Bitcoin Forum
May 06, 2024, 05:25:27 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to run a partial node connected to full node?  (Read 1892 times)
d4n13 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 101


“Create Your Decentralized Life”


View Profile
June 19, 2015, 05:10:56 AM
 #1

I have a full node running on my LAN, and would like to utilize it's work on other clients.

How to I get bitcoin core to run a partial node trusting my dedicated full node for blockchain queries (or has that not been invented yet)?

Thx

1714973127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714973127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714973127
Reply with quote  #2

1714973127
Report to moderator
1714973127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714973127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714973127
Reply with quote  #2

1714973127
Report to moderator
1714973127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714973127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714973127
Reply with quote  #2

1714973127
Report to moderator
The forum was founded in 2009 by Satoshi and Sirius. It replaced a SourceForge forum.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
d4n13 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 101


“Create Your Decentralized Life”


View Profile
June 19, 2015, 06:53:01 AM
 #2

OK... looks like bitcoinj may be what I'm after.  The WalletTemplate class looks perfectly sufficient.

There is some APIs that control the peer list, and looks to be a sample of building this list manually, which is what I'm after.

I'll keep digging, but this is pretty "close-enough" for my windows and linux machines.

Anyone else have a simpler answer, aka "bitcoin-qt.exe -partial -connect=10.10.10.50"?

Thx

achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 3388
Merit: 6581


Just writing some code


View Profile WWW
June 19, 2015, 03:20:19 PM
 #3

Bitcoin Core be default is a full node. You cannot change it to be a partial node without changing the code. In order to have a partial node, you need other software, such as something built on BitcoinJ (e.g. MultiBit) and you can specifically have it only connect to your Bitcoin Core full node.

d4n13 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 101


“Create Your Decentralized Life”


View Profile
June 19, 2015, 04:00:41 PM
 #4

Any suggestions on how to make a bitcoinJ client (aka MultiBit) be specific on its node selection?

Multibit.exe -connect=10.10.10.5 ?

achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 3388
Merit: 6581


Just writing some code


View Profile WWW
June 19, 2015, 04:14:58 PM
 #5

open the file multibit.properties in %appdata%/Multibit
Add the line
Code:
peers=<peers to connect to>
where <peers to connect to> is a comma separated list of ip addresses of the nodes you want it to connect to.

d4n13 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 101


“Create Your Decentralized Life”


View Profile
June 19, 2015, 04:25:05 PM
 #6

Shazam!!!

many many thanks.

Didn't see the specification to the properties file, but I only just found the multibit github repo.

You have a link to the full property specification?

achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 3388
Merit: 6581


Just writing some code


View Profile WWW
June 19, 2015, 04:53:01 PM
 #7

here is what I found for the properties file: https://github.com/jim618/multibit/blob/master/configuration.md
It doesn't have everything about the properties file, but it does have the thing about peers.

d4n13 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 101


“Create Your Decentralized Life”


View Profile
June 19, 2015, 06:50:20 PM
 #8

Thanks... to add to your research, that was for an older version of MultiBit.

New MultiBitHD uses "mbhd.yaml", but I think the process is similar.  Still trying to document mbhd.yaml

tl121
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 278
Merit: 251


View Profile
June 20, 2015, 06:49:26 PM
 #9

I have run bitcoin core on a number of computers on my LAN that are configured (via the config file) to only talk to one front-facing bitcoind on a dedicated computer.   I mostly did this for test purposes.  The problem is that every time you turn on a a bitcoin node it has to catch up its copy of the block chain.  This takes a while even going directly over a gigabit/second LAN connection.  About the only benefit of running this way is that it eliminates extra traffic on my (slow) Internet connection.

Presently, I run an Electrum server on my dedicated bitcoin node.  I run Electrum clients on several of my other computers and these access the dedicated node on demand.  Electrum clients support Trezor, making providing convenient access to bitcoins secured by a hardware wallet.

coinpr0n
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 21, 2015, 02:07:16 PM
 #10

Full node bitcoin.conf example:
Code:
...
rpcuser=Ulysseys
rpcpassword=random_authvalue_DO_NOT_USE_THIS_STRING_OR_YOU_WILL_GET_ROBBED
rpcallowip=192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0
...

Partial node bitcoin.conf example:
Code:
...
rpcuser=Ulysseys
rpcpassword=random_authvalue_DO_NOT_USE_THIS_STRING_OR_YOU_WILL_GET_ROBBED
rpcconnect=192.168.1.42
...

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!