Bitcoin Forum
January 17, 2019, 01:56:23 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 [123] 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 265955 times)
rockmoney
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 405
Merit: 278


View Profile WWW
January 14, 2017, 07:30:41 PM
 #2441

And if you try something that destroys the miner, you are doing something very very wrong.

Sorry but I don't think that statement is true.
Out of the 5 I bought, 3 died within weeks... 2 are going strong.
All plugged into a Superbpag powered hub and all calibrated to 0.7V.

The 2 working ones are great but I'm not happy that the other 3 died for no reason and it certainly wasn't from misuse.
Cost an arm & leg with currency conversion & freight to Australia.

I'd love to know if there was anything I could do to fix or check the 3 duds.

As Sidehack already stated, cooling them with a fan makes a HUGE difference (as I read somewhere in this thread, they draw more current as the temperature increases). I have been running 3 of them 24/7 at 350MHz (and a nice fan for cooling) for a LONG time now with no major problems!

Lastly, have you tried resetting them with a thin paper clip or piece of wire via the labeled holes on the back of sticks? Directions for that are also somewhere in this thread, & in the rare instance that any of mine ever start misbehaving, putting a wire in the "GND" and "RESET" holes, plugging them in my powered USB hub, & resetting them via CGMiner ALWAYS gets them behaving like they were brand new!

From my experience, these things are bulletproof when used properly!


♠ The NEW 100Gh/s+ GekkoScience NewPac USB Stick Miner ♠
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547690183
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547690183

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547690183
Reply with quote  #2

1547690183
Report to moderator
Neoraj3-Bitnoob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 22, 2017, 07:54:15 PM
 #2442

I recently purchased GekkoScience Compac USB miner on Amazon from you.  i also downloaded the tar.gz file already.

I'm super new to Bitcoin and little new to Ubuntu 16.04.  Ubuntu is the system that I would like to use but the instructions for building Cgminer is confusing. This liink https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/README

This github page mentions this:   " If building on Ubuntu:    sudo apt-get install build-essential autoconf automake libtool pkg-config \libcurl3-dev libudev-dev "

Is that all i need to do in Ubuntu?   Or do you have a clearer set of instructions for a standard set up for Ubuntu?  Please I am very new at this and just want a standard setup (nothing special).
murasame2003
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 23, 2017, 02:15:15 PM
 #2443

I recently purchased GekkoScience Compac USB miner on Amazon from you.  i also downloaded the tar.gz file already.

I'm super new to Bitcoin and little new to Ubuntu 16.04.  Ubuntu is the system that I would like to use but the instructions for building Cgminer is confusing. This liink https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/README

This github page mentions this:   " If building on Ubuntu:    sudo apt-get install build-essential autoconf automake libtool pkg-config \libcurl3-dev libudev-dev "

Is that all i need to do in Ubuntu?   Or do you have a clearer set of instructions for a standard set up for Ubuntu?  Please I am very new at this and just want a standard setup (nothing special).


Better build of CGMiner 4.9.2 will soon be available once vh releases it with 2pac and pod supports.

For the time being, you can use https://github.com/wareck/cgminer-gekko
The above ran ok with Ubuntu 16.04. However, I had a bit of trouble keeping HW number down when running more than 3 sticks.
Good luck.
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2073
Merit: 1107


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
January 23, 2017, 02:27:06 PM
 #2444

compac support is now officially in cgminer 4.10.0

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.0

@sidehack maybe @novak can update the op with this info?
murasame2003
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 23, 2017, 02:31:42 PM
 #2445

compac support is now officially in cgminer 4.10.0

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.0

@sidehack maybe @novak can update the op with this info?

Cool. Thanks for the info.  Wink
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
January 23, 2017, 02:37:17 PM
 #2446

Nifty, I'll have to check that out and see how well it works. If it's Novak's code, it'll work okay for Compacs. If it's VH's code, it'll work well for Compacs, 2Pacs and the Biggie.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
murasame2003
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 23, 2017, 03:31:34 PM
 #2447

Nifty, I'll have to check that out and see how well it works. If it's Novak's code, it'll work okay for Compacs. If it's VH's code, it'll work well for Compacs, 2Pacs and the Biggie.

