Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:28:19 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How can I run my miner while playing games  (Read 4641 times)
baggos12
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 06:23:16 PM
 #1

Is there a way to have the miner mining and in the same time to to do stuff in the computer and even play games. I tried -f 100 but it is not really effective with games..
1481012899
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012899

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012899
Reply with quote  #2

1481012899
Report to moderator
1481012899
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012899

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012899
Reply with quote  #2

1481012899
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481012899
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012899

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012899
Reply with quote  #2

1481012899
Report to moderator
1481012899
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012899

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012899
Reply with quote  #2

1481012899
Report to moderator
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 06:27:51 PM
 #2

You have to pay for the time you play.
And if the price is high for BTC, You might want to charge yourself a premium.
  Cheesy

ensign_lee
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 356


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 07:51:26 PM
 #3

Play less demanding games? I mean, that's what graphics cards do, is display graphics. If you want them to do that instead of mining, well...


Otherwise, get a more powerful graphics card? My 5870 still does about 100 Mhash/sec while I'm playing SC2 on ultra
Maxxx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
June 01, 2011, 07:56:58 PM
 #4

Is there a way to have the miner mining and in the same time to to do stuff in the computer and even play games. I tried -f 100 but it is not really effective with games..


Play Terraria and mine while you mine. No need to free up a GPU. What is your setup?

Time is money. This means that if you have spare time, you can use it to make money.

Modular, open, and stack-able miner case.
MiningBuddy
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1058


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 08:21:48 PM
 #5

I've recently stopped playing games (I have over 150 games on my steam list) because I realised for every second my miner isn't running, I am not earning BTC.  Cheesy Cheesy

OH BITCOIN, WHAT HAVE YOU DONE!?

BombaUcigasa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414



View Profile
June 01, 2011, 08:24:17 PM
 #6

Is there a way to have the miner mining and in the same time to to do stuff in the computer and even play games. I tried -f 100 but it is not really effective with games..

Try to change the CPU priority of the miner process to Low and maybe use smaller work size (-w) for the flags? I can play League of Legends and Entropia just fine with -f 40, but cstrike doesn't flow too well with a miner running.
baggos12
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 08:35:47 PM
 #7

Aren't there any flags that make the miner more polite? I have seen some "-a" and other flags here in the forums and I am unsure what they do. Does lowering the -w flag help? I dont want to play games myself.
BombaUcigasa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414



View Profile
June 01, 2011, 09:04:25 PM
 #8

other flags here in the forums and I am unsure what they do
Run the miner with -h or --help or a variation on this. It should list the flags and what they do.
Litt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 09:40:23 AM
 #9

I would try using a higher -f flag. Try 160 and if that is still rough go higher I say. I do ok at 120 on my main desktop with a single 6950 while gaming. I couldn't do that on another machine with only a dual core i think and prob will need to lower the priority.
Nythain
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 09:46:43 AM
 #10

Aye, -f <high number> in poclbm and AGGRESSION=<low number> in phoenix should both do the trick... not sure what games you're trying to play, and on what settings, but i wouldn't expect miracles. If you really want to still play the latest games while mining consider either a dedicated mining rig, or at least a second card for mining and your current card to manage display and gaming.

Turix
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76



View Profile WWW
June 02, 2011, 01:43:35 PM
 #11

Aye, -f <high number> in poclbm and AGGRESSION=<low number> in phoenix should both do the trick... not sure what games you're trying to play, and on what settings, but i wouldn't expect miracles. If you really want to still play the latest games while mining consider either a dedicated mining rig, or at least a second card for mining and your current card to manage display and gaming.

This, I can quite happily play Dragon Age 2 on highest settings (Dx11) with High res textures on my 5870 while it is mining with AGGRESSION=4 and I still get around 125Mhash/s Smiley

Its just all about trial and error, I keep a set of batch files with various AGGRESSION and WORKSIZE settings so I can switch them depending on how intense the game I wish to play is.

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Bwincoin - 100% Free POS. BSqnSwv7xdD6UEh8bJz8Xp6YcndPQ2JFyF
Seraphim401
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


Live Long and Prosper


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:40:18 PM
 #12

I've recently stopped playing games (I have over 150 games on my steam list) because I realised for every second my miner isn't running, I am not earning BTC.  Cheesy Cheesy

OH BITCOIN, WHAT HAVE YOU DONE!?

Same thing here bro!

doomy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:06:29 AM
 #13

What would AGGRESSION=4 be on poclbm -f ?

The buck ends here -> 138Cqv33HWtjUn9T3FfZog5xT9NtKQMc2U
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:12:21 AM
 #14

I've recently stopped playing games (I have over 150 games on my steam list) because I realised for every second my miner isn't running, I am not earning BTC.  Cheesy Cheesy

OH BITCOIN, WHAT HAVE YOU DONE!?

Same thing here bro!

LOL same for me!
My parents are almost glad that I've found bitcoin...so I don't play any games anymore XD

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
PcChip
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 06:50:04 AM
 #15

My 3 year old plays Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood all day long while the GPU mines away.

For a 58xx series card, use Aggression=4
For a 48xx series card, use Aggression=3


You'll get a few less MH/s, but the games will run fine.

All rates with Phoenix 1.50 / PhatK
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5850 - 400 MH/s  |  5850 - 355 MH/s | 5830 - 310 MH/s  |  GTX570 - 115 MH/s | 5770 - 210 MH/s | 5770 - 200 MH/s
d.james
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Firstbits: 12pqwk


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 07:41:49 AM
 #16

what drivers do you guys use to play games while mining w/out crashing for ATI 5850 cards?

I'm on the latest driver and it crashes when I start a game like Starcraft2, or launch media player for video playback.

on my old Nvidia GTX card I can mine + play without much problems.

You can not roll a BitCoin, but you can rollback some. Cheesy
Roll me back: 1NxMkvbYn8o7kKCWPsnWR4FDvH7L9TJqGG
Lelouch
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:35:34 AM
 #17

Sapphire 5850.

AGRESSION=4 FASTLOOP -phatk VECTORS WORKSIZE=128

Im using Phoenix miner. Can play everything but obviously Mhash/s decrease.
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:48:39 AM
 #18

LOL same for me!
My parents are almost glad that I've found bitcoin...so I don't play any games anymore XD

Wait until the see the electricity bill... they might even ask you to go back to playing computer games.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!