Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 03:25:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Raspberry pi usb device limitation?  (Read 14690 times)
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1938



View Profile
November 18, 2012, 08:05:25 PM
 #61

To summarize USB usage on RPi:


... actually this should be a pre-pre- warning for those companies attempting to power  'miners' off the USB ports.


Current BFL singles don't draw any power from usb so I'm not sure why that would matter. By the way guys, Ben's outlet has the Motorola Droid Bionic Lapdock on sale for $49 today. I picked one up and I'm going to turn my pi into a cheap laptop. While the $499 list price is bull, they usually go for around $60 used so pretty good deal.

http://www.bensoutlet.com/products/motorola-droid-bionic-lapdock

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - Sidehacked S7s and 2Pacs in stock!
1508772347
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508772347

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508772347
Reply with quote  #2

1508772347
Report to moderator
1508772347
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508772347

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508772347
Reply with quote  #2

1508772347
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508772347
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508772347

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508772347
Reply with quote  #2

1508772347
Report to moderator
1508772347
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508772347

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508772347
Reply with quote  #2

1508772347
Report to moderator
1508772347
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508772347

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508772347
Reply with quote  #2

1508772347
Report to moderator
psilan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
November 19, 2012, 05:05:43 AM
 #62

I have my BFL single flying on my Pi. Just one though.
Didn't work so well unless I got a better USB charger to supply power.

dip
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1938



View Profile
November 19, 2012, 06:38:25 PM
 #63

I have my BFL single flying on my Pi. Just one though.
Didn't work so well unless I got a better USB charger to supply power.
When you say it didn't work so well with a bad power supply what happened? Did it work for a while then power off like mine? I'm not opposed to trying again with a better PS, but I've got more than one and I don't want to waste my time if there are still Com issues.

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - Sidehacked S7s and 2Pacs in stock!
psilan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
November 19, 2012, 07:02:55 PM
 #64

I have my BFL single flying on my Pi. Just one though.
Didn't work so well unless I got a better USB charger to supply power.
When you say it didn't work so well with a bad power supply what happened? Did it work for a while then power off like mine? I'm not opposed to trying again with a better PS, but I've got more than one and I don't want to waste my time if there are still Com issues.

I would say the USB/Network was failing.
Using wireless USB or network port it would become unpingable. I would have to power cycle. The Pi would still be on.

dip
hardcore-fs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile WWW
November 20, 2012, 02:14:47 AM
 #65

I have my BFL single flying on my Pi. Just one though.
Didn't work so well unless I got a better USB charger to supply power.
When you say it didn't work so well with a bad power supply what happened? Did it work for a while then power off like mine? I'm not opposed to trying again with a better PS, but I've got more than one and I don't want to waste my time if there are still Com issues.

I would say the USB/Network was failing.
Using wireless USB or network port it would become unpingable. I would have to power cycle. The Pi would still be on.

sounds like the hangup issue of the USB... Since the Networking infrastructure WIFI is routed via the same protocol.

It is something that pisses me off, if you look at MANY of the WIFI/Network chips, they state they are 10/100 'compatible'
Yes they ARE.... BUT what they DON'T tell you is that they then interface it to a USB V1.0 core(cheaper IP), before bringing it to the outside of the Network/USB interface chip, which means you can get about 5mbs out of a 100Base before you bottle neck the chips.

(this is NOT the RPi issue, its something related to the shitty little cheap USB pluggable devices for $5.00)

So you have an ARM/cortex device capable of shit hot processing, BUT then the network is tied to 5mbs with some shittly little Asian chip.
Really you are fucking yourself before you start.., ESP. if you are on a hub.


BTC:1PCTzvkZUFuUF7DA6aMEVjBUUp35wN5JtF
Fcx35x10
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
November 21, 2012, 06:36:16 PM
 #66

i received notice on my 512 RPI shipment yesterday Tongue

i'm curious to test my MMQ with the RPI

I have my BFL single flying on my Pi. Just one though.
Didn't work so well unless I got a better USB charger to supply power.
When you say it didn't work so well with a bad power supply what happened? Did it work for a while then power off like mine? I'm not opposed to trying again with a better PS, but I've got more than one and I don't want to waste my time if there are still Com issues.

I would say the USB/Network was failing.
Using wireless USB or network port it would become unpingable. I would have to power cycle. The Pi would still be on.

which OS were you using?
psilan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
November 21, 2012, 07:20:32 PM
 #67

http://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads
Raspbian “wheezy”

Again, all my issues solved with a proper power supply source for the Pi.

dip
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1938



View Profile
November 21, 2012, 08:09:35 PM
 #68

Which power supply are you using?

