Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2018, 10:51:26 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: S7 controller has nine 18- pin jacks So what can we do with it?  (Read 10537 times)
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 19, 2016, 07:04:07 AM
 #121

Can you test if it's the IO board or the BeagleBoner itself that is messed up? I believe the 'boner is the same on the S7 as is was for the S5 and S2 (but someone who can say for sure should verify that). If the IO board is okay, I've got a stack of the 'boners laying around.

Well , I think the IO is dead is one controler , and the BB is dead in the other. Because the effect was not exactly the same.
So I trid to melt the part , and now I have a controller fully ok , and a controller fully dead (with BB dead from one S7 and IO Dead from the other).
The good thing is I have one of the two s7 back in game , but the bad news is I have to get a whole controller unit for the second one now.

Any good deal somewhere ?
1537527086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537527086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537527086
Reply with quote  #2

1537527086
Report to moderator
1537527086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537527086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537527086
Reply with quote  #2

1537527086
Report to moderator
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537527086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537527086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537527086
Reply with quote  #2

1537527086
Report to moderator
1537527086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537527086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537527086
Reply with quote  #2

1537527086
Report to moderator
1537527086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537527086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537527086
Reply with quote  #2

1537527086
Report to moderator
RichBC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 19, 2016, 07:42:11 AM
 #122

Can you test if it's the IO board or the BeagleBoner itself that is messed up? I believe the 'boner is the same on the S7 as is was for the S5 and S2 (but someone who can say for sure should verify that). If the IO board is okay, I've got a stack of the 'boners laying around.

You can use B.B.B. from S5 together with S7 controller.

Even S5 whole controller works with S7 software. (look at the picture S7 Batch8 2 blade with S5 controller)
 But as it turned out, it shows the wrong temperature. always around 46 C

Click on the image


It seems that when using the S5 Controller with an S7 Blade that after booting it reads and reports a temperature, however no further readings are taken. If you boot from cold you get a low number, but if you then reboot after a few minutes you get a higher number?


Rich

→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Hard-Disk Mineable Cryptocurrency !! B U R S T C O I N 💰 Cheap Price & Easy to Invest - CHECK IT OUT NOW! !! →→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Asset exchange, Automatic transactions, Escrow system & More !!
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 19, 2016, 10:00:56 AM
 #123

Can you test if it's the IO board or the BeagleBoner itself that is messed up? I believe the 'boner is the same on the S7 as is was for the S5 and S2 (but someone who can say for sure should verify that). If the IO board is okay, I've got a stack of the 'boners laying around.

Well , I think the IO is dead is one controler , and the BB is dead in the other. Because the effect was not exactly the same.
So I trid to melt the part , and now I have a controller fully ok , and a controller fully dead (with BB dead from one S7 and IO Dead from the other).
The good thing is I have one of the two s7 back in game , but the bad news is I have to get a whole controller unit for the second one now.

Any good deal somewhere ?

I wrote too early , my rebuilded controller did not work for long , after one hour it stopped hashing too. I guess today small unexpected power shutdown got it burned too... ultra bad luck.
It is weird because the s7 is making hot air , but the green blinking led (for hashing) doesn't light..

So I think I still need two controllers ... or one able to drive 6 blades.
Thanks guys
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 20, 2016, 08:32:45 AM
 #124

any help to find controllers for sale ? I can't find it :-(
delicin33
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 143
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 20, 2016, 08:58:48 AM
 #125

any help to find controllers for sale ? I can't find it :-(

here
https://shop.bitmain.com/productDetail.htm?pid=000201601120933252220cfbfFq20693
bitgameSolo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 05, 2016, 08:46:51 PM
 #126

Are people still doing this one controller and 6 blade or 9 blade hack? I'm confused as some of the above comments make me think its not a good idea. I have a batch 7 that has 9 18 pin slots but came with the 162 chip board. Can I take the 162 chip boards out and put in 6 135 chip boards as long as I have enough PSU?
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1090


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
October 05, 2016, 11:55:59 PM
 #127

Are people still doing this one controller and 6 blade or 9 blade hack? I'm confused as some of the above comments make me think its not a good idea. I have a batch 7 that has 9 18 pin slots but came with the 162 chip board. Can I take the 162 chip boards out and put in 6 135 chip boards as long as I have enough PSU?
My 1st guess is that the BB's GPIO circuits can't handle the load of that many hash boards tied to it. Betcha Bitmain is using unbuffered BB' signals and that when overloaded it takes out part of the BB....

Since small computers like RasPi, BB, Audrino, et al are not known for um, 'robust' power protection, if the feed for the 3.3v used for GPIO is overloaded that could lead to Majik Smoke getting out...

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
October 06, 2016, 12:12:25 AM
 #128

Unless the IO board has a nice high-current 3.3V buck regulator on it, and the FPGA on there functions as an IO expander.

Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1005



View Profile
January 18, 2017, 06:20:09 AM
 #129

So... Will Batch 6 S7 IO board handle 6 S7 blades?  Huh

From Siberia with love!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Пpoфeccиoнaльнo зaнимaюcь paзвёpтывaниeм фepм (ASIC, GPU, BURST), oбopyдoвaниeм пoмeщeний для мaйнингa.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!