing resources.

Today computers when idling use less power, if you use the "idle time" you will ramp up (a lot) the power use.

10.000 computers using about 5 hours of total GPU time daily, are likely to use 25 Mwatts daily. (and turn a good part of that into heat too, rising cooling costs of the facilities where they are located)

Chucksta
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:48:05 PM
 #17

the computers all with graphic card, I only want to use it for mining during idle time.

how much BTC is possilble to generate per day with this computing capability?


That all depends on what the graphics card is.

A decent overclocked card can currently generate about 1 BTC per day. You could probably expect that to halve in a week's time, and then halve again, if the current difficulty increase trend continues.

ATI cards are the best for this, especially the 5850.

My guess is your machines are using the video chipset on the board. If that is the case, then it may not be worthwhile using them as miners. Then again you never know. You need to find out what the graphics card/chipset is.

edit: I just read that your machines are for gaming... must have decent graphics cards in.. what be they ?
no_alone
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:48:17 PM
 #18

You dont need a pool If they are all conencted to network...

Use this manuall to setup the minners
Code:
http://www.newslobster.com/random/how-to-get-started-using-your-gpu-to-mine-for-bitcoins-on-windows

You can use this tool to mine (miner can be totally invisible ) only when the computer is IDLE

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9851.0

Mine only when pc is IDLE totally indivisible...
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9851.0
Mine on family computer without disturbing them

Donation : 1GjpJnLU8zdfEHW7FoCx2UUosJgc9prXN4
grondilu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:49:52 PM
 #19

If you control all the machines, you don't need to install a pool.  Just run the miner on each machine and have them transfer any generated bitcoins to a single address.

My guess is you'll get fired in a matter of weeks, just long enough for your employer to see the increase in its electricity bill.
ataranlen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 843


The One and Only


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2011, 07:51:54 PM
 #20

Even if he only did CPU mining on these computers, he's still looking at roughly 100500 ghash/s if they are gaming computers. The power cost may be negligible if they are on all the time anyways.

MineTexas.com Minecraft Server We accept Bitcoin and Dogecoin.
Deepbit on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Deepbit/151108048294815
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!