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - Sidehacked S7s and 2Pacs in stock!
psilan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
November 21, 2012, 08:10:18 PM
 #69

An HTC Sensation charger.

dip
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
November 25, 2012, 01:17:12 AM
 #70

I thought this post from another thread was pretty interesting:

I drive around 80 FPGAs from a Rasp Pi, you need to do this (bridge polyfuses and add low ESR[ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Equivalent_series_resistance] cap to /Vdd - Vss/ output USB port [nichicon/os-con]:
http://theiopage.blogspot.nl/)
Since I did that hack everything went smooth and cool, before it was a nightmare.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
beekeeper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


LTC


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2012, 01:23:44 AM
 #71

I thought this post from another thread was pretty interesting:

I drive around 80 FPGAs from a Rasp Pi, you need to do this (bridge polyfuses and add low ESR[ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Equivalent_series_resistance] cap to /Vdd - Vss/ output USB port [nichicon/os-con]:
http://theiopage.blogspot.nl/)
Since I did that hack everything went smooth and cool, before it was a nightmare.
Man, it is tested and verified, just one example, 70 fpgas, one 8 bees controller is out, e.g.:
Quote
...@raspberrypi ~/m5 $ ./as
start_time (unix time)=1353803823.686, elapsed_time=2521.778 secs
accepted_works=3604, rejected_works = 108, result_upload_errors=0, total=3712
active_ktrls=9, inactive_ktrls=0
total_bees=69
KTRL_LIST
ktrl=166, nr_bees=8, bee_mask=ff, stat=00, systat1=07, systat2=87, init_counts=0
ktrl=134, nr_bees=8, bee_mask=ff, stat=00, systat1=87, systat2=97, init_counts=0
ktrl=72, nr_bees=6, bee_mask=cf, stat=00, systat1=07, systat2=97, init_counts=0
ktrl=210, nr_bees=8, bee_mask=ff, stat=00, systat1=47, systat2=97, init_counts=0
ktrl=76, nr_bees=7, bee_mask=ef, stat=00, systat1=87, systat2=87, init_counts=0
ktrl=114, nr_bees=8, bee_mask=ff, stat=00, systat1=87, systat2=97, init_counts=0
ktrl=82, nr_bees=8, bee_mask=ff, stat=00, systat1=87, systat2=87, init_counts=0
ktrl=118, nr_bees=8, bee_mask=ff, stat=00, systat1=87, systat2=97, init_counts=0
ktrl=92, nr_bees=8, bee_mask=ff, stat=00, systat1=87, systat2=97, init_counts=0

25Khs at 5W Litecoin USB dongle (FPGA), 45kHs overclocked
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=310926
Litecoin FPGA shop -> http://ltcgear.com
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1938



View Profile
November 25, 2012, 09:14:53 PM
 #72

Bridging polyfuses may not be necessary with later revisions, unless input amperage needs to be raised.

http://elinux.org/Polyfuses_explained
Quote
As of the end of August 2012 some users were reporting that newly arrived PI's were fitted with 0 Ohm resistors for the USB polyfuses F1 & F2, and Liz of the RPF foundation confirmed that it was official RPF policy to remove the offending fuses. However F3 still limits the total input current to about 1A.

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - Sidehacked S7s and 2Pacs in stock!
bitboyben
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 330



View Profile
November 26, 2012, 02:45:48 AM
 #73

Bridging polyfuses may not be necessary with later revisions, unless input amperage needs to be raised.

http://elinux.org/Polyfuses_explained
Quote
As of the end of August 2012 some users were reporting that newly arrived PI's were fitted with 0 Ohm resistors for the USB polyfuses F1 & F2, and Liz of the RPF foundation confirmed that it was official RPF policy to remove the offending fuses. However F3 still limits the total input current to about 1A.

No F1 or F2 on my RPi only F3. I'm hoping I can get it to work with my incoming asics. Certified powered hub is next on my list.
It arrived this last week.

Why did I sell at $5! Come back to me my old bitcoin! 1GjeBGS4KrxKAeEVt8d1fTnuKgpKpMmL6S
If you don't like the price of BTC come back in 8 hours.
btharper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389



View Profile
November 26, 2012, 05:57:32 AM
 #74

Bridging polyfuses may not be necessary with later revisions, unless input amperage needs to be raised.

http://elinux.org/Polyfuses_explained
Quote
As of the end of August 2012 some users were reporting that newly arrived PI's were fitted with 0 Ohm resistors for the USB polyfuses F1 & F2, and Liz of the RPF foundation confirmed that it was official RPF policy to remove the offending fuses. However F3 still limits the total input current to about 1A.

