Bitcoin Forum
October 15, 2018, 08:48:05 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: My PSU only has 6 PCIe slots! Solution?  (Read 1577 times)
praxe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 16, 2012, 02:02:31 AM
 #1

I'm trying to run quad 5970 xfire on MSI 890FXA-GD70 but unfortunately bought an ocz 1250watt psu that is 2 ports short. Am I doomed to have only triple xfire? Where can I get a psu that has 4x pcie slots?

PECULIUM First Saving System in CryptoCurrency Driven by Artificial Intelligence
❱❱ PRIVATE SALE ~$2M PLEDGED ❰❰
 / WHITEPAPER / ANN / BOUNTY / TELEGRAM /
1539636485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539636485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539636485
Reply with quote  #2

1539636485
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539636485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539636485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539636485
Reply with quote  #2

1539636485
Report to moderator
1539636485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539636485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539636485
Reply with quote  #2

1539636485
Report to moderator
1539636485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539636485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539636485
Reply with quote  #2

1539636485
Report to moderator
live627
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 16, 2012, 02:10:00 AM
 #2

Buy Molex converters. MUCH cheaper than a whole new PSU.
praxe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 16, 2012, 02:16:34 AM
 #3

Great idea, I don't know why I forgot about those!

PECULIUM First Saving System in CryptoCurrency Driven by Artificial Intelligence
❱❱ PRIVATE SALE ~$2M PLEDGED ❰❰
 / WHITEPAPER / ANN / BOUNTY / TELEGRAM /
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
September 16, 2012, 02:31:06 AM
 #4

I use lots of those depending on the psu..

I even modify them so they only require 1 molex plug instead of two....


Brand new 7900 series AMD cards came with single plug 6pin PCI-E adapters so I figured I could mod all my dual plug ones Smiley

praxe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 16, 2012, 02:43:51 AM
 #5

Modify them how for example?

PECULIUM First Saving System in CryptoCurrency Driven by Artificial Intelligence
❱❱ PRIVATE SALE ~$2M PLEDGED ❰❰
 / WHITEPAPER / ANN / BOUNTY / TELEGRAM /
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
September 16, 2012, 02:46:46 AM
 #6

if you look at the wires there are 2 sets that are identical yellow and black the brown wire is already going to the same spot in the 6pin connector..


I remove one molex plug and double up the yellow and black wires on the existing molex connector.... I can show you some pictures tomorrow if you would like.. I am just putting on a movie for the wife and I to watch.


Good night Smiley



praxe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 16, 2012, 05:02:19 AM
 #7

I can't find a molex connector that fits this specific psu, because there are no molex ports. Do you have a recommendation?

PECULIUM First Saving System in CryptoCurrency Driven by Artificial Intelligence
❱❱ PRIVATE SALE ~$2M PLEDGED ❰❰
 / WHITEPAPER / ANN / BOUNTY / TELEGRAM /
live627
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 16, 2012, 05:08:43 AM
 #8

Use SATA converters? What is the model number of the PSU?
Luno
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 16, 2012, 05:17:04 AM
 #9

Hack up the ATX motherboard connector from a dead PSU to make six pin connectors. Solder wires to existing supply. Do the math to not overload the rails.

Cost = 0BTC

                                                                               
                
                                                       ╓▄▌██P                  
                                                 ╔▄▌███▀███▌                   
                                           ▄▄▌██▀▀╚  ╓██╩██                    
                                     ▄▄███▀▀╙      ▄██  ▓█                     
                               ▄▌███▀▀+          ▄█▀   ▐█                      
                        ,▄▌███▀▀¬              ▓█▀     █▄                      
                  ,▄▌███▀▀                  ,██▀      █▌                       
               '█████▌▄▄,                 ╓██╩       ██                        
                  ▀██▌▐▀▀▀█████▌▌▄▄╓    ▄██¬        ▄█                         
                     ▀██▄        ╚▀▀▀████          ▐█═                         
                        ▀██▄        ▓█▀██          █▀                          
                           ▀██▄  ,██▀   █µ        ██                           
                              ▀███Z     ██       ██                            
                                ▐██     ▐█      ▄█                             
                              ,,╓╓█▓▄▌   █▌    ▐█U                             
                        º▄▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓███   ▀█    █▌                              
                          ▀█▓▓▓▓▓████▀█▌  █▌  ██                               
                            ▀███████▌  ▀█µ▀█ ██                                
                              ▀█████     ███▓█                                 
                                ▐███      ▀██Ñ                                 
                                            ▀                             

praxe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 09:57:44 AM
 #10

I am not experienced with soldering and that sounds like a lot of work. I didn't put the model # because this is the ONLY PSU that OCZ makes that is 1250watt, but this it http://www.ocztechnology.com/ocz-zx-series-1250w-power-supply.html

