Bitcoin Forum
January 16, 2019, 03:06:25 AM *
News: The copper membership price will increase by about 300% around Friday.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: list of psu's that will run on 277  (Read 2652 times)
jstew
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 11, 2015, 07:17:35 PM
Last edit: January 10, 2017, 04:14:19 PM by jstew
 #1

was wondering who knows what psus will operate on 277 , since i am adding a good amount of 480/277 power

as far as i know right now
dps 850/1000w  110/220-277v
ibm 2880
dell 750
dl580 900/1300w 110/220-277v
HP 1200W Common Slot 277VAC Hot Plug Power Supply Kit (717359-B21)
HP 750W Common Slot 277VAC Hot Plug Power Supply Kit (717364-B21)
HP 500W Common Slot 277VAC Hot Plug Power Supply Kit (717362-B21)


works but is unreliable
dps 2000bb


what else can we add to the list of known to work on 277


known not to work on 277 ( what else can we add to the list that wont work on 277 )

sp10
s2
s4

possibly works on 277

its come to my attention that the sp31 has/may have 2 different models of psus one of which works/ or may work on 277
1547607985
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547607985

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547607985
Reply with quote  #2

1547607985
Report to moderator
1547607985
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547607985

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547607985
Reply with quote  #2

1547607985
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547607985
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547607985

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547607985
Reply with quote  #2

1547607985
Report to moderator
1547607985
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547607985

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547607985
Reply with quote  #2

1547607985
Report to moderator
flikflak
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 381
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 11, 2015, 07:54:14 PM
Last edit: October 11, 2015, 11:10:18 PM by flikflak
 #2

HPs 200-277V

HP 1200W Common Slot 277VAC Hot Plug Power Supply Kit (717359-B21)
HP 750W Common Slot 277VAC Hot Plug Power Supply Kit (717364-B21)
HP 500W Common Slot 277VAC Hot Plug Power Supply Kit (717362-B21)

here are the quick specs see page 16 and ff.

EDIT: 480Vac in a WYE configuration and the line to neutral voltage is 277Vac

EDIT-2: Just saw your photo porn pix, so you need a bunch of those psu's... HP 633680-001 500W are 277V and on ebay @25 bucks each -for a platinum psu not bad at all. Specs of the older ones (2013)
sloopy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=905210.msg


View Profile
October 11, 2015, 07:57:26 PM
 #3

was wondering who knows what psus will operate on 277 , since i am adding a good amount of 480/277 power

as far as i know right now
dps 2000
dps 850/1000w  110/220-277v
ibm 2880
dell 750
dl580 900/1300w 110/220-277v

what else can we add to the list of known to work on 277


known not to work on 277 ( what else can we add to the list that wont work on 277 )

sp10
sp3x
s2
s4

jstew, please forgive my inexperience with the term 277.
You mention 480/277. Is this three phase power or do you mean you are using a single phase of the three phase and it measures 277? I enjoy learning about anything electrical, and would appreciate understanding a bit more here.

Personally, I use split phase 240, which is simply two 120 which are "off phase" from each other. This is how most homes are wired in the US. I am familiar with three phase 480, but each leg would be carrying a load, unless we get into talking Delta or Wye it should be fairly consistent at 240, and of course we can have a hot leg situation. Maybe that is what you mean? You have a stinger reading 277?

Transaction fees go to the pools and the pools decide to pay them to the miners. Anything else, including off-chain solutions are stealing and not the way Bitcoin was intended to function.
Make the block size set by the pool. Pool = miners and they get the choice.
jstew
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 12, 2015, 01:25:27 AM
 #4

was wondering who knows what psus will operate on 277 , since i am adding a good amount of 480/277 power

as far as i know right now
dps 2000
dps 850/1000w  110/220-277v
ibm 2880
dell 750
dl580 900/1300w 110/220-277v

what else can we add to the list of known to work on 277


known not to work on 277 ( what else can we add to the list that wont work on 277 )

sp10
sp3x
s2
s4

jstew, please forgive my inexperience with the term 277.
You mention 480/277. Is this three phase power or do you mean you are using a single phase of the three phase and it measures 277? I enjoy learning about anything electrical, and would appreciate understanding a bit more here.

Personally, I use split phase 240, which is simply two 120 which are "off phase" from each other. This is how most homes are wired in the US. I am familiar with three phase 480, but each leg would be carrying a load, unless we get into talking Delta or Wye it should be fairly consistent at 240, and of course we can have a hot leg situation. Maybe that is what you mean? You have a stinger reading 277?


its 3phase 480 one phase to ground is 277 , im actually still learning this myself so i may not give the best explanations
jstew
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 12, 2015, 01:27:08 AM
 #5

HPs 200-277V

HP 1200W Common Slot 277VAC Hot Plug Power Supply Kit (717359-B21)
HP 750W Common Slot 277VAC Hot Plug Power Supply Kit (717364-B21)
HP 500W Common Slot 277VAC Hot Plug Power Supply Kit (717362-B21)

here are the quick specs see page 16 and ff.

