Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 08:35:14 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Txn fee back to 0.01 in rc5?  (Read 2234 times)
DareC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 12:34:44 AM
 #1

I just upgraded from 0.3.22-rc2 to -rc5.  I liked the considerably lower fee in rc2, but this seems to have been reverted or regressed. Even with txn fee manually set to 0.0005, I get asked to pay the old fee of 0.01. Is this expected behaviour or a bug?
1480883714
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883714

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883714
Reply with quote  #2

1480883714
Report to moderator
1480883714
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883714

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883714
Reply with quote  #2

1480883714
Report to moderator
1480883714
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883714

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883714
Reply with quote  #2

1480883714
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
May 29, 2011, 12:41:07 AM
 #2

I just upgraded from 0.3.22-rc2 to -rc5.  I liked the considerably lower fee in rc2, but this seems to have been reverted or regressed. Even with txn fee manually set to 0.0005, I get asked to pay the old fee of 0.01. Is this expected behaviour or a bug?

It's expected behavior. The tx fee change is being rolled out in two phases, as was discussed in the thread about it.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
Sukrim
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 01:43:15 AM
 #3

When is "phase 2" expected to happen?

https://bitfinex.com <-- leveraged trading of BTCUSD, LTCUSD and LTCBTC (long and short) - 10% discount on fees for the first 30 days with this refcode: x5K9YtL3Zb
Mail me at Bitmessage: BM-BbiHiVv5qh858ULsyRDtpRrG9WjXN3xf
xf2_org
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 02:15:20 AM
 #4

When is "phase 2" expected to happen?

As soon as possible -- the very next bitcoin release.

ShadowOfHarbringer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 05:12:38 AM
 #5

When is "phase 2" expected to happen?

As soon as possible -- the very next bitcoin release.

BTW.
The fact that the transaction fee is forced annoys me. I am still using 0.3.20 because of that fact.

Wouldn't it be wiser to leave the final decision to the user and allow sending a transaction without fees after one more "Are you sure ?" dialog option (or "force" rpc/cmdline command) ?
If i want to wait for 10 hours for the 1st confirmation, why not let me ?

Not leaving the choice to the user is so not libertarian.

wumpus
Hero Member
*****
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 798

No Maps for These Territories


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 06:06:01 AM
 #6

Not leaving the choice to the user is so not libertarian.
You can set the fee in the options or is that something else?

Bitcoin Core developer [PGP] Warning: For most, coin loss is a larger risk than coin theft. A disk can die any time. Regularly back up your wallet through FileBackup Wallet to an external storage or the (encrypted!) cloud. Use a separate offline wallet for storing larger amounts.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
expert
Online Online

Activity: 2492


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 06:39:16 AM
 #7

You can set the fee in the options or is that something else?

That can only increase fees from the default, not decrease them.

Once transaction replacement is possible, Bitcoin will hardly even have to worry about this. People will use trial and error to find the correct fees.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
May 29, 2011, 01:13:40 PM
 #8

The fact that the transaction fee is forced annoys me. I am still using 0.3.20 because of that fact.
Hasn't it always been forced? It seems the correct solution is to include a "Optional fee" in the send dialog, and if it's too small, display a confirmation ("... Do you want to send it this way anyway? Yes/No") if it's "too low". But nobody's submitted a patch for that afaik. Wink

If i want to wait for 10 hours for the 1st confirmation, why not let me ?
Don't assume it will necessarily get accepted ever...

bitlotto
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


BitLotto - best odds + best payouts + cheat-proof


View Profile WWW
May 29, 2011, 01:30:55 PM
 #9

BTW, Luke-Jr pool accepts transactions with lower fees...
I can't seem to figure it out though, I added "-addnode=173.242.112.53" when launching Bitcoin but it still forces the 0.01 fee. Must be too late at night for me.... Huh

*Next Draw Feb 1*  BitLotto: monthly raffle (0.25 BTC per ticket) Completely transparent and impossible to manipulate who wins. TOR
TOR2WEB
Donations to: 1JQdiQsjhV2uJ4Y8HFtdqteJsZhv835a8J are appreciated.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
expert
Online Online

Activity: 2492


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 07:55:20 PM
 #10

BTW, Luke-Jr pool accepts transactions with lower fees...
I can't seem to figure it out though, I added "-addnode=173.242.112.53" when launching Bitcoin but it still forces the 0.01 fee. Must be too late at night for me.... Huh

Your client doesn't negotiate fees in any way with your peers, so it doesn't know that Luke-Jr requires lower fees. You have to modify your client (or use an old version) to take advantage of the lower fees.

Luke-Jr also rejects all totally free transactions, I believe.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
ShadowOfHarbringer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 07:58:23 PM
 #11

If i want to wait for 10 hours for the 1st confirmation, why not let me ?
Don't assume it will necessarily get accepted ever...

Still, that is my choice to make.

Raulo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 08:31:18 PM
 #12

The fact that the transaction fee is forced annoys me. I am still using 0.3.20 because of that fact.

You are free to do what you want in your client. The 0.3.21/22 version is much more newbie friendly because the transaction is going to be delayed unless they pay a fee. As an advanced user, you are free to change your client. If you want to revert to 0.3.20 behavior, replace
Code:
return dPriority > COIN * 144 / 250;
by
Code:
return true;
in AllowFree of main.h and recompile.

1HAoJag4C3XtAmQJAhE9FTAAJWFcrvpdLM
Sukrim
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 08:47:33 PM
 #13

If you want to revert to 0.3.20 behavior, replace
Code:
return dPriority > COIN * 144 / 250;
by
Code:
return true;
in AllowFree of main.h and recompile.

Might be useful to offer a compiled version with that "patch" too...

https://bitfinex.com <-- leveraged trading of BTCUSD, LTCUSD and LTCBTC (long and short) - 10% discount on fees for the first 30 days with this refcode: x5K9YtL3Zb
Mail me at Bitmessage: BM-BbiHiVv5qh858ULsyRDtpRrG9WjXN3xf
Maged
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 09:09:49 PM
 #14

I hate to keep mentioning this, but the network is already ready for the new fee. Even when I sent a transaction that wasn't relayed by the old version, it still made it into a block. No tricks used. The only explanation I have for this is that we also changed the channels for IRC bootstrapping at the same time, meaning most RC users have at least one connection to another RC user.
http://blockexplorer.com/address/1ELvLsDRCaN8zSpZ8ZktAeM56tpfZ3E4kG

Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
May 30, 2011, 05:24:58 AM
 #15

BTW, Luke-Jr pool accepts transactions with lower fees...
I can't seem to figure it out though, I added "-addnode=173.242.112.53" when launching Bitcoin but it still forces the 0.01 fee. Must be too late at night for me.... Huh
git fetch git://gitorious.org/~Luke-Jr/bitcoin/luke-jr-bitcoin.git eligius_sendfee && git merge FETCH_HEAD

qurashee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 01:43:07 PM
 #16

Here's a patched binary for Windows http://ifile.it/6izp5uy Please do not abuse, setting a lower transaction fee is better than nothing.

1HhrqQXtViVm9weJ9TQykjciHkzELU6Jvc
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 04:28:06 PM
 #17

BTW, Luke-Jr pool accepts transactions with lower fees...
I can't seem to figure it out though, I added "-addnode=173.242.112.53" when launching Bitcoin but it still forces the 0.01 fee. Must be too late at night for me.... Huh
git fetch git://gitorious.org/~Luke-Jr/bitcoin/luke-jr-bitcoin.git eligius_sendfee && git merge FETCH_HEAD
qurashee also built my branches (use at your own risk!): http://eligius.st/~qurashee/

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!