Running 4 original Compac with 4.10.0 on Pi3 right now.
Everything seems to be fine. One difference I noticed right away is how the clock speed appears on the screen.
I run the sticks with '--compac-freq 333' option. However, when cgminer starts, it shows something like 300 -> 310 -> 315 -> 320... then settles at 338 (instead of 333)

So far, it has not produced any HW, so I can't complain.
Is this how the new ramping code supposed to work?  Huh
murasame2003
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 23, 2017, 04:30:46 PM
 #2448

Well, vh clarified the question.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg17596575#msg17596575

sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
January 23, 2017, 04:48:44 PM
 #2449

If you were previously running Novak's cgminer-gekko, it's the same ramp code it always was. His code jumps the frequency up in steps to ramp up the power use, which is actually pretty twitchy if you look at the current draw - but still better than just dumping into full speed from the get-go.

VH's new code, which will be available soon for 2Pac releases (exactly when is up to him), mimics the smooth ramp routine the S5 uses. From a hardware standpoint I'm not sure what's going on since the ramp itself is implemented inside the ASICs when given some specific data, but I suspect it's actually sequentially enabling hashing cores so the current draw increases in a clean linear ramp. This was essential to make work out for proper 2Pac functionality, and is one reason why VH's driver will be better overall for the original Compac than Novak's original code.

I haven't tested the new cgminer to see how it actually behaves, maybe I'll do that today.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
gorillazilla9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 01, 2017, 11:57:32 PM
 #2450

I just purchased and installed this miner and I've gotten it to run in cgminer, however trying to mine only ever creates rejected shares with the description "Share above target". I'm completely new to cgminer (and to Bitcoin mining in general, I've been dabbling in GUI mining with Nicehash) and am totally baffled as to why this is happening or what to do about it. I've tested multiple mining pools and they all produce the same result.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 02, 2017, 12:16:15 AM
 #2451

Did you let it run for very long, or turn it off immediately? I got the same error testing 2Pacs on solo.ckpool, but after a minute or so it started accepting shares regularly. Not sure what's the cause.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1160


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
February 02, 2017, 12:25:48 AM
 #2452

Did you let it run for very long, or turn it off immediately? I got the same error testing 2Pacs on solo.ckpool, but after a minute or so it started accepting shares regularly. Not sure what's the cause.
Running under BFGminer I see the same delay with the Compac I bought from Phil with it pointed at solo.ckpool. After the delay a message is displayed saying something along the lines of "miner authorized for pool' and then the shares are accepted. Possibly the pool is verifying the send-to btc address before allowing real work to begin?

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
gorillazilla9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 02, 2017, 12:50:52 AM
Last edit: February 02, 2017, 01:14:28 AM by gorillazilla9
 #2453

Did you let it run for very long, or turn it off immediately? I got the same error testing 2Pacs on solo.ckpool, but after a minute or so it started accepting shares regularly. Not sure what's the cause.
I let it run for about a minute or two. I'll try letting it run for longer to see if there's a change.

EDIT: I've left it running for about 10-15 minutes now with no change.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1160


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
February 02, 2017, 01:35:14 AM
 #2454

Did you let it run for very long, or turn it off immediately? I got the same error testing 2Pacs on solo.ckpool, but after a minute or so it started accepting shares regularly. Not sure what's the cause.
I let it run for about a minute or two. I'll try letting it run for longer to see if there's a change.