EDIT: 480Vac in a WYE configuration and the line to neutral voltage is 277Vac

EDIT-2: Just saw your photo porn pix, so you need a bunch of those psu's... HP 633680-001 500W are 277V and on ebay @25 bucks each -for a platinum psu not bad at all. Specs of the older ones (2013)


all the psus i have for all the s3's neptunes, sp20s will already run on 277 , im just trying to gather a list so as i ad more hardware i can be on the lookout for other psus that work

right now i am using dry transformers to bring everything to 240 , the machines i have liek the s4's etc with built in psus will stay on the 240 , everything i have that i can move to 277 will be moved over to free up room on the 240
flikflak
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 381
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 12, 2015, 02:47:50 AM
 #6

Well, I've read myself into HP's common slot server psu's a bit, because those were the first I bought and you can get them for low on ebay. The wiring for a startup is clean an easy, there are only 2 pins to connect and even a platinum grade with a 94% efficiency is around $20-$30. I'm using 230V with 4x460W and one 1200W psu's. Used psu's above 750W and 94% efficiency are quite rare.

So you can get a lot of 500W 277V psu's with 94% efficiency and a good value/money ratio.
link

There are for sure some 80-90% efficiency psu's with >1000W for less than that.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
October 12, 2015, 02:58:21 AM
 #7

I know there are two different models of PSU that go into the SP3X. Are both known to not work on 277? It's been a while but I was talking to a friend start of this year doing hosting of SP30 gear and he was shifting some to 277V if they had the right PSU. I could be misremembering and it's entirely possible I'm wrong.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
jstew
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 12, 2015, 03:00:45 AM
 #8

I know there are two different models of PSU that go into the SP3X. Are both known to not work on 277? It's been a while but I was talking to a friend start of this year doing hosting of SP30 gear and he was shifting some to 277V if they had the right PSU. I could be misremembering and it's entirely possible I'm wrong.

i wasnt aware of the 3x having 2 different models of psu's i just had a friend who had tried to run them on 277 and he told me they wouldnt work , ill edit the first post to state the info u posted
sloopy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=905210.msg


View Profile
October 12, 2015, 03:03:33 AM
 #9

was wondering who knows what psus will operate on 277 , since i am adding a good amount of 480/277 power

as far as i know right now
dps 2000
dps 850/1000w  110/220-277v
ibm 2880
dell 750
dl580 900/1300w 110/220-277v

what else can we add to the list of known to work on 277


known not to work on 277 ( what else can we add to the list that wont work on 277 )

sp10
sp3x
s2
s4

jstew, please forgive my inexperience with the term 277.
You mention 480/277. Is this three phase power or do you mean you are using a single phase of the three phase and it measures 277? I enjoy learning about anything electrical, and would appreciate understanding a bit more here.

Personally, I use split phase 240, which is simply two 120 which are "off phase" from each other. This is how most homes are wired in the US. I am familiar with three phase 480, but each leg would be carrying a load, unless we get into talking Delta or Wye it should be fairly consistent at 240, and of course we can have a hot leg situation. Maybe that is what you mean? You have a stinger reading 277?


its 3phase 480 one phase to ground is 277 , im actually still learning this myself so i may not give the best explanations

I'm with you now, I just didn't remember it being called 277, or measuring that value, but I understand. It is my terminology mistake I'm sure, but I am with you on what you have.
If I may ask, do you have this ran to your home?

Transaction fees go to the pools and the pools decide to pay them to the miners. Anything else, including off-chain solutions are stealing and not the way Bitcoin was intended to function.
Make the block size set by the pool. Pool = miners and they get the choice.
jstew
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 12, 2015, 03:03:42 AM
 #10

Well, I've read myself into HP's common slot server psu's a bit, because those were the first I bought and you can get them for low on ebay. The wiring for a startup is clean an easy, there are only 2 pins to connect and even a platinum grade with a 94% efficiency is around $20-$30. I'm using 230V with 4x460W and one 1200W psu's. Used psu's above 750W and 94% efficiency are quite rare.

So you can get a lot of 500W 277V psu's with 94% efficiency and a good value/money ratio.
link

There are for sure some 80-90% efficiency psu's with >1000W for less than that.

thanks
jstew
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 12, 2015, 03:06:24 AM
 #11

was wondering who knows what psus will operate on 277 , since i am adding a good amount of 480/277 power

as far as i know right now
dps 2000
dps 850/1000w  110/220-277v
ibm 2880
dell 750
dl580 900/1300w 110/220-277v

what else can we add to the list of known to work on 277


known not to work on 277 ( what else can we add to the list that wont work on 277 )

sp10
sp3x
s2
s4

jstew, please forgive my inexperience with the term 277.
You mention 480/277. Is this three phase power or do you mean you are using a single phase of the three phase and it measures 277? I enjoy learning about anything electrical, and would appreciate understanding a bit more here.

