Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 09:46:47 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5870s running on Phoenix 1.7.5  (Read 2325 times)
keystroke
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 842


advocate of a cryptographic attack on the globe


View Profile
September 16, 2012, 07:01:17 AM
 #1

Hey everyone,

I have a few 5870s running Phoenix 1.7.5 and they each get about 400Mhash/s. I use the phatk kernel. I haven't investigated switching things in awhile, and maybe it is late in the game now that the ASIC revolution is around the corner. But is this an acceptable hashrate? I saw some posts where people were getting 420+Mhash/s. I'm just wondering it its even worth my time at the moment to upgrade & test newer miners & kernels. Besides temperature issues this system has been stable since last spring so I haven't tinkered with it.

They are on Slush's pool using his new Stratum mining protocol and rejects have dropped from .84% to .07% under Stratum.

Thanks!

"The difference between a castle and a prison is only a question of who holds the keys."
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 02:22:07 AM
 #2

Hey everyone,

I have a few 5870s running Phoenix 1.7.5 and they each get about 400Mhash/s. I use the phatk kernel. I haven't investigated switching things in awhile, and maybe it is late in the game now that the ASIC revolution is around the corner. But is this an acceptable hashrate? I saw some posts where people were getting 420+Mhash/s. I'm just wondering it its even worth my time at the moment to upgrade & test newer miners & kernels. Besides temperature issues this system has been stable since last spring so I haven't tinkered with it.

They are on Slush's pool using his new Stratum mining protocol and rejects have dropped from .84% to .07% under Stratum.

Thanks!

Have you checked the Mining Hardware comparison chart?

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
keystroke
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 842


advocate of a cryptographic attack on the globe


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 03:13:02 AM
 #3

Many times but never close enough for the finer points Smiley Thanks! I just got 10Mhash more per card by adding WORKSIZE=128.

"The difference between a castle and a prison is only a question of who holds the keys."
ditchmagnet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 04:18:01 AM
 #4

I get my best phoenix results using:

-k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS2 BFI_INT AGGRESSION=12 WORKSIZE=128

and this modified phatk kernel:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=25135.0

I think I personally was getting better results with the 2011-12-21 version.

keystroke
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 842


advocate of a cryptographic attack on the globe


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 04:22:50 AM
 #5

Thanks! How fast?

"The difference between a castle and a prison is only a question of who holds the keys."
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
September 17, 2012, 04:36:11 AM
 #6

Depends on what SDK you're using. Do you have 2.1? 2.5? or something newer like 2.6?

2.1 does best with worksize of 128 and a lower memory, like 170. 2.5 does better with worksize of 256, but a memory of 300. 2.6 or newer should not be used on a 5xxx card.

Now I was using CGMiner, but I ran my 5870 with SDK 2.5 at core:980 mem:300 kernel:phatk worksize:256 vectors:2 for ~460MH/s.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
keystroke
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 842


advocate of a cryptographic attack on the globe


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 05:06:36 AM
 #7

Wow, nice speed! It's been awhile but I think 2.1. How can I tell? Thanks!

"The difference between a castle and a prison is only a question of who holds the keys."
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 09:55:38 AM
 #8

Wow, nice speed! It's been awhile but I think 2.1. How can I tell? Thanks!

Uh, it's been a long time since I looked.  I use GPU Shark and look in the tools menu.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
keystroke
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 842


advocate of a cryptographic attack on the globe


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 10:35:27 PM
 #9

Thanks Smiley Got some increased hashes so I appreciate the help!

"The difference between a castle and a prison is only a question of who holds the keys."
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 656


View Profile
September 18, 2012, 05:41:03 AM
 #10

Depends on what SDK you're using. Do you have 2.1? 2.5? or something newer like 2.6?

2.1 does best with worksize of 128 and a lower memory, like 170. 2.5 does better with worksize of 256, but a memory of 300. 2.6 or newer should not be used on a 5xxx card.

Now I was using CGMiner, but I ran my 5870 with SDK 2.5 at core:980 mem:300 kernel:phatk worksize:256 vectors:2 for ~460MH/s.
not true, 256 + underclocking gives better hashrates even on 2.1 which I am running right now
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!