Bitcoin Forum
November 16, 2018, 11:20:05 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 [100] 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 265877 times)
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 27, 2016, 03:22:45 PM
 #1981

Make sure to keep the heatsinks adequately cooled. When I've tested sticks at 300MHz they were usually stable at 6.7-7W draw. The current demand actually increases as the chip temperature increases, so the cooler you keep them the easier it is to keep them cool.

Ive got a usb fan on it aswell. I did notice the current draw increase as the temp went up. Voltage dropped more aswell. So far shes stable at 275m so ill leave her there for the time being.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
1542410405
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542410405

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542410405
Reply with quote  #2

1542410405
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542410405
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542410405

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542410405
Reply with quote  #2

1542410405
Report to moderator
1542410405
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542410405

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542410405
Reply with quote  #2

1542410405
Report to moderator
1542410405
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542410405

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542410405
Reply with quote  #2

1542410405
Report to moderator
Jake36
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 331
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 27, 2016, 10:51:27 PM
 #1982

Got the new voltage regulator circuit board today and hooked it up. Set it at 5v and now the gekko is getting 4.89v from the Y cable. Now happily running at 310m after a couple of plug/unplugs  Smiley
Congrats, sounds good Smiley!
Can you share some pics of your setup?

andY

I would but it seems to have thrown its toys out of the pram and now struggles to stay at 275m.  Has anyone had better luck with it running off a raspi? Im considering getting one so I don't have my laptop on all the time. The only other mining gear I have is an old R-Box 100ghs. The raspi could do both I assume aslong as its got the externally powered hub for the gecko?

Mine have been running on a Pi 2-B since the first batch went on sale. Only played around with different PSU and hubs.

Only thing I do now is reboot the Pi about once a week and update it (which it's about time to do now).
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1923
Merit: 1079


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
May 27, 2016, 11:01:41 PM
 #1983

Im running on a rPi B (not the "2"). heck I never reboot it, maybe every couple months I update its OS. pretty much I just ignore it. use kanos api in cgminer-gekko to check mining stats from whatever networked device im on at the time.

pretty bulletproof setup with 5 compacs on superbpag 70 watt hub. hub lays down on its side so the compacs are horizontal with a 140mm fan just laying on top.
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 28, 2016, 12:03:52 PM
 #1984

Sounds good to me. Now I've just got to build the gekko version of cgminer on a pi that can do the gekko and rbox. Not exactly my fortay. I've checked out YouTube videos and they are all using cgminer 3.8.0 or something like that.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1258

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 28, 2016, 03:32:09 PM
 #1985

All the info you should need is in the README file in the folder with the source code and whatnot. It's a mostly automated process requiring only a few commands. Early in this thread there's a step-by-step; the main difference will be you'll want --enable-icarus as well as --enable-gekko when you get to that part.


Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 28, 2016, 04:08:59 PM
 #1986

Super thanks guys. Ill get a raspi ordered and see what happens  Roll Eyes

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
klintay
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1595
Merit: 1011

I thought we all equal -_-


View Profile
May 29, 2016, 01:40:18 PM
 #1987

If you want to go big, grab the 49-port EyeBoot. I was given one to test sticks with in exchange for pictures and endorsement, and folks who know me know I won't endorse something I don't believe is actually good. It's actually good. I test sticks in batches of 25 at 200MHz which means in the neighborhood of 20A running through it and never have problems.

If you're going less big, this thread is full of hub reviews but you gotta do a bit of searching. I hear the name "Superbpag" come up a lot though. Phil's a good resource for hub info.

Sticks are still available from resellers. HolyBitcoin and ASICPuppy are about to get fresh stock, and if you're in Europe bitshopper.de should still have some of his.

thanks for the shout out, the best place to buy a 49 port usb hub, if you are in USA (just for the sake of shipping speed), is via Amazon here:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00JCA4ARS

Otherwise pick them up here:

http://www.eyeboot.com/

EYE




██████████

████
████
█████████
███████
███████
█████
█████████
█████████
BOOT
   Online Mining Hardware Store   
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
Industrial-Grade USB HubsBTC/LTC MinersPower SuppliesAdapter Cables

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Contact Us Now
rockmoney
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 346
Merit: 251


★777Coin.com★ Fun BTC Casino!


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2016, 07:55:29 PM
 #1988

I recently ordered 2 of the new GreenMiners (along with a powered USB 3.0 10-Port Hub) from Amazon and have had them for a few days now. Even though I am most definitely a noob, the GreenMiners should have come with some sort of instructions (even if it was just a link to this Forum)! Luckily, I am not a complete idiot when it comes to computers (but am a complete noob to mining bitcoin & ASIC USB Miners), & I was able to find this support Thread on my own.

