Bitcoin Forum
August 19, 2018, 06:22:00 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 [118] 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 265271 times)
raiding
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 22, 2016, 04:52:35 PM
 #2341

Ok, I tried.

I powered off the pi, unplugged all gekkos except one.
Then I started the pi, let it boot and waited until the gekko lightened blue.
After that I plugged in the others one at a time (I logged in via ssh on the pi first, so I could see the cgminer-screen).
But none of these were recognized. I tried plug and unplug them again, nothing happened.
Not even the cgminer-screen displayed some hotplugs or something.
1534659720
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534659720

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534659720
Reply with quote  #2

1534659720
Report to moderator
1534659720
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534659720

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534659720
Reply with quote  #2

1534659720
Report to moderator
1534659720
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534659720

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534659720
Reply with quote  #2

1534659720
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534659720
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534659720

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534659720
Reply with quote  #2

1534659720
Report to moderator
1534659720
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534659720

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534659720
Reply with quote  #2

1534659720
Report to moderator
1534659720
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534659720

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534659720
Reply with quote  #2

1534659720
Report to moderator
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 22, 2016, 04:59:59 PM
 #2342

Its very strange that it recognises one but not the other two. Try the same process again but with a different gecko to see if it gets recognised.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
raiding
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 22, 2016, 06:00:18 PM
 #2343

Exacly the same ..
I tried each of my gekkos (which were recognized, but 20% chance of libusb-error) and also tried to plug in two miners first and after that the other 2. Hotpluging seems not to work for me. Did I miss some configuration?
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 22, 2016, 07:39:55 PM
 #2344

I followed a guide on the raspberry pi forum (after googling it) but changed a couple of parts to "wget" and then unpacking the tar file from the gekkos site that's listed on the first page. Also it's running raspbian that I got from the raspi forum aswell. Not sure if you've done anything different but it works for me.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
raiding
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 22, 2016, 09:06:43 PM
 #2345

Are you using the american or european version?
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 22, 2016, 09:26:42 PM
 #2346

To be honest I'm not sure. I got it from www.raspberrypi.org

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
raiding
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 22, 2016, 11:18:50 PM
 #2347

I'm sorry: I was meaning which version of the gekko are you using Grin
zOU
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
October 23, 2016, 07:16:05 AM
 #2348

3 compac on the DLink hub ?
with Y cables ?


this hub ?;


I've had issues with this one

I'm now using this one SuperbPag 7ports, with 6 compac @300Mhs
https://www.amazon.com/Superbpag-Portable-Charger-Transfer-Samsung/dp/B013OK10YM


You may be over what the hub power can deliver.

I did a lot of attampt at running multiple compacs (I have 6 running)

I used several 10 ports USB2 hubs on RPI: worked more or less
I used a usb 3 hub for power and a usb 2 hub for data on a RPI: worked
I used a usb 3 hub for power and a usb 3 hub for data on a gibagyte Brix: worked
I'm currently using a USB 3 hub plugged in a USB 2 hub on a RPI: works


cf https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1173963.msg14582497#msg14582497

(i've since replaced the Y cables by normal cables for tidyness)

raiding
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 23, 2016, 08:08:25 AM
 #2349

Wow. Your construction looks very awesome! Nice done!!!

Just for better understanding:

You plugged in your gekkos into the usb 3 hub you'd recommend me. All of your 6 without Y-cables (so you only need one of these usb 3 hubs). Then you plugged in the data-cable of the 3 hub into a random usb 2 hub and the 2 is connected into your pi 3. Am I right?

I've bought several hubs, too ... so I want to be 100% clear, you know Wink

But I'm confused about your statement the d-link can't provide the power which is needed by the gekkos.
The hubs were also recommended to me by another user in this tread. He argued, that the hub has 2 charging-ports which can be used by the Y's to provide as much power as needed ... is there a reason in your opinion why your solution works and the d-link doesn't?
Or is the d-link just trash for mining?
zOU
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
October 23, 2016, 08:15:56 AM
 #2350

correct

compac =>USB3 Superbpag => DLINK USB2 => RPI3

at 0.77Vcore, you stick should draw 7W, that's 21W (ish) for 3.

can you hub deliver 20W ?

I can of course be very very very wrong Smiley

raiding
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 23, 2016, 11:18:58 AM
 #2351

I think you're right.

I tested the dlink with just one gekko. 200MHz unstable, 225MHz no response ..
So I think I need a 70W USB hub (unfortunately amazon isn't selling the Superpbag in my country. Hopefully I'll find it somewhere else in the www  Cheesy)

Thank you all very much for your help!!
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 23, 2016, 01:14:17 PM
 #2352

I think you're right.

