Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 10:25:43 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What do you think about this miner?  (Read 1012 times)
lightenx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
September 19, 2015, 10:21:18 AM
 #1

What do you think about this miner? How can I mine with it?
ebay
1512987943
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512987943

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512987943
Reply with quote  #2

1512987943
Report to moderator
1512987943
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512987943

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512987943
Reply with quote  #2

1512987943
Report to moderator
1512987943
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512987943

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512987943
Reply with quote  #2

1512987943
Report to moderator
"I'm sure that in 20 years there will either be very large transaction volume or no volume." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1512987943
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512987943

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512987943
Reply with quote  #2

1512987943
Report to moderator
1512987943
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512987943

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512987943
Reply with quote  #2

1512987943
Report to moderator
GriffinHeart
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


Hello there!


View Profile
September 19, 2015, 10:44:38 AM
 #2

It's mining bitcoin's algo on BTCguild, so it can only mine SHA-256, so therefor no altcoin such as litecoin mining... Not to mention that Antminer U3 will do the same thing speed wise and it's a known product, I haven't heard of this machine. It won't make back ROI any time soon, it's too slow (~60GH/s) to make much money these days, pretty much only a few cents a day.

TL;DR
Too slow to make money back, not well known product, wouldn't buy it personally.

Hi there, I'm from South Africa.
This means I'm poor, I guess.
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


View Profile
September 19, 2015, 11:25:42 PM
 #3

eats more than 1 watt per GHs = loss unless you have free or near-free electric.

 Waste of time and money as a general rule.
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile
September 20, 2015, 07:17:16 AM
 #4

eats more than 1 watt per GHs = loss unless you have free or near-free electric.

 Waste of time and money as a general rule.

1kw for 1 tera is way too much, one should aim at 0.5 per giga or 500 per tera

the s7 is 250w per tera currently...
tonycamp
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
September 20, 2015, 07:26:32 AM
 #5

for a starter you can calc the roi if your free eletricity it gets like 3 dollars to 4 dollars per month and than into 6 months can be payed and he workths like 5 dollars then lol

██████████    YoBit.net - Cryptocurrency Exchange
█████████    <<  ● Free Coins every 24hrs!  >>
██████████    <<  ● REGISTER NOW and GET 1000 DOGE for FREE!  >>
Mrx2002
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17

[btc]


View Profile
September 21, 2015, 07:02:08 AM
 #6

I would look for an Antminer S3 You can get them and a psu for $150 That will get you around 445Gh/s @385 Watts.

BTC 420BTC
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414



View Profile
September 21, 2015, 08:56:25 PM
 #7

What do you think about this miner? How can I mine with it?
ebay

Don't get that miner would be my advice.  I just don't think it is a great choice.

What is your electricity price?  And what is your amount you feel comparable investing?  With that we can help pick something much better for you.
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


View Profile
September 22, 2015, 08:47:21 AM
 #8

Waste of money for badly outdated stuff.
VirosaGITS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Want to save $? Use Coupon Code VOFF5 at GPUShack


View Profile
September 25, 2015, 10:04:22 PM
 #9

25$ For a 60Ghs miner?

No that's completely rip off, especially with the added 25$ shipping cost.

You should look to buy at most 25cents per GH and that at up to 0.5J/GH power efficiency. That miner fail both critera by far, thus no. No way.

Some S3's would be good if you have cheap electricity, like 0.03-0.04$/kWh, S5 if you have 0.05-0.06~ and if you have 0.08+ i wouldn't mine. Hence;

What is your electricity cost and what is your budget and also your location?

Give us that and someone will certainly give you a good recommendation.

Ethereum Mining Calculator - Simple, elegant, mobile-friendly Ethereum Mining Profitability Calculator
gpuShack mining hardware - Your one stop shop for all GPU mining related hardware! Use Coupon Code VOFF5 to save on any order.
ethOS - #ethosdistro on freenode - linux distro that mines Ethereum out-of-the-box.
Raimonn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


View Profile
September 28, 2015, 02:02:18 PM
 #10

Its an old miner, and possibly you will lost moeny with it. Before investing in miners you need to know if you can have a good price of electricity.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!