Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2018, 08:06:10 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: - A Mining Newbie looking for answers -  (Read 1336 times)
OmegaStarScream
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 1101


Hire BOUNTYPORTALS>Bounty management goo.gl/XKv9TK


View Profile
July 16, 2015, 03:38:42 PM
 #21

An S5 (or S1, S2, S3, S4, S4+, U2, U3) can be used to mine any coin that uses SHA256D.  For example, BTC, NMC, HUC, MZC, CURE, TAK, PPC... all can be mined with that hardware.

Coins like LTC, DOGE, DASH, etc cannot be mined with that because they use different hashing algorithms (Scrypt, X11, etc).

Understood & thanks for taking time to answer me to all my newbie questions , I just didn't got into mining and was never interessted till now . even if I'am a Senior Member Grin

1537905970
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537905970

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537905970
Reply with quote  #2

1537905970
Report to moderator
1537905970
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537905970

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537905970
Reply with quote  #2

1537905970
Report to moderator
1537905970
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537905970

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537905970
Reply with quote  #2

1537905970
Report to moderator
Einax Airdrops and Bounties made easy! List your ERC-20 token
FREE
ETH markets launching soon!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537905970
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537905970

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537905970
Reply with quote  #2

1537905970
Report to moderator
kingcolex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1013


Anonymous bitcoin mixer


View Profile
July 16, 2015, 03:41:39 PM
 #22

You said in another thread you are from algeria which seems to be a pretty hot nation, the electric is cheap but we don't know your living conditions and how spacious your home is. These miners will make it a lot warmer and may make life pretty miserable at home, I say you probably shouldn't mine. If you really want to make coin there are other ways.














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
spazzdla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 16, 2015, 06:45:21 PM
 #23

An S5 (or S1, S2, S3, S4, S4+, U2, U3) can be used to mine any coin that uses SHA256D.  For example, BTC, NMC, HUC, MZC, CURE, TAK, PPC... all can be mined with that hardware.

Coins like LTC, DOGE, DASH, etc cannot be mined with that because they use different hashing algorithms (Scrypt, X11, etc).

Understood & thanks for taking time to answer me to all my newbie questions , I just didn't got into mining and was never interessted till now . even if I'am a Senior Member Grin


I / we like intelligent questions.
OmegaStarScream
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 1101


Hire BOUNTYPORTALS>Bounty management goo.gl/XKv9TK


View Profile
July 16, 2015, 06:51:41 PM
 #24

You said in another thread you are from algeria which seems to be a pretty hot nation, the electric is cheap but we don't know your living conditions and how spacious your home is. These miners will make it a lot warmer and may make life pretty miserable at home, I say you probably shouldn't mine. If you really want to make coin there are other ways.

Indeed I'am from algeria , It's warm on summer , basically we have the four seasons . however I thought I should care the miners being warm when I have shitload of them like a Mining farm or something , even with one miner I should care about that ? why it dosen't cool it self down just like the PC does ? or it takes a lot much power ? :/

kingcolex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1013


Anonymous bitcoin mixer


View Profile
July 16, 2015, 07:26:50 PM
 #25

You said in another thread you are from algeria which seems to be a pretty hot nation, the electric is cheap but we don't know your living conditions and how spacious your home is. These miners will make it a lot warmer and may make life pretty miserable at home, I say you probably shouldn't mine. If you really want to make coin there are other ways.

Indeed I'am from algeria , It's warm on summer , basically we have the four seasons . however I thought I should care the miners being warm when I have shitload of them like a Mining farm or something , even with one miner I should care about that ? why it dosen't cool it self down just like the PC does ? or it takes a lot much power ? :/
Well computers change how much power they're using and unless a high end gaming pc you probably aren't using over 500w often while an s4+pulls 1450w and the heat is being blown into the room constantly. 1450w is essentially a space heater being on 24/7 and it will definitely change the temp in the room.














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 16, 2015, 08:40:06 PM
 #26

You said in another thread you are from algeria which seems to be a pretty hot nation, the electric is cheap but we don't know your living conditions and how spacious your home is. These miners will make it a lot warmer and may make life pretty miserable at home, I say you probably shouldn't mine. If you really want to make coin there are other ways.

Indeed I'am from algeria , It's warm on summer , basically we have the four seasons . however I thought I should care the miners being warm when I have shitload of them like a Mining farm or something , even with one miner I should care about that ? why it dosen't cool it self down just like the PC does ? or it takes a lot much power ? :/
Well computers change how much power they're using and unless a high end gaming pc you probably aren't using over 500w often while an s4+pulls 1450w and the heat is being blown into the room constantly. 1450w is essentially a space heater being on 24/7 and it will definitely change the temp in the room.

Also most home PC are not built to be pushed like GPU farms do.  Most GPU farms used open air machines.   

Basically it was a riser allowing you to spread your cards apart and put in air made a heck of a difference on cooling.   I turned all mine into open air during my GPU day's and used extra fans to help with heat.

Sadly they don't compare to today's asics, do ROI math but most running a PC will be at a loss when trying to mine.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!