Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2018, 04:20:02 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 [96] 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 265879 times)
kupan787
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 135
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 04, 2016, 02:04:59 AM
 #1901

If you've got a volt meter, measure the voltages on the testpads on the back. Measure the core voltage when it's first plugged in, and then when cgminer tries to start mining with it, and see if it changes. That'll let you know whether it's an ASIC issue or a power issue.

So I used my volt meter on the good stick, and got a reading. So I knew I was doing things right. I plugged in the "bad" stick, green light comes on. Check with volt meter shows 0. Start up cgminer. Still shows 0. Let cgminer do its thing, and try to hotplug. Still shows 0. Test the volt meter against my good stick, and I get readings.

So does this mean the asic is bad? Or maybe something blew? Like I said, all was good until I did a reboot of my PI the other day. Now only one stick is good.

Anything else I can try and test to see if I can diagnose it?
1542471602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542471602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542471602
Reply with quote  #2

1542471602
Report to moderator
1542471602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542471602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542471602
Reply with quote  #2

1542471602
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542471602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542471602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542471602
Reply with quote  #2

1542471602
Report to moderator
1542471602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542471602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542471602
Reply with quote  #2

1542471602
Report to moderator
1542471602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542471602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542471602
Reply with quote  #2

1542471602
Report to moderator
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1258

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 04, 2016, 02:24:18 AM
 #1902

Something definitely happened to cause the power to kick out. Either the ASIC shot craps, or it's an issue with the power circuit itself. The ASIC shouldn't shoot craps unless it was run too hot. Is there discoloration on the backside of the PCB?

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
kupan787
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 135
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 04, 2016, 02:33:25 AM
 #1903

Something definitely happened to cause the power to kick out. Either the ASIC shot craps, or it's an issue with the power circuit itself. The ASIC shouldn't shoot craps unless it was run too hot. Is there discoloration on the backside of the PCB?

I don't see anything?

Sorry maybe not the best pics, I can try and take better ones tomorrow in daylight.

http://imgur.com/UfmggW0
http://imgur.com/syxVyGT
CjMapope
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1026



View Profile
May 04, 2016, 02:41:18 AM
 #1904

Something definitely happened to cause the power to kick out. Either the ASIC shot craps, or it's an issue with the power circuit itself. The ASIC shouldn't shoot craps unless it was run too hot. Is there discoloration on the backside of the PCB?

I don't see anything?

Sorry maybe not the best pics, I can try and take better ones tomorrow in daylight.

http://imgur.com/UfmggW0
http://imgur.com/syxVyGT


back of that ascii part  on the heatsink looks less black then my burnt one thats for sure haha ;p

~Trading Battle.net shop items for Crypto, PM for details~
~Open Source is just another buzzword if you cant read the code~
~https://hiveos.farm?ref=2469~
Jake36
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 331
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 04, 2016, 03:37:12 AM
 #1905

If you've got a volt meter, measure the voltages on the testpads on the back. Measure the core voltage when it's first plugged in, and then when cgminer tries to start mining with it, and see if it changes. That'll let you know whether it's an ASIC issue or a power issue.

So I used my volt meter on the good stick, and got a reading. So I knew I was doing things right. I plugged in the "bad" stick, green light comes on. Check with volt meter shows 0. Start up cgminer. Still shows 0. Let cgminer do its thing, and try to hotplug. Still shows 0. Test the volt meter against my good stick, and I get readings.

So does this mean the asic is bad? Or maybe something blew? Like I said, all was good until I did a reboot of my PI the other day. Now only one stick is good.

Anything else I can try and test to see if I can diagnose it?

When you checked, did you plug the no reading 1, it into a different slot on the hub or into the same slot as the stick that you got readings on? If it was in the same slot, that would rule out something in the hub going out.
kupan787
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 135
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 04, 2016, 03:52:29 AM
 #1906

If you've got a volt meter, measure the voltages on the testpads on the back. Measure the core voltage when it's first plugged in, and then when cgminer tries to start mining with it, and see if it changes. That'll let you know whether it's an ASIC issue or a power issue.

So I used my volt meter on the good stick, and got a reading. So I knew I was doing things right. I plugged in the "bad" stick, green light comes on. Check with volt meter shows 0. Start up cgminer. Still shows 0. Let cgminer do its thing, and try to hotplug. Still shows 0. Test the volt meter against my good stick, and I get readings.

