Bitcoin Forum
October 16, 2018, 09:25:44 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: My Bitmaintech s-7 underpreforms at freq 600 + freq 550 , not freq 500 (Fixed!)  (Read 3358 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
marvykkio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000


View Profile
October 03, 2015, 06:31:40 AM
 #21

guys try to be objective in things, we all know that Chinese products are of poor quality, then we should not be surprised of the problems we encounter when we buy in China, you do not just mean the world of the miners, but all over. no offense to the Chinese.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539681944
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539681944

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539681944
Reply with quote  #2

1539681944
Report to moderator
1539681944
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539681944

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539681944
Reply with quote  #2

1539681944
Report to moderator
1539681944
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539681944

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539681944
Reply with quote  #2

1539681944
Report to moderator
RichBC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 03, 2015, 06:49:50 AM
 #22

guys try to be objective in things, we all know that Chinese products are of poor quality, then we should not be surprised of the problems we encounter when we buy in China, you do not just mean the world of the miners, but all over. no offense to the Chinese.

Well that's a bit of a sweeping generalisation.  Smiley Yes there are problems, and people make more noise when things go wrong. However I think for a piece of equipment running 24/7 dissipating 1200W with chip case temperatures of 50 Deg and often I suspect an ambient temperature greater than the Manufacturers spec, overall reliability is quite good.  Smiley

Rich

→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Hard-Disk Mineable Cryptocurrency !! B U R S T C O I N 💰 Cheap Price & Easy to Invest - CHECK IT OUT NOW! !! →→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Asset exchange, Automatic transactions, Escrow system & More !!
marvykkio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000


View Profile
October 03, 2015, 06:55:09 AM
 #23

another thing, I do not agree on the guarantee, 90 days are very short, the guarantee must be at least 365 days.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
October 03, 2015, 03:33:56 PM
 #24

another thing, I do not agree on the guarantee, 90 days are very short, the guarantee must be at least 365 days.

180 is fair.

 365 is too long.

 90 is   too short.

While you may not agree with 180 it is 2x  90.  It also allow you 5 months of mining and then sell it while under warranty.   

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sloopy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 689
Merit: 500


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=905210.msg


View Profile
October 03, 2015, 07:16:06 PM
 #25

another thing, I do not agree on the guarantee, 90 days are very short, the guarantee must be at least 365 days.

180 is fair.

 365 is too long.

 90 is   too short.

While you may not agree with 180 it is 2x  90.  It also allow you 5 months of mining and then sell it while under warranty.   

I agree with you Phil, 180 would be closer to fair. After all comparing this to a car is not fair, individual miners don't cost 10, 20, - 50+ thousand USD.
Although, I think we should see a faster jump on warranty issues under 90 days. I do not think many of us are out to screw bitmain. I simply want to get equipment which runs per spec. The smart person isn't underpowering these things because they know what problems to expect. The smart person isn't taking their $2,000 purchase and jacking up the frequency right off the bat and taking a chance it will be down. The smart person is connecting it, making sure everything is setup correctly, and mining with it.
I also think anyone with common sense would look at the overall scenarios of people and agree that bitmain is sorely hurting in the support area.

In my business we know there are some people who take advantage of us. We go above and beyond. I also know I do everything possible to make sure these are repeat customers, and I certainly make my money back on the next deal. It is not difficult. It is business.
My equipment costs hundreds of thousands so we have a scale to consider, but even then I am told almost daily we have the best support in our industry. I answer my phone 24 hours a day, 7 days per week, and our biggest clients have my direct numbers. Bitmain probably does the same at some level. We also have standard emergency lines you may call and we rotate official emergency support. If you spend 5 dollars or 500,000 you get the same support. We jump no matter what. 
This is based on one simple reason and expands from there, but people running a business should always consider the person spending 5 bucks today could be spending 500,000 at some point in the future.
We are unique in our industry. We do not have to offer this level of support to maintain our edge, but personally I could never work any other way. It is ingrained in my cells that when people need help, I help. Sure sometimes I am taken advantage of, but to me, that is the price of doing business properly.

If I ever heard an employee talking down to a customer, or, heard a customer was being ignored, even if that customer is in the wrong, that employee would go to the wood shed. I expect the same treatment from others. If I get hostile with someone, or ignore them, you better believe the culture we have created is that action would be questioned and someone would immediately step in and handle it.

I mentioned this in another of my posts yesterday, it very much is a cultural difference in the approach to doing business, but, it should not be this way.