For Newbies like myself:
I downloaded the recommended version of CGMiner (found on page 1 of this Thread) & started mining on a pool that I had previously mined on years ago with my CPU/GPU. I was very frustrated that my hash rates were maxing out at only 7 GH/s per stick, especially when they were advertised on Amazon to do much higher rates. Today, I FINALLY learned how to change the frequencies via a simple .bat file created with Notepad, & am now getting MUCH higher hash rates! In case anyone else (like me) is wondering how to do this, it is very simple - use Notepad to create a new file & add the following (leave the quotation marks & all x's out): "cgminer.exe -o stratum+tcp://xxxURLofYourPoolxxx -u xxxYourUsername.worker1xxx --compac-freq xxx225xxx". Once you have input all of your necessary information, save the file as (again, leave the quotation marks out): "cgminer.bat", (be sure to save it in the same folder where you installed CGMiner). Lastly, right-click on the file you just made (cgminer.bat), & send it to Desktop (basically creating a shortcut on your desktop for quick startups). Now, make sure you have closed CGMiner if you were mining during that process, find the shortcut you created on your desktop, double click on it & CGMiner will now open automatically using the credentials from the file you created (making it so you don't have to manually enter the URL of your pool or your username either). After playing around with the frequencies, I am happy to say I am now extremely satisfied with my current hash rates (to adjust the frequency, just right click on the shortcut cgminer.bat, click "edit", change them to whatever, save the file, & then relaunch)! I found the best, most stable hash rates with the potentiometer set at approximately 12 o'clock & the frequency at 225-250 MHZ - I did have them running a bit higher, but the units became extremely hot so I lowered everything a bit. Anyway, great product (minus the existence of instructions), & I posted a screenshot showing my current stats running both sticks!

EDIT: (Made original Post into a couple of paragraphs for the haters - Will wait to leave Amazon Feedback for purchase after reading some of the replies from Sr. Members, when I made it clear I was a noob - Went out & bought a great little USB Powered fan - Turned the frequency up to 325 MHZ, turned potentiometer slightly to right on each stick, & am now getting 17-18 MH/s as reflected in new screenshot)


aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1004


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 12:06:14 AM
 #1989

i read it.. he is saying that he bought the sticks from amazon and had NO idea how they worked.. by chance he found this thread and got them working..

he is basically saying they kick ass.. but we already knew that.
Ariaumbra
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 07, 2016, 07:34:43 AM
 #1990

Hello,
Ive got a problem with my stick, actually the stick is new but i cant manage to set it up on my windows 7 x64
Im new to mining so i dont know much about it. I tryied with the bfgminer v5.4.2 but it wont detect the stick. Ive installed the driver WinUsb, in windows devices it said that the device is working properlly. The stick is plugged to a stock usb on my laptop ive set the clock rate on 150Mhz using the hex code but not sure if i set the voltage right. If someone could make a step by step guide that i can use to set it up. Thanks in advance
andymanone
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 432
Merit: 250


Save the past & use the future ©


View Profile
June 07, 2016, 08:44:43 AM
 #1991

Hello,
Ive got a problem with my stick, actually the stick is new but i cant manage to set it up on my windows 7 x64
Im new to mining so i dont know much about it. I tryied with the bfgminer v5.4.2 but it wont detect the stick. Ive installed the driver WinUsb, in windows devices it said that the device is working properlly. The stick is plugged to a stock usb on my laptop ive set the clock rate on 150Mhz using the hex code but not sure if i set the voltage right. If someone could make a step by step guide that i can use to set it up. Thanks in advance
Hi Ariaumbra,

Why don´t you use novaks CGminer?
It´s optimized for our Gekkos and works perfectly with Windows 7/8/10 (32/64Bit@32Bit mode)

-> Howto setup cgminer:

The Voltage value isn´t relevant for a clockrate about 150MHz,
only at higer frequencies you have to screw up the Vcore.

If you need any further help, feel free to ask us...

Cheers,
andY

#Compare your share!# Join the community and be a member of http://www.gekkorun.de today! Open for all Antrouter R1, Gekkoscience Compac, 2PAC and sidehack´s coming soon Bitfury Asic Miners!
Notice: gekkorun 2.0 goes offline in 10/07/18 (and will be not longer supported anymore)

My previous ANTR1/Gekko Tuning success: Ant R1=500MHz@0.96V@27,66GH/s / Gekko=475MHz@0.9V /stable 450MHz/0.88V@23,78GH/s
Ariaumbra
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 07, 2016, 10:32:47 AM
 #1992

Hello,
Ive got a problem with my stick, actually the stick is new but i cant manage to set it up on my windows 7 x64
Im new to mining so i dont know much about it. I tryied with the bfgminer v5.4.2 but it wont detect the stick. Ive installed the driver WinUsb, in windows devices it said that the device is working properlly. The stick is plugged to a stock usb on my laptop ive set the clock rate on 150Mhz using the hex code but not sure if i set the voltage right. If someone could make a step by step guide that i can use to set it up. Thanks in advance
Hi Ariaumbra,

Why don´t you use novaks CGminer?
It´s optimized for our Gekkos and works perfectly with Windows 7/8/10 (32/64Bit@32Bit mode)

-> Howto setup cgminer:

The Voltage value isn´t relevant for a clockrate about 150MHz,
only at higer frequencies you have to screw up the Vcore.

