Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 06:28:49 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: BTCguild - why am i getting loads of work queue empty errors  (Read 2767 times)
The Koolio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Minds are like parachutes they work best when open


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2011, 04:41:42 PM
 #1

running on phoenix with phatek flag, agg=13, w=128

I was getting say 1 in every 20 lines being a work queue empty error, miner idle. Now im getting 1 for every 5 lines, even more, whats creating this?

1. Litecoin 2. Bitcoin 3. Any of the Anon coins
1481135329
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135329

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135329
Reply with quote  #2

1481135329
Report to moderator
1481135329
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135329

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135329
Reply with quote  #2

1481135329
Report to moderator
1481135329
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135329

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135329
Reply with quote  #2

1481135329
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481135329
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135329

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135329
Reply with quote  #2

1481135329
Report to moderator
1481135329
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135329

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135329
Reply with quote  #2

1481135329
Report to moderator
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2011, 04:57:45 PM
 #2

This is normally an error from people who are mining from countries with poor connections to a US based server.  The lag between you and the server means sometimes if you finish two work units in quick succession, you have not yet received new work from the server (miners keep 1 unit in queue behind the one they're currently working on).

Try running phoenix with -q 3 or -q 4, which will increase the amount of work the client tries to keep stored locally.  This has solved the issue for some of the people connecting from countries in Africa, or from China, or people that connect by wifi, 3g/4g, or satellite internet.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
fpgaminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile WWW
June 01, 2011, 05:06:07 PM
 #3

I had the same problem with BTCGuild, even though I live in California (where their servers are). Very odd. I haven't had any problems with Deepbit or BTC mine.

The Koolio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Minds are like parachutes they work best when open


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2011, 05:15:38 PM
 #4

This is normally an error from people who are mining from countries with poor connections to a US based server.  The lag between you and the server means sometimes if you finish two work units in quick succession, you have not yet received new work from the server (miners keep 1 unit in queue behind the one they're currently working on).

Try running phoenix with -q 3 or -q 4, which will increase the amount of work the client tries to keep stored locally.  This has solved the issue for some of the people connecting from countries in Africa, or from China, or people that connect by wifi, 3g/4g, or satellite internet.

Many thanks eleuthria, again you've provided a brilliant answer, that trick worked a treat. Am I right in thinking the BTCguild is yours? If so congratulations on a  very impressive pool! Was wondering if you could put up a small one box calculator so we can work out the 24hr payout at certain average speeds, like deepbits pages have. For instance, i input 400 Mhash and get a figure of 1.1 BTC per 24 hours.

1. Litecoin 2. Bitcoin 3. Any of the Anon coins
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2011, 05:18:04 PM
 #5

I had the same problem with BTCGuild, even though I live in California (where their servers are). Very odd. I haven't had any problems with Deepbit or BTC mine.

When were you having the problem?  The server moved to a dedicated server 4 days ago, which has virtually eliminated the issues the old box was having.

This is normally an error from people who are mining from countries with poor connections to a US based server.  The lag between you and the server means sometimes if you finish two work units in quick succession, you have not yet received new work from the server (miners keep 1 unit in queue behind the one they're currently working on).

Try running phoenix with -q 3 or -q 4, which will increase the amount of work the client tries to keep stored locally.  This has solved the issue for some of the people connecting from countries in Africa, or from China, or people that connect by wifi, 3g/4g, or satellite internet.

Many thanks eleuthria, again you've provided a brilliant answer, that trick worked a treat. Am I right in thinking the BTCguild is yours? If so congratulations on a  very impressive pool! Was wondering if you could put up a small one box calculator so we can work out the 24hr payout at certain average speeds, like deepbits pages have. For instance, i input 400 Mhash and get a figure of 1.1 BTC per 24 hours.

This weekend I'll be adding a 24-hour statistic to the pool for keeping track of that, and an added perk for 2% donators where you'll receive an income statement-like report in your email each day (or week) detailing your earnings, withdrawals, and worker stats for the previous 24 hours worth of blocks.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
The Koolio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Minds are like parachutes they work best when open


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2011, 05:23:58 PM
 #6

brilliant! keep up the good work!

1. Litecoin 2. Bitcoin 3. Any of the Anon coins
fpgaminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile WWW
June 01, 2011, 05:48:38 PM
 #7

Quote
When were you having the problem?  The server moved to a dedicated server 4 days ago, which has virtually eliminated the issues the old box was having.
I tried out your pool two weeks ago. It sure does have a nice website (except that darn smiley face! Tongue), but yeah I ran into loads of connection problems leading to empty work queues. Thanks for letting me know that you moved servers. Perhaps I will try it again soon.

The Koolio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Minds are like parachutes they work best when open


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2011, 05:59:10 PM
 #8

eleuthria have you considered adding a JavaScript miner to your site? of course this would have to be optional for the user to use as they might get annoyed if its secretly running. Reason I ask is it would allow people to carry on mining when away from their main setups, or even use it in the office as I would plan on doing. We have 20 + pc's at our workplace, cpu mining would be slow, but all these together for 12 hours+ over night would equate to something....

1. Litecoin 2. Bitcoin 3. Any of the Anon coins
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2011, 06:08:44 PM
 #9

eleuthria have you considered adding a JavaScript miner to your site? of course this would have to be optional for the user to use as they might get annoyed if its secretly running. Reason I ask is it would allow people to carry on mining when away from their main setups, or even use it in the office as I would plan on doing. We have 20 + pc's at our workplace, cpu mining would be slow, but all these together for 12 hours+ over night would equate to something....

I had not considered it, so I'll look into it down the road.  For additional questions/comments/suggestions in the main BTC Guild thread, to keep the bitcoin.org forum less cluttered Smiley.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
ensign_lee
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 356


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 06:22:50 PM
 #10

Quote
When were you having the problem?  The server moved to a dedicated server 4 days ago, which has virtually eliminated the issues the old box was having.
I tried out your pool two weeks ago. It sure does have a nice website (except that darn smiley face! Tongue), but yeah I ran into loads of connection problems leading to empty work queues. Thanks for letting me know that you moved servers. Perhaps I will try it again soon.

You can get rid of the smiley face (I assume you mean the crying face) by not being a deadbeat and by donating to the pool...?
anodyne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 10:22:53 PM
 #11

I had timeouts and idle miner as well, so I switched back over to slush to see if it would make a difference but it's the same thing there, even though the latency is ~40ms compared to ~180ms for BTCGuild.

Can't see any routing issues with my ISP so I'm trying deepbit now, and so far it looks good even though that's a transatlantic connection as well.

So, any ideas to see if there could be anything else on my end that could affect the connection to two out of three pools? Mining with poclbm, btw.

Bitcoins: solid enough to build pyramids.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!