Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2017, 11:51:44 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Catalyst 12.8 Gave me 40mh/s on my 7950  (Read 5326 times)
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
October 21, 2012, 01:11:35 PM
 #1

Title says it all, I upgraded to Cat 12.8 from 12.6 and i gained a magical 40mh/s
Can anyone else confirm/deny? Im most certain it was because of the SDK

Edit:
Win7x64ultimate
CAT (now) 12.8
CGminer 2.8.3
XFX 7950 Ghost, Not Double D

Edit:
The jitter problem is fixed by dropping intensity from 6 to 5.
Suuuper weird since it would run at 10 without the sound skip jitter, It would just lag

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
1508629904
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508629904

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508629904
Reply with quote  #2

1508629904
Report to moderator
1508629904
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508629904

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508629904
Reply with quote  #2

1508629904
Report to moderator
1508629904
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508629904

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508629904
Reply with quote  #2

1508629904
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508629904
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508629904

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508629904
Reply with quote  #2

1508629904
Report to moderator
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
October 21, 2012, 01:14:39 PM
 #2

Do you have a screeny?  Also what other software are you running? cgminer, bitminter etc.

It is highly questionable and most likely a glitch. I have been running 12.8 on my 7970s with normal hashing numbers.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
October 21, 2012, 01:35:28 PM
 #3

I used to get 510mh/s with intensity 10 core 1080
Now im hitting 549 with intensity 7 core 1054
http://imageshack.us/f/689/megahash.png/

Its apparently Not a glitch.. Cheesy im happy
my 24/hr earning have just kept going down and down from difficulty, So i went "time to optimize cards for winter mining" and ended up going "oh hell, Why not try cat 12.8" and Poof, 40mh gain

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Saturn7
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147



View Profile
October 21, 2012, 02:14:25 PM
 #4

My experience is that 12.8 is the buggiest version out there.

upgraded from 12.8 to 12.9 beta and went from 408mh to 432mh on a 6970 @ 970mhz.

Plus 12.8 would crash my system when i woke it up from screen saver mode while it was mining. 

First there was Fire, then Electricity, and now Bitcoins Wink
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
October 21, 2012, 03:47:48 PM
 #5

I used to get 510mh/s with intensity 10 core 1080
Now im hitting 549 with intensity 7 core 1054
http://imageshack.us/f/689/megahash.png/

Its apparently Not a glitch.. Cheesy im happy
my 24/hr earning have just kept going down and down from difficulty, So i went "time to optimize cards for winter mining" and ended up going "oh hell, Why not try cat 12.8" and Poof, 40mh gain


Well if it keeps up then good on ya!    I should have watched closer when I upgraded.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
October 21, 2012, 04:38:47 PM
 #6

My experience is that 12.8 is the buggiest version out there.

upgraded from 12.8 to 12.9 beta and went from 408mh to 432mh on a 6970 @ 970mhz.

Plus 12.8 would crash my system when i woke it up from screen saver mode while it was mining. 

I can confirm on the "buggyness" of the drivers, My game AND sound lockup briefly, Jitter style with these new drivers when gaming, Im Rebooting right now to finish installing 12.9 (i dont know or care if rebooting is neccessary, But im doing it anyways)

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 01:38:39 AM
 #7

OOOoooKaaaayy, So help me out here, Only League of Legends is stuttering, with the 12.9 drivers, But when it does, Everything including sound locksup, My whole sound system goes STICK-continue, I've never had such a seemingly harsh stutter before, And yet mining while playing BF3 is totally smooth 50fps 140mh/s

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Saturn7
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147



View Profile
October 22, 2012, 10:35:02 AM
 #8

OOOoooKaaaayy, So help me out here, Only League of Legends is stuttering, with the 12.9 drivers, But when it does, Everything including sound locksup, My whole sound system goes STICK-continue, I've never had such a seemingly harsh stutter before, And yet mining while playing BF3 is totally smooth 50fps 140mh/s

Does it still do that if you switch off mining?
Is your card overclocked?
Do you have crossfire?

Also do you have your Power control settings set to 20%+

First there was Fire, then Electricity, and now Bitcoins Wink
DobZombie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


TheBitcoinMuseum.com


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 12:50:00 PM
 #9

The 7000 series is a pain in the arse for mining.  I really wish I'd only bought 5970s.

oh well.  when its too expensive to GPU mine, I'll just have to put em in my PC and play BF3 in super duper detail Cheesy

The Bitcoin Museum is back under my control, but I still need to go through all the code. DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM IT

The Biggest Collection of Bitcoin Memorabilia The Bitcoin Museum
Series 2 BitcoinNerd 1g Silver coin thread!
Discount Jewellery! Noella Jean Jewellery



Buy premium Champanges, Spirits & Wines in Australia! My Bitmit Items

Tip Me if you Hate Justin Bieber 1DobZomBiE2gngvy6zDFKY5b76yvDbqRra
AndrewBUD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
October 22, 2012, 12:52:38 PM
 #10

12.8 gave me a lot of problems.... Mostly HD audio problems when trying to use the GPU on my LCD.



