Bitcoin Forum
August 17, 2018, 02:28:27 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5870s running on Phoenix 1.7.5  (Read 2343 times)
keystroke
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1005


advocate of a cryptographic attack on the globe


View Profile
September 16, 2012, 07:01:17 AM
 #1

Hey everyone,

I have a few 5870s running Phoenix 1.7.5 and they each get about 400Mhash/s. I use the phatk kernel. I haven't investigated switching things in awhile, and maybe it is late in the game now that the ASIC revolution is around the corner. But is this an acceptable hashrate? I saw some posts where people were getting 420+Mhash/s. I'm just wondering it its even worth my time at the moment to upgrade & test newer miners & kernels. Besides temperature issues this system has been stable since last spring so I haven't tinkered with it.

They are on Slush's pool using his new Stratum mining protocol and rejects have dropped from .84% to .07% under Stratum.

Thanks!

"The difference between a castle and a prison is only a question of who holds the keys."
1534472907
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534472907

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534472907
Reply with quote  #2

1534472907
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534472907
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534472907

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534472907
Reply with quote  #2

1534472907
Report to moderator
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 02:22:07 AM
 #2

Hey everyone,

I have a few 5870s running Phoenix 1.7.5 and they each get about 400Mhash/s. I use the phatk kernel. I haven't investigated switching things in awhile, and maybe it is late in the game now that the ASIC revolution is around the corner. But is this an acceptable hashrate? I saw some posts where people were getting 420+Mhash/s. I'm just wondering it its even worth my time at the moment to upgrade & test newer miners & kernels. Besides temperature issues this system has been stable since last spring so I haven't tinkered with it.

They are on Slush's pool using his new Stratum mining protocol and rejects have dropped from .84% to .07% under Stratum.

Thanks!

Have you checked the Mining Hardware comparison chart?

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
keystroke
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1005


advocate of a cryptographic attack on the globe


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 03:13:02 AM
 #3

Many times but never close enough for the finer points Smiley Thanks! I just got 10Mhash more per card by adding WORKSIZE=128.

"The difference between a castle and a prison is only a question of who holds the keys."
ditchmagnet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 04:18:01 AM
 #4

I get my best phoenix results using:

-k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS2 BFI_INT AGGRESSION=12 WORKSIZE=128

and this modified phatk kernel:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=25135.0

I think I personally was getting better results with the 2011-12-21 version.

GRAVIO | Everything is connected (http://gravio.net)
keystroke
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1005


advocate of a cryptographic attack on the globe


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 04:22:50 AM
 #5

Thanks! How fast?

"The difference between a castle and a prison is only a question of who holds the keys."
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 17, 2012, 04:36:11 AM
 #6

Depends on what SDK you're using. Do you have 2.1? 2.5? or something newer like 2.6?

2.1 does best with worksize of 128 and a lower memory, like 170. 2.5 does better with worksize of 256, but a memory of 300. 2.6 or newer should not be used on a 5xxx card.

Now I was using CGMiner, but I ran my 5870 with SDK 2.5 at core:980 mem:300 kernel:phatk worksize:256 vectors:2 for ~460MH/s.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
keystroke
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1005


advocate of a cryptographic attack on the globe


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 05:06:36 AM
 #7

Wow, nice speed! It's been awhile but I think 2.1. How can I tell? Thanks!

"The difference between a castle and a prison is only a question of who holds the keys."
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 09:55:38 AM
 #8

Wow, nice speed! It's been awhile but I think 2.1. How can I tell? Thanks!

Uh, it's been a long time since I looked.  I use GPU Shark and look in the tools menu.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
keystroke
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1005


advocate of a cryptographic attack on the globe


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 10:35:27 PM
 #9

Thanks Smiley Got some increased hashes so I appreciate the help!

"The difference between a castle and a prison is only a question of who holds the keys."
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 18, 2012, 05:41:03 AM
 #10

Depends on what SDK you're using. Do you have 2.1? 2.5? or something newer like 2.6?

2.1 does best with worksize of 128 and a lower memory, like 170. 2.5 does better with worksize of 256, but a memory of 300. 2.6 or newer should not be used on a 5xxx card.

Now I was using CGMiner, but I ran my 5870 with SDK 2.5 at core:980 mem:300 kernel:phatk worksize:256 vectors:2 for ~460MH/s.
not true, 256 + underclocking gives better hashrates even on 2.1 which I am running right now
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!