I work with many customers in mexico, and it is their culture to do what I would call screw you over the first time around. When we submit an invoice they usually do not pay right away, and try to get out of some or all of the payment, but when we call and explain things  and go through the "Rig a more O" then they pay no problem. It is the way they handle their business with each other, and everyone else and that is why international rates are higher. Some countries do business this way.

I said all of this to say, one person's being screwed over is another's way of doing business and how they were taught. A 90 day warranty from me is always going to mean a helluva lot more than a 90 day warranty from bitmain for the exact same price of equipment. This is due to a cultural issue. It starts at the top of the business. It is how the business is structured.

Here is another comparison I think everyone will more likely agree with. Look at Sidehack and Novac and our lovely compac. Gekko Science were straight up about delivery. What they expected, and told us along the way when things did or didn't happen. Now I understand that detailed level of transparency cannot be achieved  due to some business models, but the fact that they said when things were on time, or when something was late is huge compared to bitmain. Sidehack has it right. Take a warranty claim, or even an unknown and handle it head on. Drive it. OWN IT. In the end of the Compac we are lining up to throw money at Gekko Science for another project. Look at the trust he gained from this scene. Look how fast it will grow if they choose to do so.

Having those levels of morals is what I call living right, and sleeping well at night. It is night and day compared to many US companies as well. You never want your customer to feel they are out of options and have no choice but to do what you tell them. Eventually, they will have another option you are not providing. Every day look at how many people who would jump ship to an unknown manufacturer just because of the known at this moment. A US company could clean house with chips right now. However, you pay a bit more for that level of service as well. Not to mention the quality of the work, and quality control.

Someone answer this please. Would you pay $2,150 USD for a hashing / efficiency equivalent to the S7 from GekkoScience or order it for $1,800 USD from a company in China? I'm telling you it would not take long before everyone was paying more because the quality would be worlds apart. The service would be worlds apart. In the end you would make well over the price difference because your units would be worlds apart.  The people who opt for the lower cost would only do so for a mining generation. When you look at how much different the cultural ideology is there is no contest.

From the top down makes or breaks any company. The example that is set by the ownership and management team. Taking care of your customers is number 1 in any business, but even more critical in repeat business. Am I thankful Bitmain continues to sell to the public at all, yes, yes I am, but that doesn't remove my expectations to receive what I purchased. I think the expectations of a 90 day warranty here in the US means something completely different than it does in many other parts of the world where they expect to roll the dice. We expect what we were told we would receive.

It is a hard pill to swallow for some of us. Me included. But I do not see any other plausible explanation when considering my personal experiences in this community and my work life. It all points to the same core values. You either have them, or you don't.

Transaction fees go to the pools and the pools decide to pay them to the miners. Anything else, including off-chain solutions are stealing and not the way Bitcoin was intended to function.
Make the block size set by the pool. Pool = miners and they get the choice.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
October 03, 2015, 07:27:15 PM
 #26

Sloopy this has to stop.  If bitmaintech reads your posting sidehack will not get any new  chips.

 My tongue was very firmly implanted in my cheek ^


I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
valkir
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 04, 2015, 04:35:53 PM
 #27

We are currently working to get some chip.
Bitmain/Avalon/SP/KNC/Bitfury/Sfards its really hard to get some. When we will find a good company that will like to work with us, we will be able to make more gear.
If you guys have any contact let us know  Wink

██     Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to :

1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
sloopy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 689
Merit: 500


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=905210.msg


View Profile
October 04, 2015, 05:57:27 PM
 #28

Sloopy this has to stop.  If bitmaintech reads your posting sidehack will not get any new  chips.

 My tongue was very firmly implanted in my cheek ^



If only I could in some way impact the decisions and ideals of bitmain the first thing would be to get sidehack some chips.
Bitmain is partying right now anyway. They won't remember anything by next Friday  Tongue

Hell, we should all be so fortunate to have the Chinese Holiday structure. It would give more time to play with bitmain miners.

In all seriousness I give bitmain hell because I expect more from them, but I will again say at least they are bringing us a product. No matter their faults, they have kept the decision to sell something many people can use in their homes. No other prior manufacturer has done that in a long time now. Personally I didn't count the latest Avalon or Sfards units. They were not priced for mass consumption. The S7 is a bit too much for batch one, but it is something that pushes the game forward. To me the SP20 and the S5 are the only products released to do the same.