EDIT: I've left it running for about 10-15 minutes now with no change.
Then something else is up outside of my realm. I don't use CGminer though the new sticks look like I'll have to for them. The delay should only be a few min or less. I think with mine and BFGminer it's like a min or 2.

edit: and if you try BFG - remove the Zadig USB driver that CG requires. As I recall it and the one built into BFG do not play well together.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
gorillazilla9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 02, 2017, 02:03:49 AM
 #2455

Did you let it run for very long, or turn it off immediately? I got the same error testing 2Pacs on solo.ckpool, but after a minute or so it started accepting shares regularly. Not sure what's the cause.
I let it run for about a minute or two. I'll try letting it run for longer to see if there's a change.

EDIT: I've left it running for about 10-15 minutes now with no change.
Then something else is up outside of my realm. I don't use CGminer though the new sticks look like I'll have to for them. The delay should only be a few min or less. I think with mine and BFGminer it's like a min or 2.

edit: and if you try BFG - remove the Zadig USB driver that CG requires. As I recall it and the one built into BFG do not play well together.
I let it run in BFG for a little bit and got one share to go through so far, which is better than I've done in the last 5-6 hours of trying to troubleshoot so thank you Grin
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1160


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
February 02, 2017, 02:13:52 AM
 #2456

Yer welcome.
With BFG you can play with clock speed on the fly. Press M for manage device, C for clock speed. With mine and a tiny fan blowing on it I use 317. Press enter to escape and all done. Let it run for a bit and play with speed (higher) until you are still comfortable with HW error rate and temp.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
gorillazilla9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 02, 2017, 02:25:06 AM
Last edit: February 02, 2017, 02:36:06 AM by gorillazilla9
 #2457

I think the one accepted share was a fluke. It's only sent one other accepted share and is reading 0.00GH/s. Here's a screenshot.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/5ko7f3wzre25x2n/Capture.JPG?dl=0

EDIT: After ten minutes it started operating normally. That's one hell of a start-up time but I'll take it over a dud unit.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1160


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
February 02, 2017, 02:50:01 AM
Last edit: February 02, 2017, 03:07:08 AM by NotFuzzyWarm
 #2458

I think the one accepted share was a fluke. It's only sent one other accepted share and is reading 0.00GH/s. Here's a screenshot.
<snip>
EDIT: After ten minutes it started operating normally. That's one hell of a start-up time but I'll take it over a dud unit.
Well once running, play with speed. Mine is at work but methinks 317MHz gives at least 12GHs for last number. Over a day or so of running the 1st number (highest) is around 19.6 or so. Check the OP for speeds that can be used without a fan or high power hub.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
hurricandave
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 945
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 02, 2017, 03:14:02 AM
 #2459

You guys are overlooking the stats. He is mining to a pool that has set the MINUMUM Share difficulty over 2000.  Many pools won't lower the Min until you hit it at least once. His miners BEST SHARE so far in the screenshot is 75. He's got a ways to go. Now some pools will start hiding work if you don't submit a valid share fast enough, while others will begin lowering diff after a certain amount of time. What mmpool's strategy is I wouldn't know because I've not used it. The message "Share Above Target" really means that your miner submitted work that is not above the minimum share difficulty ie. 1/1 and 2/1 when what you need at mmpool was at least 2.5k/2.5k Diff.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 02, 2017, 03:39:35 AM
 #2460

That's not a general-case truth. I see that error on solo.ckpool with a suggest-diff 4, it calls "share above target" for all submitted shares initially (and all submitted shares are at least diff 4, which the pool is asking for). I also don't see that error on Eligius with an initial diff of 4096 when the stick is only submitting a couple shares an hour.
Seems like "share above target" for a share not above target is a really poorly named error message, so either I'm misunderstanding your explanation or it's incorrect.

Also, admittedly, I've never used BFG. The only time I've ever seen "share above target" was on VH's cgminer fork when mining at ckpool. I don't know how BFG behaves. And honestly anymore I recommend VH's cgminer as outlined in the 2Pac thread; Novak's original Compac code was a rehash of the Icarus driver, and the BFG driver isn't much different, but VH's Gekko driver for cgminer is fully custom-built and handles the sticks much better overall.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Pages: « 1 ... 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 [123] 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!