Bitcoin Forum
January 30, 2023, 07:17:44 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 24.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How do I optimize my 5870 GPU for max MH/s? Overclocking safe?  (Read 5969 times)
D_Thomas (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 10



View Profile
October 24, 2012, 12:02:02 PM
Last edit: October 24, 2012, 04:20:41 PM by D_Thomas
 #1

I'm using GUIMiner with default settings. I finally got everything working with my Radeon HD 5870. I ran the AMD OverDrive utility and it lets me adjust the memory clock between 900 and 1300 MHz. That made no difference in speed so I put it down to 300 HMz. The GPU clock can be set from 600 to 900 MHz. At 900 MHz getting ~270 MH/s. I've read where people are getting 450'ish MH/s with these cards. So I downloaded AMD GPU Clock Tool and played a little with that. With clock set to 950 increased MH/s to 285. When I got much over 950 the card seems to have issues. Do you need to boost voltage to get more speed? Should I be happy with 270 MH/s with my card or is there a way to safely get in the 400 MH/s range?

I don't want to burn out the card prematurely. For now I'm sticking to just 900 MHz clock speed with the fan on manual control on high so the card stays cool.

Appreciate any tips and advice on overclocking my 5870.

Thanks!

***********************************
For random acts of kindness donations to me:
1NXNnVYnfmgWUyzGCsngbwyHQbSJGV4wCV
************************************
BitcoinCleanup.com: Learn why Bitcoin isn't bad for the environment
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1675063064
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675063064

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675063064
Reply with quote  #2

1675063064
Report to moderator
dunand
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 637
Merit: 502



View Profile
October 24, 2012, 12:12:58 PM
 #2

My 5870 generate 439Mh/s since may 2011 without issues. My settings are 950/300. Now I'm on Bamt 5 but I had similar output with phoenix.
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1064


Bitcoin is antisemitic


View Profile
October 24, 2012, 01:27:39 PM
 #3

A 5870 should hash at about 430 MH/s with a normal overclock (No overvolt). Maybe around 360 Mh/s at stock clock.

If you get 270 Mh/s you have s/t messed up, most probably the wrong drivers.
I seem to remember that the best is a combination of drivers v.11.12 and SDK from Catalyst v.11.6.
So try to perform an uninstall of your current drivers and reset, then:

Delete manually the following files:
C:\Windows\System32\amdocl64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\amdoclcl64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\OpenCL.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\amdocl.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\amdoclcl.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\OpenCL.dll

Then install first just the SDK from Catalyst v.11.6 and then just the driver from Catalyst 11.12 (don't update the SDK)

My advice is not to overclock: you will get much less heath and greater efficiency downvolting and downlocking. Look for "downvolting" with search. And definitely downclock anyway the card's memory at about 300 for even less heath and more efficiency. 

I am running from months my 5870 with this settings:
vddc= 0.960
core=830
memory=300

and my 5830s:
vddc= 0.950
core=760
memory=300

They run cool at 53-58°C with their fan at 45%. The 5870 hashes at 360, and the 5830s at 238.
Vdizz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 24, 2012, 03:11:09 PM
 #4

^^^ I'm Vdizz and i approve this message ^^^

D_Thomas - Since i know you are new to bitcoin mining i'll try to make this as simple as possible.

First off, forget about AMD GPU clock tool - if you downloaded what i think you did - that software hasn't been updated in years and i consider it unreliable.

Uninstall existing AMD driver and do this:

1) Download/Install Catalyst 12.2
http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/previous/12/Pages/radeon.aspx?os=Windows%20Vista%20-%2032-Bit%20Edition&rev=12.2

2) Download Phoenix 1.7.5 - Extract to a folder of your choice
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6458.0

3) Create a bat file in Phoenix folder - example run.bat. Here's what you need in there:
To be able to edit file extensions in Win, go to Control Panel->Foler Options->View tab->uncheck "Hide Extensions for known file types"

Phoenix.exe -u http://WorkerName:WorkerPassword@PoolServerName:Port/ -k phatk platform=0 device=0 VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=10 worksize=128 FASTLOOP=false

For now, use Catalyst to OC. Memory speed is irrelevant for mining, lower it down to minimum.

Again, this is the best way to get you going. You should get 380-420MH/s.
Let me know if you have any questions Smiley
D_Thomas (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 10



View Profile
October 24, 2012, 04:18:14 PM
 #5

Thanks for all the good info. I did have some issues getting Windows to recognize the card and installed the drivers and the SDK about 3 times. So I will clear all that out and start again from scratch and report how that impacts the numbers.

***********************************
For random acts of kindness donations to me:
1NXNnVYnfmgWUyzGCsngbwyHQbSJGV4wCV
************************************
Portnoy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1000

My money; Our Bitcoin.


View Profile
October 24, 2012, 04:20:02 PM
 #6

I get ~440 MH/s when I overclock my 5870, but I don't mine 24/7 and don't bother OC'ing anymore.
I get ~375 MH/s without overclocking.

I probably won't bother mining for much longer ( I will finally be able to get back to what I bought that card for in the first place - game development with the C4 engine.   Wink )
Instead I will be getting bitcoins every month as a dividend from the shares I bought in Havelock Investments Mining Fund

Maybe I will look to buy an asic... later... after they have proven themselves... after those companies will have to slash their prices to stay in business... after the difficulty skyrockets...   lol
D_Thomas (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 10



View Profile
October 24, 2012, 08:49:15 PM
 #7

Not having luck with Phoenix. I get the following message:

"Error: -u does not exist."

Using same user.worker info and password that works with GUIMiner but not getting past this error.

Here is what I tried:

Phoenix.exe -u http://xxxxxx.worker1:mypassword@api2.bitcoin.cz:8332/ -k phatk platform=0 device=0 VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=10 worksize=128 FASTLOOP=false

phoenix.exe -u http://xxxxxx.worker1:mypassword@api2.bitcoin.cz:8332/ -k phatk2 DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=4

***********************************
For random acts of kindness donations to me:
1NXNnVYnfmgWUyzGCsngbwyHQbSJGV4wCV
************************************
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1064


Bitcoin is antisemitic


View Profile
October 25, 2012, 11:09:34 AM
 #8

You might like to try AOCLBF. Is what I am happily using from 1 year+

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=39697.0

D_Thomas (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 10



View Profile
October 25, 2012, 04:03:09 PM
 #9

Ugh, AOCLBF doesn't support 64 bit OS now...

***********************************
For random acts of kindness donations to me:
1NXNnVYnfmgWUyzGCsngbwyHQbSJGV4wCV
************************************
D_Thomas (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 10



View Profile
October 27, 2012, 06:25:42 AM
 #10

I got GUIMiner now running at 400 MH/s. All I did was add "-v -w128 -f 1" to the "Extra flags:" box and speed jumped up from 275 MH/s to 400 MH/s. That is good enough I think for this card.  Grin

I have the card clock set to 935 and memory at 500. Temp is 65 degrees C.

***********************************
For random acts of kindness donations to me:
1NXNnVYnfmgWUyzGCsngbwyHQbSJGV4wCV
************************************
kwoody
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 454
Merit: 250


Technology and Women. Amazing.


View Profile
October 27, 2012, 08:59:13 AM
 #11

Glad you figured it out; I'm amazed nobody mentioned enabling vectoring (the -v flag). This has given you the biggest boost.
tucenaber
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 337
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 27, 2012, 09:58:48 AM
 #12

You really need to undervolt. I don't have a 5870 but on a 5850 you need to go down to 0.95V. You will not be able to overclock as much but on the other hand power consumtion stays down too which gives you maximum profitability.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!