I see a poll now to push bitmain to a year warranty. That is great and all, but unless you are actually in negotiations with bitmain regarding the warranty, asking for 365 is pie in the sky. People should put efforts towards honoring the current warranty without impossible restrictions. Bitmain are never going to change the 90 day except for big boy purchases where it is used as a sales tactic.



Transaction fees go to the pools and the pools decide to pay them to the miners. Anything else, including off-chain solutions are stealing and not the way Bitcoin was intended to function.
Make the block size set by the pool. Pool = miners and they get the choice.
MinerNetwork
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
October 04, 2015, 06:40:08 PM
 #29

Sloopy this has to stop.  If bitmaintech reads your posting sidehack will not get any new  chips.

 My tongue was very firmly implanted in my cheek ^



If only I could in some way impact the decisions and ideals of bitmain the first thing would be to get sidehack some chips.
Bitmain is partying right now anyway. They won't remember anything by next Friday  Tongue

Hell, we should all be so fortunate to have the Chinese Holiday structure. It would give more time to play with bitmain miners.

In all seriousness I give bitmain hell because I expect more from them, but I will again say at least they are bringing us a product. No matter their faults, they have kept the decision to sell something many people can use in their homes. No other prior manufacturer has done that in a long time now. Personally I didn't count the latest Avalon or Sfards units. They were not priced for mass consumption. The S7 is a bit too much for batch one, but it is something that pushes the game forward. To me the SP20 and the S5 are the only products released to do the same.

I see a poll now to push bitmain to a year warranty. That is great and all, but unless you are actually in negotiations with bitmain regarding the warranty, asking for 365 is pie in the sky. People should put efforts towards honoring the current warranty without impossible restrictions. Bitmain are never going to change the 90 day except for big boy purchases where it is used as a sales tactic.



I agree with you on that, 365 days warranty is just too unrealistic right now, BitMain will not accept that no matter what, unless some pressure come directly from their competitors. However, all of their competitors: SP, KNC and BitFury have all turned to industrial mining for the rich...
valkir
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 04, 2015, 09:18:19 PM
 #30

We need to be able to work with bitmain so sidehack can get some chip. I mean bitmain want to make there gear and its ok. But they could sell chip and sidehack could make other gears.
Any company that will like to work with sidehack could be nice.
They could focus on big datacenter and big client and sell to sidehack so he could keep doing gear for home miner.  Grin

██     Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to :

1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
bradli
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 10, 2015, 11:56:32 AM
 #31

there is something going on  that is not quite right.


sometimes it just tosses errors at the 0.1100 rate  and hash drops off say 4500 vs 4800.

in my case I can do it with hard power down and then power up.  needing a soft boot to fix it.

my psu is solid 1600 evga p2  using 240 volts on a socket 2 feet away from the main box.

I do 11.94 volts after the power draw  12.07 before the power draw.

try to see if your cables drop to 11.80 or less.

some of cables is 11.8-11.9
the most of time i cant get more 4.5
i used IBM 2000 W server psu
I ve tried a few times reboot and nothing
same and pick up errors
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
October 10, 2015, 12:41:32 PM
 #32

there is something going on  that is not quite right.


sometimes it just tosses errors at the 0.1100 rate  and hash drops off say 4500 vs 4800.

in my case I can do it with hard power down and then power up.  needing a soft boot to fix it.

my psu is solid 1600 evga p2  using 240 volts on a socket 2 feet away from the main box.

I do 11.94 volts after the power draw  12.07 before the power draw.

try to see if your cables drop to 11.80 or less.

some of cables is 11.8-11.9
the most of time i cant get more 4.5
i used IBM 2000 W server psu
I ve tried a few times reboot and nothing
same and pick up errors
once you reboot
always wait an hour or two to see if it is doing well
If you can't get 4800 solid at freq 600

 try to clocks at :

593.75  it should do 8x or 4750
587.50  should do             4700
581.25  should do             4650
575.00  should do             4600

See which number is best.

Maybe you can do 593.75 and get 4750


I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
bradli
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 10, 2015, 03:00:13 PM
 #33

there is something going on  that is not quite right.


sometimes it just tosses errors at the 0.1100 rate  and hash drops off say 4500 vs 4800.

in my case I can do it with hard power down and then power up.  needing a soft boot to fix it.

my psu is solid 1600 evga p2  using 240 volts on a socket 2 feet away from the main box.

