Bitcoin Forum
April 20, 2018, 02:09:39 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [Q] Antminer S2 Cooling.  (Read 444 times)
kemppis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 21, 2015, 03:26:58 PM
 #1

Hi everyone!

I'm new here and i'm willing to start mining bitcoins.
I have this "Antminer u2 ASIC USB Chip". Is cooling necessary if not overclocked?


-Thanks & Sorry.
1524190179
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524190179

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524190179
Reply with quote  #2

1524190179
Report to moderator
1524190179
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524190179

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524190179
Reply with quote  #2

1524190179
Report to moderator
1524190179
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524190179

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524190179
Reply with quote  #2

1524190179
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
ezeminer
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1062

Lie down. Have a cookie


View Profile
September 21, 2015, 04:01:01 PM
 #2

Hi everyone!

I'm new here and i'm willing to start mining bitcoins.
I have this "Antminer s2 ASIC USB Chip". Is cooling necessary if not overclocked?


-Thanks & Sorry.


Cooling is almost as necessary as the air we breathe for mining. Chips can get anywhere from 30-60C from my experience while mining.

torepia
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 21, 2015, 04:09:58 PM
 #3

Antminer S2 USB doesn't exist bro! Tongue

Is this the one you got: http://www.amazon.com/Bitmain-AntMiner-1000-SHA-256-Miner/dp/B00KH9339O ?

kemppis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 21, 2015, 04:14:02 PM
 #4

Thanks for your reply!!

Quote
Antminer S2 USB doesn't exist bro!

Is this the one you got: http://www.amazon.com/Bitmain-AntMiner-1000-SHA-256-Miner/dp/B00KH9339O ?

I'm sorry! I mean Antminer U2. Not S2.
torepia
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 21, 2015, 04:17:59 PM
 #5

You don't need a fan blowing at these, they should be OK with normal room air flow. However, cooler = better. So it won't hurt pointing a fan at it. If you only got one of them, don't bother with extra cooling.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!