Bitcoin Forum
May 17, 2024, 12:20:26 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  

Warning: Moderators do not remove likely scams. You must use your own brain: caveat emptor. Watch out for Ponzi schemes. Do not invest more than you can afford to lose.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: MTGox Automatic Trading Bot Tracking To Gauge Usefulness As A Security  (Read 3490 times)
MtGoxTraderBot (OP)

Activity: 22
Merit: 0

View Profile
September 16, 2012, 11:29:34 PM
Last edit: September 26, 2012, 02:12:20 PM by MtGoxTraderBot

Taking a page from the volatility bot (beat me to the name darn you), I have been testing this for a couple months on my own java bot for mtgox. But wanted to document the findings so far, I began with about 45 btc, only made about 50btc so far (5btc profit). But based on my findings so far I would estimate I could turn around a decent profit over time. I have not been able to figure an algorithm that would be able to work in the EMA and calculating spreads to make a profit so I have come to the conclusion that it requires a person watching at all times just in case a sudden dip or rally in pricing comes around.  These bots do perform better under volatility as the other thread pointed out. I have some slightly different views on how the trades should be performed though and until I get my nominal trade fee down another tier I dont think I will make big profits on it. But so far got it down to the .46%, I am looking into setting up a security on glbse also in imitation. Now that I have my trade fee down some though I will keep toying with it for another week in hopes that I wont need to open up a security. I have visited the forums for information many many times and gotten lots of great information, so hoping this will help other bot builders in their future endeavors. I will not be using multiple markets, my goal is not to arbitrage in any way, I only plan to use the market to move the btc back