Bitcoin Forum
January 21, 2020, 02:42:46 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 [93] 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 ... 488 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Sia - Decentralized Storage  (Read 1350363 times)
Taek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 543
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 07, 2015, 04:17:08 PM
 #1841

Hmm maybe I missed that, but I didn't seen any password that wallet should gave me, there was just some disclaimer about passwords.
And now, I deleted json wallet, killed siad process manually and this is all what wallet is saying, no password at all.
http://imgur.com/khyyH7m

Oh.   Sad

What is your screen resolution? We forgot to add a scrollbar, so you can't see the password on small screens  Undecided

We'll  try to have a fix out in the next few days. Sorry for the inconvenience.
1579617766
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579617766

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579617766
Reply with quote  #2

1579617766
Report to moderator
1579617766
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579617766

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579617766
Reply with quote  #2

1579617766
Report to moderator
1579617766
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579617766

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579617766
Reply with quote  #2

1579617766
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
chrysophylax
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1076


--- ChainWorks Industries ---


View Profile WWW
September 07, 2015, 04:41:29 PM
 #1842

Hmm maybe I missed that, but I didn't seen any password that wallet should gave me, there was just some disclaimer about passwords.
And now, I deleted json wallet, killed siad process manually and this is all what wallet is saying, no password at all.
http://imgur.com/khyyH7m

Oh.   Sad

What is your screen resolution? We forgot to add a scrollbar, so you can't see the password on small screens  Undecided

We'll  try to have a fix out in the next few days. Sorry for the inconvenience.

taek ...

mine did exactly the same thing ... no password and even when the wallet.json file was deleted and the wallet reopened - no password shown ...

im hd - so screen res is not the issue ...

#crysx

Exchange - https://www.zapple.com/exchange/ . CWI-Thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1563601 . EMail - crysx@gnxs.com . CWI-WebSite - https://chainworksindustries.com/ . CWI-Mine - http://chrysolite.chainworksindustries.com/ . CWI-Pyroxene (theMine) - http://pyroxene.chainworksindustries.com/ . GRN - Gfz2cXMkhMZYWSFvLEMnM8bXk7X5Mtq2J2
MinermanNC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 07, 2015, 04:56:57 PM
 #1843

Just launched my Sia-Ui for the first time, opened right up and updating blocks sitting at 1662... But along the way I have not see a wallet password of any sort. yet,,,, no scroll bar needed either. W7 64

*BTC: 1DiR25SPo84sThzTATr27EZEQZLt6hv6tG
MinermanNC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 07, 2015, 05:14:13 PM
 #1844

Kicking myself in the butt for not buying more SIAcoin while at 10-11  Cry  I knew it would come back lol

*BTC: 1DiR25SPo84sThzTATr27EZEQZLt6hv6tG
WilderX
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 569
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 07, 2015, 05:22:43 PM
 #1845


OK, it's not a big issue, but I didn't set any password to my wallet, now it's locked, and I have no idea which password to enter.

The first time you opened the wallet it gave you a password and told you to write it down. If you didn't grab it then, the only way to get it back is to stop siad, delete the wallet.json file, then start again.

You're not the only person who didn't get the password on the first try, we'll have to change it so that you can keep asking for the password until the first time you unlock the wallet (which requires the password). That at least guarantees that users realized there was a password before closing the window.

y0 T-man exciting stuffs, but it did not give me any password either (not even after when I deleted wallet) and guess what... The mining is still broken for v4 as I reported earlier on slack

But hey progress is progress !!! Take it easy don't burn out  Wink You have done wonders here

Taek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 543
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 07, 2015, 05:31:26 PM
 #1846


taek ...

mine did exactly the same thing ... no password and even when the wallet.json file was deleted and the wallet reopened - no password shown ...

im hd - so screen res is not the issue ...

#crysx

Ok. Can you provide screenshots of the process? It will help us fix it.

Just launched my Sia-Ui for the first time, opened right up and updating blocks sitting at 1662... But along the way I have not see a wallet password of any sort. yet,,,, no scroll bar needed either. W7 64

Ok. Seems like a lot of people are having this problem. We'll fix it asap.


y0 T-man exciting stuffs, but it did not give me any password either (not even after when I deleted wallet) and guess what... The mining is still broken for v4 as I reported earlier on slack

But hey progress is progress !!! Take it easy don't burn out  Wink You have done wonders here

More info about the mining? Mining is working fine for me  Tongue

You have to download the entire blockchain before you can unlock the wallet, and you have to unlock the wallet before you can mine.

