Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 09:05:59 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: (Solved) Need help, blank screen and GPU fan at 100% after 3 month of mining  (Read 226 times)
Adynsol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 10:47:45 PM
 #1

Hi all.

Sorry if this has been asked previously, have searched here and Googled it, but, no luck.

I have a mining rig with an Asus Z270A and 4 Asus Rog Strix 1070, it has been working for around 3 months or so mining Zcash, dual Ether+Sia and Sia Coins.

A few days ago one card stoped working, I realized a few hours late and after restart it started to make some kind of "coil whine" related with the aura colours, brighter colours increased the sound, so disabled the aura, it made some weird sound, but... it's ok.

It worked again for the day and almost all night, when I weak up I got a black screen and no mining.

After 12 hours of tests have tried almost everything:

- Tried with 4 gpus, 3 gpus, 2 gpus, 1 gpus.
- Removed drivers and installed from different sources.
- Reinstalled windows.
- Changed connections.
- Removed risers and plug directly to mobo.
- Reset and upgrade bios.

And several combinations with tweaks and miners, no way, the miner (claymore and ewbf) start to mine, after a few minutes all the fans goes to 100% (or more ?) and blank screen, so I have to restart.

Finally tried a different miner, standalone Sia Coin miner and... it worked, for half an hour it run smooth, so, seems that VRam allocation is the trouble.

Tried again and set (again) the Vram to default, middle of the bar using the Asus tweak 2 software and then realized that the maximum Memory MHz that I was able to set was round to 8.400, but now, it let me to pull memory over 10.000 MHz !!!, same for CPU, over 2.000 MHz.

I droped it to minimum and it last for a long time, made a new test restarting and MHz levels appeared at the right place, but miners crashed (except siacoin).

After so many hours Im getting mad and absolutely frustrated, no idea what to test, just have 2 clues:
- It does not crash with sia coin mining but crash with Ether and Zcash.
- The tweaker displayed impossible MHz ranges.
- Every time it crash, fans are like jet engine.

Really appreciate any help or suggestion.
Thank you in advance.

-----

SOLVED.

It was the power, some kind of failure into one of the external connections with the cable that made a really strange failure that only appeared when intense VRam was used. I RMA it and after a week it runs smooth again.

Thanks all for your support.


Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511471159
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511471159

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511471159
Reply with quote  #2

1511471159
Report to moderator
Kstudio
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 11:46:50 PM
 #2

Start from scratch. Do a clean install of windows 10. if it still does it at that point then you definitely have a hardware issue.
Adynsol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 12:08:45 AM
 #3

Thanks for answering.

Did it, new install, same issue, but... can not track where is the failure to RMA.

Dont think that 4 gpu fails or 4 risers, but it doesnt seem to be a mobo fail as it crash with gpu's vram.

nshyamkrishna
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 12:21:04 AM
 #4

Thanks for answering.

Did it, new install, same issue, but... can not track where is the failure to RMA.

Dont think that 4 gpu fails or 4 risers, but it doesnt seem to be a mobo fail as it crash with gpu's vram.



I suspect power supply.
Adynsol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 12:40:57 AM
 #5

Thanks, it's a 1000 Corsair gold.

The 3 months it worked I had it with reduced power, all 4 gpu at 600 W.
Kstudio
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 02:00:00 AM
 #6

Did you test 1 gpu at a time without risers in a pci slot to verify correct operation of each gpu?
Adynsol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 09:26:04 AM
 #7

Hi, yes, fans becomes a jet in a few minutes and blank screen.

It never happends when fans are a 0%, it appears when fans start to work and may take 30 seconds or several minutes.

Thanks.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!