Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2022, 10:17:37 AM *
News: Reminder: do not keep your money in online accounts
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: For mining on ubuntu,how can I limit the CPU load?  (Read 494 times)
supercanada1 (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 253


View Profile
July 18, 2015, 11:58:30 PM
 #1

Since the VPS limit the usage for the cpu, I have to limit the usage of miner when I setup the miner on ubuntu server, I installed cpulimit but it looks like not easy to use:
cpulimit -P /mycoin/src/myminer -l 25
I try to run this on ubuntu but it looks like it will not run background, any way to let this run on background?
also, I must run myminer first, and then run cpulimit command, is this any way I can just limit my cpu usuage first and then the miner later?
because if I run miner first, it will take lot of the cpu usage immediately
1670581057
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670581057

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670581057
Reply with quote  #2

1670581057
Report to moderator
1670581057
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670581057

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670581057
Reply with quote  #2

1670581057
Report to moderator
The trust scores you see are subjective; they will change depending on who you have in your trust list.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1670581057
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670581057

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670581057
Reply with quote  #2

1670581057
Report to moderator
supercanada1 (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 253


View Profile
July 19, 2015, 12:04:05 AM
 #2

or any way just to limit the cpu usage of my whole account
TreasureSeeker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 455
Merit: 251



View Profile WWW
July 19, 2015, 06:40:13 PM
Merited by d5000 (1)
 #3

Popping an ampersand at the end should let it run in the background.  Give it some niceness too if you're concerned about it slowing down other processes:
Code:
nice -n 19 cpulimit -P /mycoin/src/myminer -l 25 &

Fun & Friendly p2pool Mining at TreasureQuarry.  Litecoin http://litecoin.treasurequarry.com:9327 Dash p2pool  http://dash.treasurequarry.com:7903
mullick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1001


View Profile
July 19, 2015, 10:19:43 PM
 #4

If your cpu mining then im going to assume your mining with the daemon of the coin itself. In that case

Code:
proc=x

Where x = the number of cores you want utilized. Adding that line to your config file will do the trick for most codebases
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!