If you've done all that, I would like to know which miner you are using, what OS, how many instances of 'siad' you are running on your network, how many gpus you have, and what errors you are getting. Basically as much information as seems relevant.
MinermanNC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 07, 2015, 06:53:31 PM
 #1847

After letting wallet fully update, I went to wallet says encrypted, clicked on that and the password info box opened with explanation of writing down pass etc. and it also presented a group of words (15) In the lower half of that box, which I assume would have been my password. So I copied and pasted it. Then took that same password and tried to entering to the NEW login password box, and get the message "wrong password"

So I am assuming as Taek explained it should have been given at the start or launch of the wallet on first boot. Ok, just putting this out there.

Will delete SIA-UI program folder and wait, and reinstall later with fix.

Note: Even after closing out the SIA wallet, SIAD was still running in the background... killed it from task manager. Otherwise it prevented me from opening 0.3.3.3 as normal.  Wink

EDIT: About the 15 word password, do we maintain the spaces between the words (when/if typing words into the password box) when used?

*BTC: 1DiR25SPo84sThzTATr27EZEQZLt6hv6tG
Taek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 543
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 07, 2015, 07:09:08 PM
 #1848

EDIT: About the 15 word password, do we maintain the spaces between the words (when/if typing words into the password box) when used?

yes, you need to put in the phrase exactly as it was given to you.
watoseemoto
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 07, 2015, 07:42:40 PM
 #1849

new noob need help on sia is there a step by step tutorials so that i can try in windows 8.1 64bit? bought sia few days ago at polo.
i download the GUI and Client but no luck i don't know the command.
any help appreciated. thank you.
Tobo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 763
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 07, 2015, 11:26:20 PM
 #1850

new noob need help on sia is there a step by step tutorials so that i can try in windows 8.1 64bit? bought sia few days ago at polo.
i download the GUI and Client but no luck i don't know the command.
any help appreciated. thank you.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1060294.msg12351420#msg12351420
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1060294.msg12353468#msg12353468

Basically if you use the GUI v0.4.1, you just need to double click the Sia.exe and wait for the downloading of the full blockchain before you open or create your wallet. The downloading may take several hours. Check the explorer for the current block height - https://explore.siacoin.com.
Tobo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 763
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 07, 2015, 11:38:00 PM
Last edit: September 08, 2015, 12:19:26 AM by Tobo
 #1851

Yeah we forgot to bump the version numbers. We'll fix it tomorrow (we're taking it easy today - long week).

I wonder if it could be a good idea to show a meter on the landing page of the gui client to show the progress of the downloading.
OBAViJEST
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
September 07, 2015, 11:39:22 PM
 #1852

Any predictions with the price of sia in the near future? Bought in way too high @22 ;_;
bitwarrior
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
September 07, 2015, 11:50:45 PM
 #1853

Any predictions with the price of sia in the near future? Bought in way too high @22 ;_;

I think we might see some 30+ satoshi range for the next couple of weeks or more. Just try to hold on Smiley

jwinterm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1049



View Profile
September 08, 2015, 12:29:19 AM
 #1854

No way to change data directory for UI wallet?
MinermanNC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 08, 2015, 01:21:16 AM
 #1855

Any predictions with the price of sia in the near future? Bought in way too high @22 ;_;

I think we might see some 30+ satoshi range for the next couple of weeks or more. Just try to hold on Smiley
I'm sure he will at least see his investment at 22 come back  Grin

*BTC: 1DiR25SPo84sThzTATr27EZEQZLt6hv6tG
bitwarrior
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
September 08, 2015, 01:27:15 AM
 #1856

Any predictions with the price of sia in the near future? Bought in way too high @22 ;_;

I think we might see some 30+ satoshi range for the next couple of weeks or more. Just try to hold on Smiley
I'm sure he will at least see his investment at 22 come back  Grin

Right now 27 sat has already been reached at Polo and the volume is increasing too, so reaching 30 sat will be in a few days or hours away! Smiley

