Bitcoin Forum
August 17, 2018, 02:28:05 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 [115] 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 265269 times)
MacEntyre
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
September 12, 2016, 12:55:25 PM
 #2281

Several people asked me the last days if and when I will restock:

EU Version (bitshopper.de manufactured) of GekkoScience BM1384 Compac US stick miners officially sold out.
Additional production batches not planned due to unavailability of ASICs from Bitmain.
 Angry

MacEntyre
bitshopper.de
1534472885
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534472885

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534472885
Reply with quote  #2

1534472885
Report to moderator
1534472885
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534472885

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534472885
Reply with quote  #2

1534472885
Report to moderator
1534472885
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534472885

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534472885
Reply with quote  #2

1534472885
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534472885
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534472885

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534472885
Reply with quote  #2

1534472885
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1292


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
September 12, 2016, 01:03:28 PM
 #2282

Note I have used sticks and I am selling them 


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1613901.0


will also sell the hub and the high efficiency  psu

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1125

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
September 12, 2016, 01:20:41 PM
 #2283

But if you sell the hub and PSU, what are you gonna do when a newer better stick comes out?

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1292


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
September 12, 2016, 01:24:10 PM
 #2284

But if you sell the hub and PSU, what are you gonna do when a newer better stick comes out?
 

I still have two 19 port hubs with better psu's  so I am set for the newer sticks.


I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
spazzdla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1000


View Profile
September 12, 2016, 02:32:08 PM
 #2285

Still running these sticks myself.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1080


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
September 14, 2016, 01:14:34 AM
 #2286

@ Sidehack, since this does relate to the sticks, about a point on your To-Do/In Progress list in another thread:
Quote
High power 7-port USB hub (6-24VDC, per-port current limiting adjustable to 3A), initial design

I've been thinking for a while it should be a great product for you to make/sell. Both for miners and Industrial use. Tried COTS powered hubs in our systems - terrible lifetime. Now use Tripplite's Industrial hubs. Very nice and in no respects cheap.

Per-port current limiting good idea but be sure to back that up with a self-resetting PTC 'fuse' either also per-port or at least for the incoming power.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1125

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
September 14, 2016, 01:36:29 AM
 #2287

What I'm working on right now has a manual master adjustment which means every port will have the same limit but it'll be user-determined. When any one port exceeds that limit, power for that port will be latched off until the user resets it manually - I'll have a button on there for each port, and probably a bi-color status LED. I'm not a fan of self-resetting because if the problem persists you'll just end up with something cycling until there's manual intervention anyway or something burns up and then what was the point.

I'll probably add an eighth port that's power only, for charging or fans or whatever. Looking at the same 7-port controller used in the 49-port Eyeboot hub (and a couple others I have) since I know it's decent.

I like the idea of the wide input voltage range. I'll have both a barrel jack and 6-pin for input, and the barrel jack means you could use something like a 20V laptop brick if you wanted. Course if you wanted to pull 3A per port and used a 12V brick you'd end up melting the jack like an idiot, so that's one point of concern. But idiots are gonna find a way to mess things up anyway.

Novak and I talked about building something like this over a year ago but we got sidetracked.

ZedZedNova
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 454
Merit: 258

Ooh La La, C'est Zoom!


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 04:11:08 AM
 #2288

But if you sell the hub and PSU, what are you gonna do when a newer better stick comes out?

You have another miner project going? Inquiring miners want to know.  Smiley

I'll probably add an eighth port that's power only, for charging or fans or whatever. Looking at the same 7-port controller used in the 49-port Eyeboot hub (and a couple others I have) since I know it's decent.

I like the idea of the wide input voltage range. I'll have both a barrel jack and 6-pin for input, and the barrel jack means you could use something like a 20V laptop brick if you wanted. Course if you wanted to pull 3A per port and used a 12V brick you'd end up melting the jack like an idiot, so that's one point of concern. But idiots are gonna find a way to mess things up anyway.

I'd definitely be interested in an 8-port hub.

If there is a new GekkoScience Compac USB miner with a newer hashing chip in the works, I'd be interested in that, too. My current Compac is pretty near bulletproof hashing away at 325 MHz as a lottery miner.

Cheers,

- zed

BTC mining @ ckpool.org | ckpool mining stats || ethOS GPU mining rig Stats || L3+ mining and WTT Tokens @ Giga-Watt
-=O=-
Digital Ocean is where my Masternodes run Digital Ocean Referral Link
-EOS-
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 211
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 10:54:44 AM
 #2289

+1 for being interested in a newer GekkoScience Compac USB!!!    Love those things
MCHII
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 07:36:21 PM
 #2290

Hello,

I have two gekkoscience miners. One I bought a while ago and another I recently bought. I was able to successfully run the first miner I got, but I'm having trouble with the second one.

I'm using the version of cgminer that is posted on this thread (the one that is modified for this miner). As soon as I start cgminer, I get an error saying that the miner hasn't submitted a hash for more than 10 seconds. Then I get another error saying that cgminer has tried to restart the miner, but it was unsucesfful due to the error: libusb_sucess. And this error keeps on repeating.

I've tried reinstalling the zadig drivers and have played around with the voltage dial on the miner as well as changing the .bat file configurations. This is my configuration:

cgminer.exe -o the pool I'm using -u my username -p mypassword --compac-freq 170

As I've mentioned I've played around with different clock speeds.

I'm using a powered usb hub (the same hub I used to power the first gekkominer I got). I am not plugging in the two at the same time, so I know it's not some kind of a conflict error or power issue. This miner simply won't mine even when nothing else is connected.

What can I do to fix this error? I'm literally using the exact same conditions as I did for the first gekkominer.