...


░░▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
███████████
███░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
███
███▄
████████▄▄
░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀███
░░░░░░░░░░███
░░░░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
███████████▀
░░▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀




░░▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
███████████
███░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
▀▀▀░░░░░░░▀▀▀


███
███

███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
████
▀▀▀




░░▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
███████████
███░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░███
███████████▀
███▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███
███
███
███
...
.................Crowdsale - Sep 29th..................
.
BLOG | TELEGRAM | TWITTER | SLACK | WHITEPAPER
DobZombie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


TheBitcoinMuseum.com


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 12:53:00 PM
 #11

Install Sapphire Trixx and check "Disable ULPS"

then install MSI afterburner.  Make sure your clock speed is reading what its meant to 800/900/1000 or whatever.

reboot, and tell us what happens

The Bitcoin Museum is back under my control, but I still need to go through all the code. DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM IT

The Biggest Collection of Bitcoin Memorabilia The Bitcoin Museum
Series 2 BitcoinNerd 1g Silver coin thread!
Discount Jewellery! Noella Jean Jewellery



Buy premium Champanges, Spirits & Wines in Australia! My Bitmit Items

Tip Me if you Hate Justin Bieber 1DobZomBiE2gngvy6zDFKY5b76yvDbqRra
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 04:41:15 PM
 #12

Im well aware of the ULPS bug every driver install i search the registry and set all "EnableULPS" to 0, And all the Crossfire issues, I have one single 7950
MSI? Yeah it's working just fine, Nothing weird or out of the ordinary, Did i mention that only Leage of Legends is Stuttering and skipping audio? And that BF3 Plays Perfectly?

Yes it's overclocked And rather gently to at that, I never touch the voltages, I drop the memory and raise the core (to a point where running intensity 13+a Furmark BURN IN test doesnt have any hiccups in the programming)
Changing the clocks to stock does nothing

I never touched the "power control setting" inside CCC because CCC sucks (or amd overdrive cataylst engine control center, Wtfever they named it)

Thankyou for helping!

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
October 22, 2012, 05:03:19 PM
 #13

The 7000 series is a pain in the arse for mining.  I really wish I'd only bought 5970s.

oh well.  when its too expensive to GPU mine, I'll just have to put em in my PC and play BF3 in super duper detail Cheesy

Orly? 620MH/s @ 160W and temps in the mid 50s? I don't remember my 5970s doing that.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Badonkadonk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
October 22, 2012, 06:28:07 PM
 #14

how can u think the 7xxx series are a pain to mine with? u must be doing it wrong Tongue

1190/685 @1.45v doing 647mh @ 76c on 7950`s using 12.9 beta drivers..  Wink

Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 08:27:43 PM
 #15

how can u think the 7xxx series are a pain to mine with? u must be doing it wrong Tongue

1190/685 @1.45v doing 647mh @ 76c on 7950`s using 12.9 beta drivers..  Wink


Gosh, You REALLY are tempting me to try and find my cards "ceiling" overclock...
What would be a good starting point for voltage increse if if my cards stock volt is 1.093v core 900, With 1070(90 if i do nothing but mine) being stable
I want my card to be nice and cozey, not having to worry about damage or lifetime reducing (beyond the expected from a non voltage change OC).

My plan was to just never increse the voltage, But im wondering if any harm is gonna come from me running it at 1.150v
And weather or not i'll gain stability at higher values, (such as game at 1100core while mining, i can do it at 1060)

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Badonkadonk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
October 22, 2012, 08:43:38 PM
 #16

how can u think the 7xxx series are a pain to mine with? u must be doing it wrong Tongue

1190/685 @1.45v doing 647mh @ 76c on 7950`s using 12.9 beta drivers..  Wink


Gosh, You REALLY are tempting me to try and find my cards "ceiling" overclock...
What would be a good starting point for voltage increse if if my cards stock volt is 1.093v core 900, With 1070(90 if i do nothing but mine) being stable
I want my card to be nice and cozey, not having to worry about damage or lifetime reducing (beyond the expected from a non voltage change OC).