MinermanNC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 08, 2015, 02:00:27 AM
 #1857

Any predictions with the price of sia in the near future? Bought in way too high @22 ;_;

I think we might see some 30+ satoshi range for the next couple of weeks or more. Just try to hold on Smiley
I'm sure he will at least see his investment at 22 come back  Grin

Right now 27 sat has already been reached at Polo and the volume is increasing too, so reaching 30 sat will be in a few days or hours away! Smiley
Wow nice, I looked earlier today and it was somewhere around 17. So I didn't want to be overly optimistic yet lol... I think in a month or 2 it will show to be a sound investment for many. Lets get SIA 0.4.1 rolling, definitely help stabilize price.

*BTC: 1DiR25SPo84sThzTATr27EZEQZLt6hv6tG
robinson5
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 08, 2015, 03:10:25 AM
 #1858

Hi I'm very excited about the new release! I downloaded it and when I first tried to open it I got the message:

siad errored: Error: spawn ./siad ENOENT

Does anyone have any suggestions? I didn't get a passphrase and am using a mac.  I'm worried about losing coins so I don't want to mess around with it myself.  All my coins are still in the 0.3.3 wallet.  Thanks!
chrysophylax
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1076


--- ChainWorks Industries ---


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2015, 03:44:05 AM
 #1859


taek ...

mine did exactly the same thing ... no password and even when the wallet.json file was deleted and the wallet reopened - no password shown ...

im hd - so screen res is not the issue ...

#crysx

Ok. Can you provide screenshots of the process? It will help us fix it.

Just launched my Sia-Ui for the first time, opened right up and updating blocks sitting at 1662... But along the way I have not see a wallet password of any sort. yet,,,, no scroll bar needed either. W7 64

Ok. Seems like a lot of people are having this problem. We'll fix it asap.


y0 T-man exciting stuffs, but it did not give me any password either (not even after when I deleted wallet) and guess what... The mining is still broken for v4 as I reported earlier on slack

But hey progress is progress !!! Take it easy don't burn out  Wink You have done wonders here

More info about the mining? Mining is working fine for me  Tongue

You have to download the entire blockchain before you can unlock the wallet, and you have to unlock the wallet before you can mine.

If you've done all that, I would like to know which miner you are using, what OS, how many instances of 'siad' you are running on your network, how many gpus you have, and what errors you are getting. Basically as much information as seems relevant.

taek ...

a screen shot of an open wallet? ..

there is nothing more - it looks like a normal open wallet ...

completely updated and synced ...

i can access all the features of the wallet - but NO password was given - NO access to the 'new' passwords were given after siad was stopeed and the wallet.json file deleted ...

i can see a great deal of work has been put in to the wallet also - fantastic ... but im having a few issues i dont know how toresolve ...

is sia still 'portable' - ie everything contained in the same folder? ...

#crysx

Exchange - https://www.zapple.com/exchange/ . CWI-Thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1563601 . EMail - crysx@gnxs.com . CWI-WebSite - https://chainworksindustries.com/ . CWI-Mine - http://chrysolite.chainworksindustries.com/ . CWI-Pyroxene (theMine) - http://pyroxene.chainworksindustries.com/ . GRN - Gfz2cXMkhMZYWSFvLEMnM8bXk7X5Mtq2J2
Zer0Sum
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1588
Merit: 1000


View Profile
September 08, 2015, 03:45:03 AM
 #1860


Even though I've used about a dozen command line wallets like the cryptonotes, etc...
I've been completely unable to get a wallet working with 4.0 or 4.1 or the GUI on Win7.

- siac "encrypts" your file with a 29 word phrase, then won't accept anything in "Wallet password:"
- so it's basically impossible to unlock your wallet
- the GUI "encrypts" your wallet with a 15 word phrase, but there is no way to unlock it
- there are no wallet.dat files anywhere, just a wallet dir with 3 files

Dude, we are not storing nuclear launch codes here... it's a freaking alpha wallet with maybe $10 in it...
If I want my wallet open and unencrypted how is that your business.

So you are going to compete with FREE CLOUD STORAGE when people CANNOT TRUST THEIR WALLETS  Huh

Pages: « 1 ... 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 [93] 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 ... 488 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!