Bitcoin Forum
May 03, 2024, 12:35:05 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: BIP 106: Dynamically Controlled Bitcoin Block Size Max Cap  (Read 9318 times)
goatpig
Legendary

Activity: 3668
Merit: 1345

Armory Developer

View Profile
August 29, 2015, 04:07:40 PM

Be fair on yourself. You have a more authoritative view than most others, seeing as your work (designing & implementing the block handling + storage for a major Bitcoin wallet) deals with both the subtle details and the overarching dynamics of this very topic (at least in respect of how Bitcoin works now).

I have no experience with network design so I can't alone come up with a proposal that accounts for the entire engineering scope the metric affects. Maybe I would be more motivated to run with my own proposal and implementation if I did.

"This isn't the kind of software where we can leave so many unresolved bugs that we need a tracker for them." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
btcdrak
Legendary

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1000

View Profile
September 02, 2015, 12:20:49 AM

Have you submitted this to gmaxwell yet for bip number assignment? If you did, what was his response?

I did. On August 18, 2015 he said that normal procedure is to allow some time for discussion on the list and asked me to post the draft text as well. I did not have the draft text ready by then. As you'll see the draft (https://github.com/UpalChakraborty/bips/blob/master/BIP-DynamicMaxBlockSize.mediawiki) was made on August 24, 2015. So, after posting the draft text, I contacted him again for BIP no. Since then, I have not heard of him.