My plan was to just never increse the voltage, But im wondering if any harm is gonna come from me running it at 1.150v
And weather or not i'll gain stability at higher values, (such as game at 1100core while mining, i can do it at 1060)

hehehe, if your scared of frying your card then just start slow. the above statement of mine has a typo. the voltage i set is 1.145 not 1.45 Smiley
there are loads of guides on how to overclock these cards.

when i was starting out i used http://www.guru3d.com/articles-pages/radeon_hd_7950_overclock_guide,2.html

if you have a closed case like me and more then 1 card in there i would recomend doing them 1 at a time ofc (can be selected in Afterburner settings) and see how the temp plays out on each one.
atm im running each rig with 2 cards. and the one thats closed in (meaning the fan is getting crappy airflow) is running lower clocks, the diff is about 10c.

if you only have 1 card in you can pretty safely pump up the voltage to 1.250 and set the core to 1200/625.. or just start with something a little lower,
i found that anything under 1095/685 can be run at stock voltage on my card, but all cards are different.. but like i said, the guide is pretty ez to follow Smiley

current settings for both my cards:
http://imageshack.us/f/197/mining.png/

Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 08:57:27 PM
 #17

Well then... Really? 1.25 and 1200 is feasable?
My (crappy) case has two intake fans at the front (that i put in), Two side panel outtake fans (that i dremeled on) 1 large reat outtake, 1 PCI slot cooler atop the 7950
then 1psu fan, 1gpu fan, 1cpuLCUradiator fan

hoolllly craaaaap
I didnt touch that % thingy, But bringing the volt to 1.130v gets me to 1150 stable, Giving me 600+mh/s
Temperature hovers around 82-3° wich worries me a little since the fan spins at 86%ish instead of 70%

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Badonkadonk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
October 22, 2012, 09:16:16 PM
 #18

Well then... Really? 1.25 and 1200 is feasable?
My (crappy) case has two intake fans at the front (that i put in), Two side panel outtake fans (that i dremeled on) 1 large reat outtake, 1 PCI slot cooler atop the 7950
then 1psu fan, 1gpu fan, 1cpuLCUradiator fan

ye should be able to handle it. havent heard off to manny failing failing with those settings, worst case scenario is that u get a bluescreen and you reboot with normal settings...
but like i said, start off with lower clocks and voltages, play around with your limits til you feel more confident. as long as you dont go nuts with the voltages you should be pretty safe.

u can use a tool like gputool to check for artifacts and stability in general if you are unsure.
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1383/GPUTool_Community_Technology_Preview_1.html

edit: to be able to do some voltage tuning etc u need to:


To enable the unofficial overclocking in this version it is necessary to edit the MSIAfterburner.cfg file located in the installation directory of AfterBurner (typically Program Files (x86) MSI Afterburner):


You need to alter the following:
Seek UnofficialOverclockingEULA field and add following text:
I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
Set UnofficialOverclockingMode to 1 to keep PowerPlay active (may not work on old ASICs), 2 to traditionally disable PowerPlay or to 0 to temporary disable unofficial overclocking path
Using the unofficial overclock method opens up more freedom in terms of voltages and clock ranges, it however also can open a can of worms in terms of stability or weird issues.

Unofficial means unsupported -- we grant some extra tweak options to fool around with, but in no way, manner or fashion is it supported by Guru3D.com or MSI.

Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 09:25:02 PM
 #19

Thanks for all the info.
I've gone from 1.093 and 1060core upto 1.130mv 1150core and 800core
The fan runs at 84% with 81-83° temperature. instead of 70%fan and 77°, What kind of increse in lifespan deficenecy should i expect?
A year off the cards life?
I've boosted the core by another 90mhz and the voltage by .04mv

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Badonkadonk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
October 22, 2012, 10:54:31 PM
 #20

Thanks for all the info.
I've gone from 1.093 and 1060core upto 1.130mv 1150core and 800core
The fan runs at 84% with 81-83° temperature. instead of 70%fan and 77°, What kind of increse in lifespan deficenecy should i expect?
A year off the cards life?
I've boosted the core by another 90mhz and the voltage by .04mv

i would drop the memory clock all the way down to 685 to get the temp down even further Smiley

as for the lifespan i wouldnt worry so much about it, by the time it would ware out that much you would have gotten a new card.
you can always check the manufacturer for how long your warranty is, i know atleast the xfx black edition cards are lifetime,
and if a fan blows within 2 years all manufacturers will send u a replacement

besides, its allmost asics time, run your gpu to the ground  Grin


Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!