No F1 or F2 on my RPi only F3. I'm hoping I can get it to work with my incoming asics. Certified powered hub is next on my list.
It arrived this last week.
Do you have anything else to stress test the USB stack with?

Is anyone in general aware if a powered hub fixes the rest of the problems?
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
November 26, 2012, 03:54:07 PM
 #75

Bridging polyfuses may not be necessary with later revisions, unless input amperage needs to be raised.

http://elinux.org/Polyfuses_explained
Quote
As of the end of August 2012 some users were reporting that newly arrived PI's were fitted with 0 Ohm resistors for the USB polyfuses F1 & F2, and Liz of the RPF foundation confirmed that it was official RPF policy to remove the offending fuses. However F3 still limits the total input current to about 1A.

No F1 or F2 on my RPi only F3. I'm hoping I can get it to work with my incoming asics. Certified powered hub is next on my list.
It arrived this last week.
Do you have anything else to stress test the USB stack with?

Is anyone in general aware if a powered hub fixes the rest of the problems?

As for my tests a powered hub does not fix the issues with usb..... It could cause problems too. Remember that thing hates feedback power over the USB cable. Only cutting the  power lanes of the USB cable helped a little. Still the device is not an option for me with my 18 Ztex boards...

kidgorgeous
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
November 26, 2012, 07:25:55 PM
 #76

I've had no problems with 2 BFL singles running through BFGMiner on my RPi, though be sure to read and install EVERYTHING for bfgminer. Its a neat little device and should handle a few more without a problem. Just make sure you have a powered USB Hub and a good power supply for your RPi.

1KHxCRniFNmS7ChiPqaewmokuCABk2PRQn
bitboyben
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 330



View Profile
November 26, 2012, 09:51:06 PM
 #77

The power for the Rpi will be from my cell charger 5v 1A.
The powered hub will not power the Rpi with my set up. As stated that can cause problems.
The other recommendation is to put both the Hub and Rpi on same power bar. IF I need to turn the RPi off the USB should also be powered down at the same time to avoid random writes.
I don't have a link but all that information is on the RPi forums/FAQs.

I don't have any FPGAs to test though... Sad

I'll try install the BFGminer today or tomorrow.

Should have bought a case with it...

Why did I sell at $5! Come back to me my old bitcoin! 1GjeBGS4KrxKAeEVt8d1fTnuKgpKpMmL6S
If you don't like the price of BTC come back in 8 hours.
beekeeper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


LTC


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2012, 01:22:43 AM
 #78

Bridging polyfuses may not be necessary with later revisions, unless input amperage needs to be raised.

http://elinux.org/Polyfuses_explained
Quote
As of the end of August 2012 some users were reporting that newly arrived PI's were fitted with 0 Ohm resistors for the USB polyfuses F1 & F2, and Liz of the RPF foundation confirmed that it was official RPF policy to remove the offending fuses. However F3 still limits the total input current to about 1A.

No F1 or F2 on my RPi only F3. I'm hoping I can get it to work with my incoming asics. Certified powered hub is next on my list.
It arrived this last week.
Do you have anything else to stress test the USB stack with?

Is anyone in general aware if a powered hub fixes the rest of the problems?

As for my tests a powered hub does not fix the issues with usb..... It could cause problems too. Remember that thing hates feedback power over the USB cable. Only cutting the  power lanes of the USB cable helped a little. Still the device is not an option for me with my 18 Ztex boards...

Are your boards bus powered?

25Khs at 5W Litecoin USB dongle (FPGA), 45kHs overclocked
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=310926
Litecoin FPGA shop -> http://ltcgear.com
Fcx35x10
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
November 27, 2012, 01:24:05 AM
 #79

i should be finally getting mines in the mail tomorrow. i probably shouldn't use a microusb + usb to wall adapter  as my power source huh?
beekeeper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


LTC


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2012, 01:37:20 AM
 #80

i should be finally getting mines in the mail tomorrow. i probably shouldn't use a microusb + usb to wall adapter  as my power source huh?
If the usb to wall adapter supplies 700mAh at least, it should be ok (according to the producer).

25Khs at 5W Litecoin USB dongle (FPGA), 45kHs overclocked
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=310926
Litecoin FPGA shop -> http://ltcgear.com
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!