Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2018, 02:33:49 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 [90] 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 265925 times)
connersc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 12:52:07 PM
 #1781

I am new to linux and bitcoin mining and I am having some issues. Heres what I am working with:
Raspberry Pi 2 with Raspbian Wheezy (fully up to date as of yesterday)
1 GekkoScience Compac BM1384 Stickminer currently plugged directly in the the RPi USB (not a powered hub/no cooling)
cgminer 4.9.2 all set up following Novaks guide on this site for cgminer-gekko

I am having these issues:
1. Using sudo ./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u connersc.worker1 -p anything --compac-freq 150 I get an error that the --compac-freq command is not recognized and cgminer does not start. When using the same command with out that option it started with the gekko defaulting to 125. How do I change the freq/voltage?
2. I am using slushs pool and at 125 it registers with the pool and everything seems dandy (6+ GH), but twice now when it hit a block, some error occurred (not sure the error as I was away at the time) and it stopped hashing and eventually went zombie status. The first time this happened I restarted the Pi and restarted cgminer and it was back up and running. However, the second time now it wont start running properly giving errors like : compac 1: no valid hashes for over 10 secs, attempting to reset
compac 1 attempted reset got err:(0) LIBUSB_SUCCESS
compac 1: device failed to respond to restart
compac 1 failure, disabling! and then i repeats for compac 2 etc till zombie

Can anyone help me out? Did I brick it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
1544970829
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544970829

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544970829
Reply with quote  #2

1544970829
Report to moderator
Make sure you back up your wallet regularly! Unlike a bank account, nobody can help you if you lose access to your BTC.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544970829
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544970829

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544970829
Reply with quote  #2

1544970829
Report to moderator
1544970829
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544970829

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544970829
Reply with quote  #2

1544970829
Report to moderator
1544970829
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544970829

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544970829
Reply with quote  #2

1544970829
Report to moderator
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1313

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 01:46:53 PM
 #1782

If --compac-freq is not recognized, you are using stock cgminer and not the cgminer written for the Compac.

Have you read through this support thread at all, specifically the first page or so?

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2007
Merit: 1093


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 02:01:25 PM
 #1783

I am new to linux and bitcoin mining and I am having some issues. Heres what I am working with:
Raspberry Pi 2 with Raspbian Wheezy (fully up to date as of yesterday)
1 GekkoScience Compac BM1384 Stickminer currently plugged directly in the the RPi USB (not a powered hub/no cooling)
cgminer 4.9.2 all set up following Novaks guide on this site for cgminer-gekko


can the rpi 2 actually put out enough current to its usb port? the compac generally needs .5 amp or more depending on its speed and voltage settings.

what are you powering the rpi with?

most all of us that run rpis as controllers run the compacs on powered hubs
connersc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 02:13:15 PM
 #1784

I used this method off the first page to set up everything. So, I thought this would take care of it. I did use a different dependency set though I believe. The RPi does provide enough power to run it at 125 as thats what I am doing now, though I know if I want to run it higher I will need a powered USB. I think I fixed the issue with restarting as I did have too many devices plugged in the the RPi and it wasn't getting enough juice. However, after hashing fine for hours, does the power issue explain it failing when the pool hit a block?



If you want to run the sticks on linux, you'll need either bfgminer or cgminer.  Either way you are probably going to have to compile them, but I've had little trouble with this so it's probably just a matter of running a few simple commands.

Here's what you'd do to get cgminer on linux going:
1. Open a terminal.
2. wget http://gekkoscience.com/misc/cgminer-gekko.tar.gz            

This downloads the file- you can save it from your browser instead, it's the same thing.

3. tar -xvzf cgminer-gekko.tar.gz

This extracts the files. which are compressed (like a zip file for linux)

4. cd cgminer-gekko
 
Enters the cgminer-gekko folder you just extracted.

5. sudo apt-get install build-essential autoconf automake libtool

You need to install the dependencies for cgminer.

6. ./autogen.sh

This will generate a configure script for you which will set up compiling for your system.

7. ./configure --enable-gekko

This will configure the build.  This is the most likely place to have anything go wrong, if it does, let me know exactly what's up.  Odds are it would be some package that you should have installed.

8. make

Performs the build.  If you get an error there- again, let me know details.

You are ready to run cgminer.  This should look something like:

./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://stratum.mining.eligius.st:3334 -u 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr --compac-freq 150

Although if you don't have permissions setup you may have to become root or use sudo, eg,

sudo ./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://stratum.mining.eligius.st:3334 -u 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr --compac-freq 150

cgminer should now detect any compacs plugged in while it is running.  Obviously you'll use a slightly different command to launch cgminer, if you use that one you'll be mining for us!  Most pools even post example commands, let me know if you need help figuring it out.

--
novak
[/quote]
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1313

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 02:42:19 PM
 #1785

If you're running on 125MHz, turn the voltage down to 600mV and it'll use a lot less power.