In addition, I noticed that on the back of the gekkominer (where the chip would be on the front side) is a brown spot, almost like a burn mark....like the chip might have been fried. I've included a picture for you guys to see. The bottom one is my original miner for comparison and the one on top is what I recently bought. Should I be concerned with this brown spot?

Here is the link: http://imgur.com/mpZbFIn

I guess my question is: Could this chip be dead? Or am I just inputting something wrong?

I would love some help!
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1125

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 07:52:10 PM
 #2291

That looks like a first-batch version and I would guess it was run very hot for a very long time. Probably the chip is toast. Who did you buy it from?

I'm assuming you've tried unplugging the stick and plugging it back in while cgminer is running. Does the stick get warm at all when it's plugged in with cgminer running? Have you looked over the troubleshooting steps in the first post, or searched the thread for advice on similar problems?

MCHII
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 08:37:58 PM
 #2292

That looks like a first-batch version and I would guess it was run very hot for a very long time. Probably the chip is toast. Who did you buy it from?

I'm assuming you've tried unplugging the stick and plugging it back in while cgminer is running. Does the stick get warm at all when it's plugged in with cgminer running? Have you looked over the troubleshooting steps in the first post, or searched the thread for advice on similar problems?

Thanks for the reply. Yes I've tried searching the forum for similar issues but found nothing. I've done just about every kind of trouble shooting including unplugging and plugging the stick in while cgminer is running.

Yes the chip does get hot when cgminer is running. What does that mean? So you basically think the chip is fried?

I got it off of ebay Sad
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1125

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 09:13:29 PM
 #2293

If the chip warms up but the LED never flashes white, I'd consider that it is hashing but the return data isn't getting back to the USB chip. That would indicate a bad solder joint on the ASIC. Or the ASIC is toast and it's just pulling power but not working. Either way, I'd first talk to the guy you bought it from and then talk to the manufacturer about fixing it.

MCHII
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 09:58:50 PM
 #2294

The manufacturer? I thought these guys were discontinued?
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1125

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 10:52:43 PM
 #2295

(I am the manufacturer)

MCHII
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 22, 2016, 12:11:22 AM
 #2296

Wow! Well this is certainly nice. If you don't mind I'll send you a pm and tell you more about what's going on.
Buchi-88
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1029


ImmVRse | Disrupting the VR industry


View Profile
September 22, 2016, 10:57:51 AM
 #2297

Is there a setting for the miner to run only passive?

https://www.bitshopper.de/shop/sha-256-miner/usb-miner-bitcoin/compac/

regards

▄▄█████▄▄
▄█████████████▄
▄███████████████████▄
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
▀███████████████████▀
▀█████████████▀
▀▀█████▀▀
 





████          ████  ███████████▄▄                                 
▀███▄        ▄███▀  █████████████▄                               
██    ▄███▄     ▄███▄      ▄███▄     ▄███▄   ████        ████            ▀████    ▄██████████▄     ▄██████████
██    ██ ██     ██ ██      ██ ██     ██ ██    ████      ████             ▄████   ██▀        ▀██   ██▀         
██   ██   ██   ██   ██    ██   ██   ██   ██   ▀███▄    ▄███▀    █████████████▀   ▀██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄    ███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
██   ██   ██   ██   ██    ██   ██   ██   ██    ████    ████     ███████████▀▀      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██▄  ███▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
██  ██     ██ ██     ██  ██     ██ ██     ██    ████  ████      ████   ████      ██▄        ▄██   ██▄         
██  ██     ▀███▀     ██  ██     ▀███▀     ██    ▀███▄▄███▀      ████    ████      ▀██████████▀     ▀██████████
████████       ████     ████                                 
██████        ████      ████                                 
 
   
 
WHITEPAPER    ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
APPLY FOR CROWDSALE
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀    BITCOINTALK
 


















 
Proud Sponsor of
Blockchain 360 at
London Tech Week
  ◢  FACEBOOK
◢  TWITTER
◢  TELEGRAM
◢  MEDIUM
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 22, 2016, 11:07:17 AM
 #2298

Wow! Well this is certainly nice. If you don't mind I'll send you a pm and tell you more about what's going on.

Have you tried starting it at a lower frequency (150m) then working it up once it's warmed up and got running? A bit shopper stick I've got took upto 10times plugging and unplugging getting the same errors you have got before it would start.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
vayvanne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215
Merit: 100

GPG ID 48298AFC


View Profile
September 29, 2016, 01:15:12 AM
 #2299

+1 for being interested in a newer GekkoScience Compac USB!!!    Love those things
+ me too
andymanone
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 430
Merit: 250


Save the past & use the future ©


View Profile
September 29, 2016, 09:34:15 AM
 #2300

Several people asked me the last days if and when I will restock:

EU Version (bitshopper.de manufactured) of GekkoScience BM1384 Compac US stick miners officially sold out.
Additional production batches not planned due to unavailability of ASICs from Bitmain.
 Angry
Not sure, if other guys was asking it before Roll Eyes, but is in the near future a new (maybe BM1387-based) USB-Miner planned?

Thanks
andY

#Compare your share!# Join the community and be a member of http://www.gekkorun.de today! Open for all Antrouter R1, Gekkoscience Compac, 2PAC and sidehack´s coming soon Bitfury Asic Miners!
Notice: gekkorun 2.0 is online now! (antrun.de will be not longer supported anymore)

My previous ANTR1/Gekko Tuning success: Ant R1=500MHz@0.96V@27,66GH/s / Gekko=475MHz@0.9V /stable 450MHz/0.88V@23,78GH/s
Pages: « 1 ... 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 [115] 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!