Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 10:38:07 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 3x5870 into a msi 790fx-gd70? will they fit?  (Read 2154 times)
hipaulshi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 05:07:39 AM
 #1

Did anyone try to install 3x5870 into a msi 790fx-gd70? Will they fit?
the specs says it only has 2x pci-e x16, will the performance decrease on hash rate if i plug the 3rd one?

specs:
http://www.msi.com/product/mb/790FX-GD70.html#?div=Detail
1480718287
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718287

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718287
Reply with quote  #2

1480718287
Report to moderator
1480718287
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718287

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718287
Reply with quote  #2

1480718287
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480718287
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718287

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718287
Reply with quote  #2

1480718287
Report to moderator
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
May 29, 2011, 05:15:02 AM
 #2

Let me think,  Undecided

Is your question : "Does 3 dual slot card fit in a 4 slot motherboard ?" ?
hipaulshi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 05:18:38 AM
 #3

Let me think,  Undecided

Is your question : "Does 3 dual slot card fit in a 4 slot motherboard ?" ?


here's the pic
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
May 29, 2011, 05:21:48 AM
 #4

What part of 3<4 you don't understand ?

/tired/  Huh
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
May 29, 2011, 05:29:22 AM
 #5

They will fit, but will enough air fit between them ?

  That's worth trying.
bcpokey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 05:39:50 AM
 #6

I own 3x 5870s and a 790fx-gd70 (convenient). All theory aside, yes it works. The cards on top and middle hate life, you can try putting a small piece of plastic to wedge them apart a little and put a fan on them, but expect the fans to run fast and loud. You can even put a 4th card in if you have a large enough case/caseless. If you get PCI-extenders you can run 5 cards. Life, she's a funny thing.

Otherwise, enjoy.
um0rion
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68



View Profile
May 29, 2011, 05:52:29 AM
 #7

Ive got an 890FXA-GD70 running 4x 5850s. They run hot... Ive got 2x 120mm fans supplying them air, under an open window. I changed the thermal paste to increase heat dissipation, but even after that they're still running hot. Temperatures are 76 - 83 - 89 - 84. The card with 76C is on the bottom, pulling cold air off the floor. The other cards do alright, but that one card in there pushing 90 worries me.

If you do buy that board, I would think 3x cards would do alright, so long as you leave the case side off and have a couple fans pushing air into it. Oh, and if you decide to use 4 gpus (dont know if that board's pci-e can handle it) make sure you buy a case that has enough slots Smiley I didnt, and had to do a bit of modding.

chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 05:59:01 AM
 #8

ur card will be very hot, and possibly throttle down

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
ataranlen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 843


The One and Only


View Profile WWW
May 29, 2011, 06:07:35 AM
 #9

GPU's can run full speed all the way down to 1x. so having the cards running below 16x will not kill your performance.

MineTexas.com Minecraft Server We accept Bitcoin and Dogecoin.
Deepbit on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Deepbit/151108048294815
lastobelus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 10:55:15 AM
 #10

I'm running 4x6870 on this board, overclocked (3 will run at 990, the other will only run at 940).

Cooling is not a problem, only need to run the fans at about 45%.

I'm using a coolermaster haf x, which has a large side fan -- this makes a massive (as much as 20º) difference. I don't think it would work in open air, or without a side fan.

The house was up to 32 or so today, and still no problems cooling.
hipaulshi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 01:33:28 PM
 #11

I'm running 4x6870 on this board, overclocked (3 will run at 990, the other will only run at 940).

Cooling is not a problem, only need to run the fans at about 45%.

I'm using a coolermaster haf x, which has a large side fan -- this makes a massive (as much as 20º) difference. I don't think it would work in open air, or without a side fan.

The house was up to 32 or so today, and still no problems cooling.

very impressive. what is your power supply?
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
May 29, 2011, 03:25:48 PM
 #12

this guy (OP) obviously doesn't understand the idea of mining. Just get a cheap motherboard, and use pcie x1 extenders. Tongue

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
lastobelus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 09:51:10 PM
 #13


very impressive. what is your power supply?

I am using a corsair 1250 gold. It's total overkill, but I got a very good deal on it and I want to switch it into my main desktop machine later.

With any power supply you will need a cpu-8pin->pcie6+2pin adapter and a 2xmolex->pcie6+2 adapter. Haven't seen any power supplies that come with 8 pcie power ports.

note that even though this machine is using just under 800 watts, you might need a bigger psu than that if the psu is not single rail.
cvicisso
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
June 08, 2011, 05:53:55 PM
 #14

lastobelus - I'm considering building a similar rig (different PSU though).  What kind of hash rate are you getting?
kjakman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 11:03:21 PM
 #15

lastobelus - I'm considering building a similar rig (different PSU though).  What kind of hash rate are you getting?

Me too... would be interested in knowing what case/PSU others went for and hash rate.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!