Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 02:17:59 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 1x6990 and 2x6970 Crossfire  (Read 1491 times)
SNAPCALLHERO
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 05:35:24 AM
 #1

Hey Guys,

Would it be possible to Crossfire 1x6990 and 2x6970 on a Windows7 system?  My friend wants me to handle his 6990 and he has a 890fxa board so i figured i might slap on some 6970s to fill the real estate.  But will crossfire between these guys work?  Just wanted to check in with you guys.

Thanks
SNAP
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481249879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249879
Reply with quote  #2

1481249879
Report to moderator
1481249879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249879
Reply with quote  #2

1481249879
Report to moderator
bcpokey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 05:37:34 AM
 #2

If you are asking with regards to mining, crossfire is irrelevant for mining.

If you are just asking for gaming, then yes it will work, though iirc the 6970s will be downclocked to match the 6990 clock speeds.
SNAPCALLHERO
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 05:39:05 AM
 #3

For mining specifically.  It's on windows 7 OS.
SNAPCALLHERO
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 05:40:00 AM
 #4

if crossfire is irrelevant for mining, howcome i have to crossfire my cards for them to be accessible through guiminer on win7?
bitlackey
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 05:45:20 AM
 #5

if crossfire is irrelevant for mining, howcome i have to crossfire my cards for them to be accessible through guiminer on win7?

without crossfire you need a monitor on each card or dummy plugs, and then extend the display to those monitors to enable the gpus

SNAPCALLHERO
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 05:47:46 AM
 #6

if crossfire is irrelevant for mining, howcome i have to crossfire my cards for them to be accessible through guiminer on win7?

without crossfire you need a monitor on each card or dummy plugs, and then extend the display to those monitors to enable the gpus

oh snap you just blew my mind.  how does one make dummy plugs?
SNAPCALLHERO
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 05:58:46 AM
 #7

http://www.overclock.net/folding-home-guides-tutorials/384733-30-second-dummy-plug.html

this seems to look like its an optimal way to dummy plug.

but if i have enough crossfire cables already, it should work, correct?  his 6990 is reference (XFX) with 1 crossfire plug and the 6970s i'm looking at getting are non-reference (Diamond).
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!