Bitcoin Forum
April 19, 2024, 04:55:39 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: ascii codec cant decode byte 0xca in position 22: ordinal not in range(128)  (Read 1212 times)
bitokman (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 06, 2015, 02:32:47 AM
 #1

Чтo зa бeдa?

Уcтaнoвил 2.1.1. Зaпycтил. Bвeл зepнo, пapoль и пocлe этoгo выcкaкивaeт: ascii codec cant decode byte 0xca in position 22: ordinal not in range(128)

What kind of trouble?

Install 2.1.1. Launched. Introduced seed password, and then pops up: ascii codec cant decode byte 0xca in position 22: ordinal not in range(128)
1713502539
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713502539

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713502539
Reply with quote  #2

1713502539
Report to moderator
"If you don't want people to know you're a scumbag then don't be a scumbag." -- margaritahuyan
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1713502539
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713502539

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713502539
Reply with quote  #2

1713502539
Report to moderator
1713502539
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713502539

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713502539
Reply with quote  #2

1713502539
Report to moderator
btchris
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 504

a.k.a. gurnec on GitHub


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2015, 02:14:34 PM
 #2

What kind of trouble?

Install 2.1.1. Launched. Introduced seed password, and then pops up: ascii codec cant decode byte 0xca in position 22: ordinal not in range(128)

It has something to do with using a non-English letter somewhere, maybe a non-English letter in your username? I'm not sure yet.

What is your operating system?
btchris
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 504

a.k.a. gurnec on GitHub


View Profile WWW
May 07, 2015, 01:35:36 PM
 #3

in the 22th position of your password

Electrum handles passwords with non-ASCII fairly well. (It never crashes, but it (as well as most wallets, even Bitcoin Core) has a problem in that it doesn't normalize them.)

It also seems to handle non-ASCII wallet file names OK too.

It doesn't handle non-ASCII usernames, but when I tested it, it just crashed on startup, so it didn't behave the way bitokman described.

I couldn't figure out exactly what was wrong. If bitokman responds with their operating system, I'll try to describe how to run Electrum from a terminal in order to get a more specific error message.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!