I'm going to try this I think? http://images2.monoprice.com/productmediumimages/84941.jpg

PECULIUM First Saving System in CryptoCurrency Driven by Artificial Intelligence
❱❱ PRIVATE SALE ~$2M PLEDGED ❰❰
 / WHITEPAPER / ANN / BOUNTY / TELEGRAM /
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
September 17, 2012, 10:42:03 PM
 #11

Don't use Sata it runs off 3.3v I believe.

You should have molex connectors, any PSU comes with molex nowadays

praxe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 19, 2012, 07:13:47 AM
 #12

The one I linked does not. If so please point me in the right direction.

PECULIUM First Saving System in CryptoCurrency Driven by Artificial Intelligence
❱❱ PRIVATE SALE ~$2M PLEDGED ❰❰
 / WHITEPAPER / ANN / BOUNTY / TELEGRAM /
Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1000


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
September 20, 2012, 04:26:36 PM
 #13

You can add alternate power. There are supplementary PSUs for such things (without the mainboard connector) or you could just use another PSU (I have done that before when adding hard-drives caused my main PSU to shut down due to drawing too much power to tide me over until I got a more capable main PSU). I have also used a 12V supply for a IDE/SATA to USB adapter to power an internal hard-drive in a pinch.

This is slightly risky in that if your voltages are slightly off, you could theoretically end up having too much current flow where it should not but that has never been an issue for me.

Here is one pulled at random from google. Not recommending, no association, etc.

http://www.cputopia.com/fsp-group-booster-x5.html?utm_source=googlepepla&utm_medium=adwords&id=20206522684&utm_content=pla&gclid=CKuR--TJxLICFQQ4nAodgkIA_w

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
praxe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 21, 2012, 04:48:16 AM
 #14

Why don't molex connectors work for this PSU? Still have a card here sitting on my table waiting for a workable response. I'm not paying 89 bucks for a "supplemental psu."

PECULIUM First Saving System in CryptoCurrency Driven by Artificial Intelligence
❱❱ PRIVATE SALE ~$2M PLEDGED ❰❰
 / WHITEPAPER / ANN / BOUNTY / TELEGRAM /
ForumAcc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 21, 2012, 07:44:36 PM
 #15

Just get the worst PSU u can find, it should have the watt/amp output to power two of the cards then u can leave the others on the main card.
praxe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 22, 2012, 09:46:24 PM
 #16

Do you have an example of this at work? I don't feel good about using 2 different PSUs at the same time.

PECULIUM First Saving System in CryptoCurrency Driven by Artificial Intelligence
❱❱ PRIVATE SALE ~$2M PLEDGED ❰❰
 / WHITEPAPER / ANN / BOUNTY / TELEGRAM /
Shadow383
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 22, 2012, 09:49:54 PM
 #17

Why don't molex connectors work for this PSU? Still have a card here sitting on my table waiting for a workable response. I'm not paying 89 bucks for a "supplemental psu."
Molex connectors will work fine.
Alternatively, buy some pci-e power splitters.
praxe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 22, 2012, 11:01:14 PM
 #18

NO THEY WONT. Is no one looking at the connections on this PSU? I HAVE MOLEX CONNECTORS and they don't fit!

PECULIUM First Saving System in CryptoCurrency Driven by Artificial Intelligence
❱❱ PRIVATE SALE ~$2M PLEDGED ❰❰
 / WHITEPAPER / ANN / BOUNTY / TELEGRAM /
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
September 23, 2012, 12:06:48 AM
 #19

Flip them over.

Tweaked
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0



View Profile
September 23, 2012, 02:13:53 AM
 #20

Is this the supply your using
http://www.ocztechnology.com/ocz-zx-series-1250w-power-supply.html
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!