I tested the dlink with just one gekko. 200MHz unstable, 225MHz no response ..
So I think I need a 70W USB hub (unfortunately amazon isn't selling the Superpbag in my country. Hopefully I'll find it somewhere else in the www  Cheesy)

Thank you all very much for your help!!

I was running the US AND EU versions on the dlink hub no problem.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1839
Merit: 1057


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
October 23, 2016, 02:21:27 PM
 #2353

my 5 compacs run on a rpi model b, stock rasbian image, with a superbpag 70 watt hub and an artic cooling usb fan on them. cgminer-gekko version, compiled from source.

i run root on the rpi and ssh into it. once in a while from cold boot all the compacs do not come up running, i just warm boot the rpi again and they usually come right up. never had to "hot plug" them.

compacs run at 300 mhz with 0.70 volts set on my mulimeter.. thats from recollection, might be wrong on that voltage though.

just listing what works for me. ymmv of course.

EDIT removed some unneeded stuff.

Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1075


View Profile
October 23, 2016, 04:13:53 PM
 #2354

I think you're right.

I tested the dlink with just one gekko. 200MHz unstable, 225MHz no response ..
So I think I need a 70W USB hub (unfortunately amazon isn't selling the Superpbag in my country. Hopefully I'll find it somewhere else in the www  Cheesy)

Thank you all very much for your help!!

Plugable hub also works with pi and compac's:
https://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Charging-Adapter-Support-Android/dp/B00L2LK164

This is a BC 1.2 device, which means that it allows up to 1.5A per slot (limited by a total of 5A/60W).
I added Y's to it and was able to run compac's on it at a very high speed with heavy cooling, of course, just for kicks.
It does not matter that it is USB 2.0, hashing is unaffected.
raiding
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2016, 08:06:51 PM
 #2355

Wow. Looks great! It's also avaiable in my country Smiley

How many gekkos are you able to run with one plugable? How much speed do you get (average) ? Does it run stable or does the pi "freeze" after a couple of days? Does it work without Y to?
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1075


View Profile
October 27, 2016, 08:55:23 PM
 #2356

Wow. Looks great! It's also avaiable in my country Smiley

How many gekkos are you able to run with one plugable? How much speed do you get (average) ? Does it run stable or does the pi "freeze" after a couple of days? Does it work without Y to?

At least three at high speed (18gh ea with arctic cooler cooling), more at lesser speed.
My recollection is that it was stable (we are talking about something that was done last winter/spring).
It works without Y's just as well. I use Y's only when I tried to do max possible hashing, which for me was 23.8HG/compac.

There is no downside to plugable, in my opinion. After you finish playing with compacs, you can use it as a high speed charger for iphone/android.
Jake-R
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 28, 2016, 04:53:12 PM
 #2357

Is another production run of these Gekko Compacs planned?
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1080


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
October 28, 2016, 05:28:21 PM
 #2358

Is another production run of these Gekko Compacs planned?
using the chips from s5's: no.
AFAIK, no more chips available to harvest for them. Sidehack used all of the last s5's I sent him and I believe 2 from someone else to finish the last batch he made.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
Jake-R
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 28, 2016, 09:01:49 PM
 #2359

Is another production run of these Gekko Compacs planned?
using the chips from s5's: no.
AFAIK, no more chips available to harvest for them. Sidehack used all of the last s5's I sent him and I believe 2 from someone else to finish the last batch he made.
I should have bought a couple when I had the chance. Hope to see a Gen 2 version now  Smiley
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1080


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
October 28, 2016, 11:58:39 PM
 #2360

Is another production run of these Gekko Compacs planned?
using the chips from s5's: no.
AFAIK, no more chips available to harvest for them. Sidehack used all of the last s5's I sent him and I believe 2 from someone else to finish the last batch he made.
I should have bought a couple when I had the chance. Hope to see a Gen 2 version now  Smiley
Gen-2 using a 14 or 16nm chip would be nice but not holding my breath there. Per Sidehack in a different thread, a full-up miner is on the plate for now.

That said, it's up to him to say ASCI-10 LF (Line Feed or in this case, end of line). Wink
I mean if someone donates a sizeable stash of s5' to him, what the heck. Got everything for making them and if folks will pay enough for them to make it worth the effort, who knows? Wink

edit: Hmm. Plus as a bonus, if the plans for a 16nm miner pan out, could use the donated s5 hulks for them. Make a deal with the donator for part of the sales, win-win. There has GOT to be a pile of them out there somewhere from commercial mines upgrading and all...

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
Pages: « 1 ... 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 [118] 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!