If you need any further help, feel free to ask us...

Cheers,
andY
Ive allready screwed up the vcore acording to the picture ive found on this forum if im correct it should be at 0.5v
Downloaded the software i have cgminer gekko from novak but when i run it i get the error "the program was unable to run properly" n then it closes. Atm i am at work when home will post a pic of the Vcore and try to find solution for the error i get. I think its 0x000007 not sure how many zeros.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1258

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 07, 2016, 12:53:09 PM
 #1993

Have you read through the first page of this thread?

BFG doesn't require WinUSB driver, and for the hundredth time 5.4.2 doesn't use hex for the frequency.

The cgminer-gekko Windows download is missing about an 8MB DLL file that can be copied over from a stock cgminer download or elsewhere. That info's in here too.

If your stick is set at 0.5V that means it's broken. It should probably be set more like 0.65V, and the entire adjustment range is from 0.55 to 0.8

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Ariaumbra
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 07, 2016, 02:22:13 PM
 #1994

Thank you, didnt know that the miner is missing files.
About the voltage im not sure exaclly how its set there was a picture at the first coupke of pages with the blue and red lines ive set it as the blue line. I will try to measure it or just set it in between the blue and the red then it should be 0.65v or ill find a way to meassure it all tho stock setup of voltage wasnt as the picture showed i guess if its broken windows woukdnt show it in the devices. I think it should work now Smiley
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1258

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 07, 2016, 02:37:15 PM
 #1995

If it picks up in cgminer-gekko but doesn't mine (or spits only errors), start turning the voltage knob clockwise to increase the voltage. At some point it should level out. Take a moment to go over the troubleshooting tips in the first post.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
philbhur
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 08, 2016, 02:43:52 PM
 #1996

Hi,

great job, but is alway not easy to find exactly answer for our specific trouble...then

i buy this stick, and i try to use it with bfgminer ans slushpool. It work but in Manage Device, sometime it indicate AMU0, sometime it reconize like CBM0...... it strange!!

maybe i need something special in command line but i don't now if it necessary. other trouble, it seem to be "stopped" randomly

i use this command line :

c:\bfgminer\bfgminer -o stratum+tcp://eu.stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u MyUserName.worker1 -p X

must i use something else in my command line? I use default speed, i don't change anything on hardware potentiometer
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 09, 2016, 09:27:23 PM
 #1997

So I've finally got my raspi3 up and running with some rboxs connected. Managed to get cgminer-gekko working and it's picking up the gekko but for some reason it won't hash above 250m I've got enough power going to it through a Y cable connected to a powered hub and a buck converter connected to a 12v breakout board. The blurple (blue/purple) led will flash a couple of times and the amps will rise to around 0.9a then fall and stop hashing. Once it's going at 250m it pulls 1.3a @ 4.83v.

Even set at 255m it won't have any of it. I have noticed that the green led pulses slightly when I try and go above 250m.

Is all this related to the raspi as I have had it upto 275m on Windows with only minor problems.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1004


View Profile
June 09, 2016, 10:28:24 PM
 #1998

So I've finally got my raspi3 up and running with some rboxs connected. Managed to get cgminer-gekko working and it's picking up the gekko but for some reason it won't hash above 250m I've got enough power going to it through a Y cable connected to a powered hub and a buck converter connected to a 12v breakout board. The blurple (blue/purple) led will flash a couple of times and the amps will rise to around 0.9a then fall and stop hashing. Once it's going at 250m it pulls 1.3a @ 4.83v.

Even set at 255m it won't have any of it. I have noticed that the green led pulses slightly when I try and go above 250m.

Is all this related to the raspi as I have had it upto 275m on Windows with only minor problems.

sounds like you need to turn the voltage pot up just a tad..
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 10, 2016, 06:08:27 AM
 #1999

Voltage is set to the 12oclock position so around .75v when it was running it yesterday at 250m it didn't have a single reject or hw error. Just wouldn't start to hash when I turned the voltage up. Almost like it needed a jump start even though it has plenty of power.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
zyzzyva
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 10, 2016, 12:44:08 PM
 #2000

Voltage is set to the 12oclock position so around .75v when it was running it yesterday at 250m it didn't have a single reject or hw error. Just wouldn't start to hash when I turned the voltage up. Almost like it needed a jump start even though it has plenty of power.

What kind of USB hub are you using? Raspis are very picky about hubs. They usually only work with USB 2.0 hubs, although the Superbpag 3.0 hubs seem to be the one exception.
Pages: « 1 ... 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 [100] 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!