Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:06:09 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What does this error mean?  (Read 1187 times)
Erigwino
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 02:07:49 AM
 #1

I backed up my wallet.dat file. When I double click it I get this message asking me to set a p/w. From what I understand, in order to restore my wallet I don't need to double click or enter a p/w correct? I just replace my client's wallet file with my current one? So should I just ignore this message? Here it ishttp://imgur.com/12Ghz.
1481457969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481457969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481457969
Reply with quote  #2

1481457969
Report to moderator
1481457969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481457969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481457969
Reply with quote  #2

1481457969
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. Hybrid server-assisted clients like Electrum get a lot of their network information from centralized servers, but they also check the server's results using blockchain header data. This is perhaps somewhat more secure than either server-assisted clients or header-only clients.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 02:23:16 AM
 #2

hmmm... who's going to test that one out?  not i.
Dude65535
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 02:42:03 AM
 #3

That error is not from interacting with the wallet.dat file it comes from trying to run bitcoin with the -server option enabled without having a password set. Running with the server option on and no password would mean anyone who could get past your firewall and router could spend your bitcoins. So the software does not let you do that.

1DCj8ZwGZXQqQhgv6eUEnWgsxo8BTMj3mT
Erigwino
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 02:45:11 AM
 #4

That error is not from interacting with the wallet.dat file it comes from trying to run bitcoin with the -server option enabled without having a password set. Running with the server option on and no password would mean anyone who could get past your firewall and router could spend your bitcoins. So the software does not let you do that.


thanks a lot, so how do I turn the server option off? I can't find anything to click in the client or in the gui miner.
Dude65535
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 02:53:39 AM
 #5

How are you running bitcoin normal? A shortcut? A .bat file? If either of those try double clicking directly on bitcoin.exe. If you still get the error look in the same folder where your wallet.dat file is for a file called bitcoin.conf and if it is there open it in notepad and look for a setting there.

If you don't get the error when clicking directly on bitcoin.exe check the properties of your shortcut or the contents of the .bat file. If you see some thing like C:\...\bitcoin -server remove the -server.

If you try all that and still get the error then I am out of ideas.

Edit: The reason you may of ended up with server mode on is that it is necessary in order to do solo mining with a separate mining program.

1DCj8ZwGZXQqQhgv6eUEnWgsxo8BTMj3mT
Erigwino
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 02:56:27 AM
 #6

How are you running bitcoin normal? A shortcut? A .bat file? If either of those try double clicking directly on bitcoin.exe. If you still get the error look in the same folder where your wallet.dat file is for a file called bitcoin.conf and if it is there open it in notepad and look for a setting there.

If you don't get the error when clicking directly on bitcoin.exe check the properties of your shortcut or the contents of the .bat file. If you see some thing like C:\...\bitcoin -server remove the -server.

If you try all that and still get the error then I am out of ideas.


I don't get the error when opening bitcoin.exe, just if I double click my wallet.dat file, which I shouldn't have to do, right? So I shouldn't have to worry about this error then, I think. I was just wondering if it could pose a potential problem when I try to restore my backup of wallet.dat but it asks me for a p/w which I don't have.
Dude65535
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 03:05:12 AM
 #7

ah ha I think I know what the problem is. Some how you associated .dat files with bitcoin.exe so that when you double click one windows lauches bitcoin and sends it a command to open the file. Bitcoin sees a incoming command from outside the program and checks to see if there is a password so it can know if it should follow the command. Since there is no password in the .conf file it gives you an error.

You should never have to tell bitcoin to open the wallet.dat file it will automatically find the one in the correct location. To restore a backup you just need to copy the backup to the right location while bitcoin is shut down then reopen bitcoin.

You should never need to open the wallet.dat file and if you do open it you won't use bitcoin.exe to do it, you will use a wallet editing tool.

1DCj8ZwGZXQqQhgv6eUEnWgsxo8BTMj3mT
Erigwino
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 03:15:15 AM
 #8

ah ha I think I know what the problem is. Some how you associated .dat files with bitcoin.exe so that when you double click one windows lauches bitcoin and sends it a command to open the file. Bitcoin sees a incoming command from outside the program and checks to see if there is a password so it can know if it should follow the command. Since there is no password in the .conf file it gives you an error.

You should never have to tell bitcoin to open the wallet.dat file it will automatically find the one in the correct location. To restore a backup you just need to copy the backup to the right location while bitcoin is shut down then reopen bitcoin.

You should never need to open the wallet.dat file and if you do open it you won't use bitcoin.exe to do it, you will use a wallet editing tool.


Hmm I think you are correct. I must have made that association by accident. gonna google to see if I can undo that. But the bottom line is I dont have to worry about this error, right?
Dude65535
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 03:21:33 AM
 #9

It should not be a problem

1DCj8ZwGZXQqQhgv6eUEnWgsxo8BTMj3mT
aceman1011
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 12:43:00 PM
 #10

Read this: http://www.newslobster.com/random/how-to-get-started-using-your-gpu-to-mine-for-bitcoins-on-windows

Rent my 800 + mh/s rig. PM me!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!