If you followed the directions from the first post, and installed cgminer-gekko, then your command line will recognize --compac-freq. The sample command line in the instructions is copied directly from what we use for testing all Compacs with that software. Make sure it's spelled correctly. It looks like you are using cgminer-gekko, as with standard cgminer you'd see the stick enumerate as a U3 and try to hash at something like 225MHz, where it'd try to draw about 900mA from your USB port and probably turn off.

That doesn't explain why it would kick out after finding a block. It could be a power issue, maybe with a bit of burst current after scrapping everything and pushing entirely new work? That's not an issue I've ever seen, but then I've never run a stick directly off a Pi. Try turning the voltage down to about 590-600mV for 125MHz (610 or so if you can make it run at 150MHz) and it'll draw USB2-spec power.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1426


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 02:43:41 PM
 #1786

I used this method off the first page to set up everything. So, I thought this would take care of it. I did use a different dependency set though I believe. The RPi does provide enough power to run it at 125 as thats what I am doing now, though I know if I want to run it higher I will need a powered USB. I think I fixed the issue with restarting as I did have too many devices plugged in the the RPi and it wasn't getting enough juice. However, after hashing fine for hours, does the power issue explain it failing when the pool hit a block?



It has a reset and a tiny power boost on the draw.

the rasp pi is lacking the testicles for that boost.

there are solutions.    use this to power the rasp pi


http://www.amazon.com/Anker-Charger-Foldable-Technology-Motorola/dp/B014ZN63T4?

http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-3-Feet-Cable-External-Drive/dp/B0047AALS0/ref=sr_1_8?


and then use this to run the single  stick


http://www.amazon.com/Soumooo-Quality-Enhancer-Female-Extension/dp/B01C5IPUIQ/ref=sr_1_3?



this will allow a lot more juice for the stick.


I just added this from sidehack as he is the master. 

If you're running on 125MHz, turn the voltage down to 600mV and it'll use a lot less power.

If you followed the directions from the first post, and installed cgminer-gekko, then your command line will recognize --compac-freq. The sample command line in the instructions is copied directly from what we use for testing all Compacs with that software. Make sure it's spelled correctly. It looks like you are using cgminer-gekko, as with standard cgminer you'd see the stick enumerate as a U3 and try to hash at something like 225MHz, where it'd try to draw about 900mA from your USB port and probably turn off.

That doesn't explain why it would kick out after finding a block. It could be a power issue, maybe with a bit of burst current after scrapping everything and pushing entirely new work? That's not an issue I've ever seen, but then I've never run a stick directly off a Pi. Try turning the voltage down to about 590-600mV for 125MHz (610 or so if you can make it run at 150MHz) and it'll draw USB2-spec power.


if you try my ideas and his ideas combined you will be fine.

I know many power bricks for rasp pi's fall short.  mine will not fall short.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
connersc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 03:47:54 PM
 #1787

Thanks guys. The kick out after finding a block seems to be a power issue as with no other devices plugged into the Pi except the miner, it worked after the most recently block was found. I will try to reinstall/compile/whatnot using the initial directions to get the --compaq-freq to work. I appreciate the suggestions on ways to power it and I plan on buying what I need to get it working properly, I just wanted to get it to work initially first. Trying not to give into the urge to buy a few more and set up a rig as a project, because the fiance might kill me lol. Thanks for the help!
Jake36
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 331
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 04:52:46 PM
 #1788

@connersc

Plus with the compac directly plugged into the Pi, it may be causing heat problems in the USB chip from pulling the power to run the compac.

It may have just happened to hit some over temp cut-out just as the block was found (just a guess ??).
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1313

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 09:35:20 PM
 #1789

Also, to reiterate, make sure it's spelled correctly. Because if your command line says "compaq-freq" it won't work, on account of this stick miner is in no way associated with a defunct PC manufacturer.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1130


View Profile
April 04, 2016, 02:57:25 PM
 #1790

I used this method off the first page to set up everything. So, I thought this would take care of it. I did use a different dependency set though I believe. The RPi does provide enough power to run it at 125 as thats what I am doing now, though I know if I want to run it higher I will need a powered USB. I think I fixed the issue with restarting as I did have too many devices plugged in the the RPi and it wasn't getting enough juice. However, after hashing fine for hours, does the power issue explain it failing when the pool hit a block?



If you want to run the sticks on linux, you'll need either bfgminer or cgminer.  Either way you are probably going to have to compile them, but I've had little trouble with this so it's probably just a matter of running a few simple commands.

Here's what you'd do to get cgminer on linux going:
1. Open a terminal.
2. wget http://gekkoscience.com/misc/cgminer-gekko.tar.gz            

This downloads the file- you can save it from your browser instead, it's the same thing.

3. tar -xvzf cgminer-gekko.tar.gz

This extracts the files. which are compressed (like a zip file for linux)

4. cd cgminer-gekko
 
Enters the cgminer-gekko folder you just extracted.

5. sudo apt-get install build-essential autoconf automake libtool

You need to install the dependencies for cgminer.