I do 11.94 volts after the power draw  12.07 before the power draw.

try to see if your cables drop to 11.80 or less.

some of cables is 11.8-11.9
the most of time i cant get more 4.5
i used IBM 2000 W server psu
I ve tried a few times reboot and nothing
same and pick up errors
once you reboot
always wait an hour or two to see if it is doing well
If you can't get 4800 solid at freq 600

 try to clocks at :

593.75  it should do 8x or 4750
587.50  should do             4700
581.25  should do             4650
575.00  should do             4600

See which number is best.

Maybe you can do 593.75 and get 4750


http://prntscr.com/8pu4r8 bad
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
October 10, 2015, 04:30:49 PM
 #34

there is something going on  that is not quite right.


sometimes it just tosses errors at the 0.1100 rate  and hash drops off say 4500 vs 4800.

in my case I can do it with hard power down and then power up.  needing a soft boot to fix it.

my psu is solid 1600 evga p2  using 240 volts on a socket 2 feet away from the main box.

I do 11.94 volts after the power draw  12.07 before the power draw.

try to see if your cables drop to 11.80 or less.

some of cables is 11.8-11.9
the most of time i cant get more 4.5
i used IBM 2000 W server psu
I ve tried a few times reboot and nothing
same and pick up errors
once you reboot
always wait an hour or two to see if it is doing well
If you can't get 4800 solid at freq 600

 try to clocks at :

593.75  it should do 8x or 4750
587.50  should do             4700
581.25  should do             4650
575.00  should do             4600

See which number is best.

Maybe you can do 593.75 and get 4750


http://prntscr.com/8pu4r8 bad

yeah I see.    it seems when the hw rates shows  .1100 or more the scores are terrible.  this is just what mine did.

  can go to system reboot  do the reboot via software and see if you get hw rate like .0100 to .0500 

 after do the reboot wait 10 minutes then check the hw rate if it is under .05 it should get better and better if it is .1100 it did not take. if it di not take drop to freq 581 try that.




I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
October 11, 2015, 04:14:00 PM
 #35

please look  at these photos :here is a single cable head if this is how your cables are  and you have 9 plugged into the 3 boards how can you or how did you measure your voltage?

so if the fix I give does not work what are your load voltages on all 9 jacks?












this is a two head pcie cable  one is loose one is plugged into the board if you measure the empty end you get a true full load measurement which is 11.96 in my case


[/quote]

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
bradli
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 11, 2015, 04:57:02 PM
 #36

http://prntscr.com/8q56up
bradli
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 11, 2015, 05:59:02 PM
 #37

http://prikachi.com/delete.php?701rq9n38n762r9qq6o3qpp5qoro2ro496
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
October 12, 2015, 04:49:16 AM
 #38

So I see 9 single headed cables that go into your s-7 from the miner.

to get proper voltage you need to measure at the plugs attached to the miner  which means probes into the top of the pcie jack.  risky to do but possible to do.

I will photo. in the morning

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
VirosaGITS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1063



View Profile
October 12, 2015, 05:14:12 AM
 #39

So I see 9 single headed cables that go into your s-7 from the miner.

to get proper voltage you need to measure at the plugs attached to the miner  which means probes into the top of the pcie jack.  risky to do but possible to do.

I will photo. in the morning
I'm not sure what you mean by using the top of the PCI-e jack, meanwhile using the PCI-e connector should be safe?;

The way i do it is just stick the pointy probes in the back of the PCI-e connector, where the wires goes in. I suppose you need some long/pointy enough probes but that should let you check the voltage that goes into the miner without risking shorting some pins.

We are the Mineority @ https://mineority.io
Currently not accepting commissions for Custom BIOS work @OhGodACompany
OhGodAnAi@gmail.com / virosabios@gmail.com
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
October 12, 2015, 05:19:23 AM
 #40

So I see 9 single headed cables that go into your s-7 from the miner.

to get proper voltage you need to measure at the plugs attached to the miner  which means probes into the top of the pcie jack.  risky to do but possible to do.

I will photo. in the morning
I'm not sure what you mean by using the top of the PCI-e jack, meanwhile using the PCI-e connector should be safe?;

The way i do it is just stick the pointy probes in the back of the PCI-e connector, where the wires goes in. I suppose you need some long/pointy enough probes but that should let you check the voltage that goes into the miner without risking shorting some pins.

yes that can work  I was going to photo it for him.

I have not seen his voltages for his machine.

 no one has shown me a correctly measured s-7  with all  jack/pcie at 11.9 that does not work  after a softboot.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!