Personally, I use split phase 240, which is simply two 120 which are "off phase" from each other. This is how most homes are wired in the US. I am familiar with three phase 480, but each leg would be carrying a load, unless we get into talking Delta or Wye it should be fairly consistent at 240, and of course we can have a hot leg situation. Maybe that is what you mean? You have a stinger reading 277?


its 3phase 480 one phase to ground is 277 , im actually still learning this myself so i may not give the best explanations

I'm with you now, I just didn't remember it being called 277, or measuring that value, but I understand. It is my terminology mistake I'm sure, but I am with you on what you have.
If I may ask, do you have this ran to your home?

no this is not being run in my home. i have a small farm at home and a farm in an agricultural location  with a massive amount of power, spring/summer and part of fall we routinely pull 180,000kwh 24/7 , and spikes up over 300,000kwh , i have more power then i will ever use at this location

i dont belive u can get 480v power at most residential locations
flikflak
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 381
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 12, 2015, 03:08:12 AM
 #12

I've sold my S4, but I think the boards are internally wired with the normal 6pin PCIe (GPU) plug. So changing the internal psu can also be an option to go for 277V.
jstew
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 12, 2015, 03:11:14 AM
 #13

I've sold my S4, but I think the boards are internally wired with the normal 6pin PCIe (GPU) plug. So changing the internal psu can also be an option to go for 277V.

yeah one of the s4's i just picked up has the pci-e conectors and a burnt psu , ill be running that unit on an ibm 2880w psu on 277

iirc the early s4's use lugs for getting power to the boards and after a certian batch the went to pci-e connectors , either way though u could wire up a psus for them to run them on 277
BLOCK_C
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 13, 2015, 12:01:48 AM
 #14

Energy from the wall can vary up to 10%, if there's a spike aren't you going to risk your PSUS's going nova?
jstew
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 13, 2015, 12:54:33 AM
 #15

Energy from the wall can vary up to 10%, if there's a spike aren't you going to risk your PSUS's going nova?

im having the power company adjust the voltage at the pole on the transformers so its slightly below 277 just incase of spikes , my 240v dry transformersare actually adjusted to output 256v at the outlets and all those have been just fine for the last 9 months
jstew
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 14, 2015, 07:39:01 PM
 #16

im curious as to what u guys are using for outlets on 277 , ive been using 110/120v plugs for my 240 since they are cheap and i dont have to replace my cords

for the 277 lines i came across a 10 pack of 20 amp 250v outlets for 1$ so i grabbed them to try think ill have any issues with them? they are 6-20p's
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338
Merit: 1468


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
October 14, 2015, 07:42:57 PM
 #17

im curious as to what u guys are using for outlets on 277 , ive been using 110/120v plugs for my 240 since they are cheap and i dont have to replace my cords

for the 277 lines i came across a 10 pack of 20 amp 250v outlets for 1$ so i grabbed them to try think ill have any issues with them? they are 6-20p's


not code but they should work.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
jstew
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 14, 2015, 07:46:03 PM
 #18

im curious as to what u guys are using for outlets on 277 , ive been using 110/120v plugs for my 240 since they are cheap and i dont have to replace my cords

for the 277 lines i came across a 10 pack of 20 amp 250v outlets for 1$ so i grabbed them to try think ill have any issues with them? they are 6-20p's


not code but they should work.

im aware , but i know that the 110/120 outlets will handle 220/240 just fine , just have to make sure noone plugs in a 110v device into one when its wired for 220 all mine are marked so that doesnt happen

i figured for only 1$ id give the 250v outlets a shot just to get started , eventully im going to do what they guy whos been helping me does and do big lines out to pdus so i dont have to mess with outlets and special cords

friggen 3 phase 480/277 stuff is exspensive
altcointalk14
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 632
Merit: 250



View Profile
October 14, 2015, 10:17:22 PM
 #19

S4 psu WILL run fine on 277.  Not over 300V.  It does require a slight modification.

Join the
ICO now

  █████
██████████
██████████████
██████████████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████      ██
███████████████████████████     ████████
████████████████████████    ██████████████
   ███████████████████    ████████████████████
██    ████████████      ████████████████████████
████    ████████     ███████████████████████████████
██████    ████    ████████████████████████████████████
████████          ██████████████████████████████████████
████      ████       █████████████████████████████████
██    ████████████      ████████████████████████████
    ████████████████      ██████████████████████
  ██████████████████████    █████████████████
██████████████████████████      █████████
████████████████████████████      ██
██████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████
███████████████████
███████████████
███████████
  █████
Join our
BOUNTY
altcointalk14
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 632
Merit: 250



View Profile
October 14, 2015, 10:19:28 PM
 #20

277V requires half the breaker slots that 240V does.  (If single pole = half double pole)

Join the
ICO now

  █████
██████████
██████████████
██████████████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████      ██
███████████████████████████     ████████
████████████████████████    ██████████████
   ███████████████████    ████████████████████
██    ████████████      ████████████████████████
████    ████████     ███████████████████████████████
██████    ████    ████████████████████████████████████
████████          ██████████████████████████████████████
████      ████       █████████████████████████████████
██    ████████████      ████████████████████████████
    ████████████████      ██████████████████████
  ██████████████████████    █████████████████
██████████████████████████      █████████
████████████████████████████      ██
██████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████
███████████████████
███████████████
███████████
  █████
Join our
BOUNTY
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!