6. ./autogen.sh

This will generate a configure script for you which will set up compiling for your system.

7. ./configure --enable-gekko

This will configure the build.  This is the most likely place to have anything go wrong, if it does, let me know exactly what's up.  Odds are it would be some package that you should have installed.

8. make

Performs the build.  If you get an error there- again, let me know details.

You are ready to run cgminer.  This should look something like:

./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://stratum.mining.eligius.st:3334 -u 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr --compac-freq 150

Although if you don't have permissions setup you may have to become root or use sudo, eg,

sudo ./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://stratum.mining.eligius.st:3334 -u 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr --compac-freq 150

cgminer should now detect any compacs plugged in while it is running.  Obviously you'll use a slightly different command to launch cgminer, if you use that one you'll be mining for us!  Most pools even post example commands, let me know if you need help figuring it out.

--
novak
[/quote]

thant novak writeup is partially incorrect now because last time I used it, it was cgminer-gekko-rev2.
I will provide instructions in the next post.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1130


View Profile
April 04, 2016, 03:11:01 PM
 #1791

cgminer addition:

earlier instructions basically as described, then

wget http://gekkoscience.com/misc/cgminer-gekko.tar.gz

tar xzf cgminer-gekko.tar.gz

cd cgminer-gekko-rev2  #this is where there are some differences

sudo apt-get install autotools-dev libtool libusb-dev libudev-dev

./configure --enable-gekko

make

this should compile a cgminer in the dir you are in.. so you can run it by
./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://stratum.mining.eligius.st:3334 -u 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr --compac-freq 150

fill in your own bitcoin username (after -u)
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1313

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 04, 2016, 03:19:45 PM
 #1792

And if you want to run a U3 or most other stickminers, you'll need to --enable-icarus as well.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
zOU
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
April 05, 2016, 10:48:46 AM
 #1793

well it happens that my neighbour has the tools I need, so I'll be working on my heatsinks this afternoon.

I also received a superbpag hub last week and all 6 sticks have been running flawlessly at 310Mhs...

So modding is on its way to be finished !

------ edit---

drilling tapering done, wasn't as tricky as I thought it would.


I had to remove the usb doctors as they cause problems when only 1 cable is connected...

christiansenn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 05, 2016, 06:53:13 PM
 #1794

Hi
I download latest gekkoscience.com/misc/cgminer-gekko-win32.zip

but when I run it
Cgminer.exe application error the application was unable to start correctly 0xc00007b click ok to close the application

I tried the earlier version for win32 and that works fine but no support for eu versions of sticks.
zOU
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
April 05, 2016, 07:30:59 PM
 #1795

What is your OS?

win32 binary: gekkoscience.com/misc/cgminer-gekko-win32.zip
The current version supports bitshopper compacs as well, and can be (and is, in the case of windows) compiled with icarus support.

christiansenn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 05, 2016, 08:19:01 PM
 #1796

win10 64 bit
I tested in Linux then it all works fine.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1313

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 05, 2016, 08:55:29 PM
 #1797

You made sure to copy over the zlib.dll or whichever it's called?

Also, Win10 sucks. I'll probably never officially acknowledge support for Win10 because I'll never have a computer running it to test anything on. But a couple folks on here have used it with success.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1039



View Profile
April 05, 2016, 10:11:21 PM
 #1798

You made sure to copy over the zlib.dll or whichever it's called?

Also, Win10 sucks. I'll probably never officially acknowledge support for Win10 because I'll never have a computer running it to test anything on. But a couple folks on here have used it with success.
Win10 does suck. Windows pumped it full with added things they assume their customers need, but really it's just microsoft being sold out by a few companies and it drags down performance in basically every area. The only computer that I have running Win10 is a dell 11 series laptop, and it's at 80c idling because of all the extra features on there dragging it down. Don't do it, don't upgrade! My compac works fine on W10 though, but since I use a rpi to control my compacs it's useless.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1313

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 05, 2016, 10:34:41 PM
 #1799

Not to mention all the various spyware and telemetry stuff they have built in, to radio home to Microsoft servers and let 'em know what you're up to all the time. I like that some entire countries were outlawing the use of Win10 because of security risks.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1004



View Profile
April 07, 2016, 09:09:59 PM
 #1800

Not to mention all the various spyware and telemetry stuff they have built in, to radio home to Microsoft servers and let 'em know what you're up to all the time. I like that some entire countries were outlawing the use of Win10 because of security risks.

It also maps your network and invasively copies all of your documents to a Microsoft server; which the government has full access to. If you break any of its components within 2 weeks it will automatically reinstall win10 (like an update) to fix itself.

If anyone is using win10 as a miner host; unless your a Network Engineer or CCNA I highly recommend either:

using a wireless connection to your router and enabling wireless isolation on your router

or if you need devices to interact on your home network

set your miner to a static ip, download a firewall program such as peerblock and create a block list with all other ips on your network other than the router and the miner itself

This will isolate the win10 computer so it can do less harm.

Pages: « 1 ... 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 [90] 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!