Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 10:17:36 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to connect to my bitcoin server over the internet?  (Read 3630 times)
melter
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 05:37:45 AM
 #1

How would someone connect to my bitcoin -server over the internet? do I put my external ip as --host? or what?
1480846656
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480846656

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480846656
Reply with quote  #2

1480846656
Report to moderator
1480846656
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480846656

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480846656
Reply with quote  #2

1480846656
Report to moderator
1480846656
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480846656

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480846656
Reply with quote  #2

1480846656
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480846656
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480846656

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480846656
Reply with quote  #2

1480846656
Report to moderator
d3c0n808
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113

Not Goxed


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 05:45:33 AM
 #2

First you need to add a wildcard to your bitcoin.conf
your typical network setup will look like
allowip=192.168.1.*
you will need to also add
allowip=*

check on the allowip it might be rpcallowip or something like that im sure its in the sample conf files. 

Depending on your router it might have ddns support which is great sign up at dyndns.org or no-ip.org or something so you can make a host name which is easier to remember than an ip as if you have a dynamic ip(changes) like i do its a pain if the ip changes.   
You need to use your wan ip or your wan hostname as they are the address you will point your miners to over the internet.  Then you will need to portforward port 8332 or what ever your rpc port is to that computer.  So if your servers local ip is 192.168.1.2 your config will look similar to this

out port                       In port     NAT/IP Address   TCP/UDP
8332                              8332      192.168.1.2        both(I chose both i think it only requires tcp though)


Hope that helps

60 GH/s BFL Single SC - Pre-Order Yours Today!
`````` Only $1299.99 - butterflylabs.com ``````
melter
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 02:44:49 AM
 #3

I still don't understand...
1bitc0inplz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 03:14:36 AM
 #4

I still don't understand...

d3c0n808's response was spot on... what, exactly, didn't make sense?

Mine @ http://pool.bitp.it - No fees, virtually 0 stales, what's not to love!
Chat with us @ #bitp.it on irc.freenode.net
Learn more about our pool @ http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=12181.0
melter
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 02:33:26 PM
 #5

for starters, the allowip command is set to the internal ip address.. how is someone not on my network going to connect to that ip?
melter
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 06:31:48 PM
 #6

ok, I got it working. does anyone know how I can tell who is connected to my pool?
KnuttyD
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110



View Profile
May 29, 2011, 07:02:24 PM
 #7

ok, I got it working. does anyone know how I can tell who is connected to my pool?
Wait, are you trying to create a mining pool, or have clients connect to your bitcoin server?
Because as far as I know, they are two different things.
A bitcoin pool gives out "shares" of 1 difficulty each. A bitcoin server just doles out work at the current difficulty.

I think you need some sort of external proxy for the clients to connect to if you want to see who is connecting to your bitcoin server. I dont know of such a program.

If I helped you in some way, and you feel obligated to do so, you can tip me some coin!
1KVadqbELY3KuJhkm9rDtcwxZknhRsfPHY
melter
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 07:14:57 PM
 #8

just a server then. is it possible to see who is connected to it or what?
d3c0n808
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113

Not Goxed


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 08:24:43 PM
 #9

for starters, the allowip command is set to the internal ip address.. how is someone not on my network going to connect to that ip?

Thats why you need to add a wildcard to your conf file so you server does not limit connections to the internal network and allows outside ip's


just a server then. is it possible to see who is connected to it or what?

Currently there is no way to tell which miners are connected to your server without the use of a proxy.  Im sure you could go through your connection logs and search the external ip of which ever miners you are using over the internet.  But the server as of now does not contain the tools necessary to be able to show hashrate of miners, or which miners are connected withouth the use of 3rd party software(proxy)

60 GH/s BFL Single SC - Pre-Order Yours Today!
`````` Only $1299.99 - butterflylabs.com ``````
melter
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 08:47:39 PM
 #10

where can i find these logs?
KnuttyD
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110



View Profile
May 29, 2011, 08:53:06 PM
 #11

where can i find these logs?

Go to start->run and paste this: %appdata%\Bitcoin\debug.log

If I helped you in some way, and you feel obligated to do so, you can tip me some coin!
1KVadqbELY3KuJhkm9rDtcwxZknhRsfPHY
melter
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 09:42:21 PM
 #12

are you sure? My friend is telling me he is connected to my pool and his miner is showing ~300,000 Khash/s but I can't find his external IP in the log (I used search)
d3c0n808
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113

Not Goxed


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 10:14:11 PM
 #13

are you sure? My friend is telling me he is connected to my pool and his miner is showing ~300,000 Khash/s but I can't find his external IP in the log (I used search)

I've gone through all my logs before as well and was unable to find my miners connections.  I'm wondering if it worked on the older version of bitcoin and the new version removed it from the logs perhaps a developer can shed some more light on this.  Though I think it would be worth while for the developers to add these tools to the bitcoin client/server as the same program is used for both and it would make managing your cluster much easier.

60 GH/s BFL Single SC - Pre-Order Yours Today!
`````` Only $1299.99 - butterflylabs.com ``````
melter
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:37:16 AM
 #14

yeah... so is there any other way to check?
d3c0n808
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113

Not Goxed


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 02:17:55 AM
 #15

yeah... so is there any other way to check?

You can use the flexible mining proxy in the forum im using that now its nice because I can switch the pools for ALL the miners with a click of a button.  So i don't have to ssh and vi all my scripts.   You can also monitor speed and which pools are up etc etc.

60 GH/s BFL Single SC - Pre-Order Yours Today!
`````` Only $1299.99 - butterflylabs.com ``````
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!