So does this mean the asic is bad? Or maybe something blew? Like I said, all was good until I did a reboot of my PI the other day. Now only one stick is good.

Anything else I can try and test to see if I can diagnose it?

When you checked, did you plug the no reading 1, it into a different slot on the hub or into the same slot as the stick that you got readings on? If it was in the same slot, that would rule out something in the hub going out.

Tested them both direct connected to my laptop, so no hub. Wanted to rule out anything I could that might cause an issue.

Tried both USB ports on the laptop just to be sure. Same results.
aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1004


View Profile
May 04, 2016, 05:05:08 AM
 #1907

Something definitely happened to cause the power to kick out. Either the ASIC shot craps, or it's an issue with the power circuit itself. The ASIC shouldn't shoot craps unless it was run too hot. Is there discoloration on the backside of the PCB?

I don't see anything?

Sorry maybe not the best pics, I can try and take better ones tomorrow in daylight.

http://imgur.com/UfmggW0
http://imgur.com/syxVyGT


one of my new sticks kind of did what yours did.. was running great, then nothing.
i put the volt meter on it and it showed 0..

i turned the pot just a small amount.. and it all came back to life.

its like the pot was in a dead spot.
Timbo_Slice
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 04, 2016, 10:54:47 PM
 #1908

Hey all, new to the world of crypto's and mining and decided to pick up one of these stickminers just for fun to mine some coins, but I'm having some difficulty getting it going.
My issue is that neither CGMiner (4.9.0) nor BFGMiner (5.4.2) will recognize the compac. I have installed the zadig but no luck. My computer (running Windows 7) does recognize that I plugged in a USB and I can successfully connect to pools (Slush's, Nicehash for Bitcoin and Ecoining for Peercoin). I'm also getting a solid green light on the compac, so it's powered on.
The commands I'm running via batch file are these;

bfgminer -o stratum+tcp://us-east.stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u Username.worker -p Password --set compac:clock=x0b83
(also tried without the --set compac:clock=x0b83)

cgminer -o stratum+tcp://us-east.stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u Username.worker -p Password --au3-freq 150
(also tried without the --au3-freq 150 and via manually entering in URL, user, and password in CGMiner)

I've read the first page of this thread (many, many times) and done a fair share of Googling, but just can't seem to find what I need to get it to work. Do I need older versions of CGminer or BFGminer? Is the mining software not even able to recognize an ASIC with this low of hashrate anymore?
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1258

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 04, 2016, 11:49:03 PM
 #1909

When you say "installed the zadig" I assume you mean you used Zadig to install libusb drivers to the device?

Your BFG string is probably wrong; if you're using any kind of recent version (5.4 or so) the clock setting is a proper integer, not hex. Not sure if this is noted on the first page or if it's just early on in the thread. If you want cgminer, use cgminer-gekko as noted on the first page (there should be a Windows download link somewhere) and pass compac-freq instead of au3-freq as noted on the first page.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
jay1994
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 05, 2016, 01:01:09 AM
 #1910

A good place to start would be reading the first page of this thread.


Ah yes, I did do that BUT I used this tutorial to set everything up:

http://ubuntuhak.blogspot.com/2014/01/raspberry-pi-as-controller-for-bitcoin.

And bfgminer accepts and uses the gekkoscience sticks but only with at most 330 mh/s like the block erupters. So all I'm asking is for help on making them work to their full potential. I know and am sorry if I'm being a pain I just don't want to mess around and wreck my mining setup.

Can someone please help me out???
Timbo_Slice
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 05, 2016, 03:31:58 AM
 #1911

When you say "installed the zadig" I assume you mean you used Zadig to install libusb drivers to the device?

Your BFG string is probably wrong; if you're using any kind of recent version (5.4 or so) the clock setting is a proper integer, not hex. Not sure if this is noted on the first page or if it's just early on in the thread. If you want cgminer, use cgminer-gekko as noted on the first page (there should be a Windows download link somewhere) and pass compac-freq instead of au3-freq as noted on the first page.

Yes, installed the drivers using zadig.

So I tried this line for BFGminer;
bfgminer -o stratum+tcp://us-east.stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -O username.worker --set compac:clock=150
With the --set compac:clock 150 taking the place of the password, correct?

When I run BFGminer it does the usual no device detected, but when I unplug/replug the compac I get an error line reading;

"Failed to open Device Parameters registry key in lowl-vcom.c _vcom_devinfo_scan_windows_hubport<>:556: the system cannot find the file specified"

Any suggestions?
I appreciate the help so far!
hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 945
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 05, 2016, 04:10:26 AM
 #1912

Zadig is a tool used to install libusb "driver" for use with cgminer. Because there is a difference in the way BFGMiner and CGMiner have been written, the tool is NOT used for BFGMiner and you must remove Zadig and reinstall the Silabs cp210x driver for BFGMiner to work with USB devices.
Timbo_Slice
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 05, 2016, 02:09:03 PM
 #1913

Zadig is a tool used to install libusb "driver" for use with cgminer. Because there is a difference in the way BFGMiner and CGMiner have been written, the tool is NOT used for BFGMiner and you must remove Zadig and reinstall the Silabs cp210x driver for BFGMiner to work with USB devices.

Ok, I didn't know the driver install would negatively effect BFGminer, I guess I need to just stick with one mining software! I installed the Slilabs driver (found a download link by Googling) and now the Compac shows the Slilabs driver when I select the Compac with Zadig (but not installing the WinUSB driver again), but I'm still getting the same error message in BFGminer.
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 05, 2016, 05:27:19 PM
 #1914

the tool is NOT used for BFGMiner and you must remove Zadig and reinstall the Silabs cp210x driver for BFGMiner to work with USB devices.
You do not remove Zadig, it doesn't even get "installed", it's just a stand alone executable.  If you zadig'd a compac but want to use it with bfgminer now you need to unplug the stick and then go to device manager and turn on hidden devices and then delete the usb stick from the device list.  Then just plug it back in and you are good to go with bfg.
sidetrax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 05, 2016, 09:16:55 PM
 #1915

Hey there,

I kind of have a problem with my stick (don't know whether it is me or the stick Tongue ).
I'm using
- BFGMiner 5.4.1 on Mac OS X 10.11.4. Binary is from FabulousPanda.
- Anker 7-Port with a max of 3000mA output.
- 2 small fans for cooling (should be more than enough)

I'm using the following command to fire up BFGMiner:
./bfgminer -o stratum+tcp://uk1.ghash.io:3333 --set compac:clock=x0c03 -u xxxxxxx.worker1 -p xxxxxxxx

The problem is I can't go higher with the frequency. Adjusting the voltage does not help anything.
If I go higher than 156 Hz, after about a minute the stick becomes unresponsive (no blue light anymore), BFGMiner slowly drops the Gh/s.
Tried this with max voltage. Decreasing the voltage at 156 Hz increases hardware errors, but stick continues to work.

Am I doing anything else wrong?

Thanks for any help.
I looked through most of the thread and used google but did not quite find the solution.
Pointing me in the right direction, or answer is most appreciated. ;-)
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1258

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 05, 2016, 09:25:08 PM
 #1916

I'm pretty sure that bfgminer suport decimal freq, not hex.
5.4.0+ bfg supports decimal frequencies, 5.3.0 still used hex, so unless he's building an old version yes, it should be decimal.

Probably somewhere to start. It's weird to me how many people still try and use hex for compac clock with BFG though it hasn't been in there for over six months.

If you start BFG without setting the compac clock, what happens? It should default to 225MHz.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
sidetrax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 05, 2016, 09:33:59 PM
 #1917

Thanks for your reply.
Yes, you are right. I read about the hex-dec-thing today but didn't have a chance to try it yet.

When starting BFG without clock settings, it has the same behaviour I just mentioned.
Stick becomes unresponsive. Have to disconnect power and reconnect it.
It runs for about a minute and 20 secs...
Second try: 1 min 8 secs...
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1258

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 05, 2016, 10:13:51 PM
 #1918

Weird. Sounds heat-related.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
sidetrax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 06, 2016, 11:17:30 AM
 #1919

Unfortunately not heat-related.

At work I checked with a heat sensor. It does not go beyond 5-10 degrees above room temperature (heat sink).
I removed the heat sink and it stays at 45 °C (113 °F) (mesured directly at the chip.

1 min 20 secs. That's the reproducible time at 200 MHz, when the stick becomes unresponsive...
kahir
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 08, 2016, 09:53:40 AM
 #1920

I am really trying to closely watch this thread for nix scripts, (Debian seems popular on OLD notebooks which I have many so no Pi for me) but apologies real life is my priority .. I do intend to run cgminer/BFGMiner under windows and Ubuntu.. well.. soonish
Pages: « 1 ... 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 [96] 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!