Bitcoin Forum
May 27, 2019, 04:42:32 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: The message body was left empty error  (Read 713 times)
Ondart
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 24, 2015, 08:53:11 PM
 #1


I need some help. I am attempting to create a new topic. It is several pages in length and it has many code examples. When I attempt to post the new topic i get the following error:

The following error or errors occurred while posting this message:
The message body was left empty.

What am I doing wrong?

-Ondart

BTC: 171t96czWbGjYrccpgDjjgsD7HS3CCG135
1558932152
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558932152

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558932152
Reply with quote  #2

1558932152
Report to moderator
1558932152
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558932152

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558932152
Reply with quote  #2

1558932152
Report to moderator
"With e-currency based on cryptographic proof, without the need to trust a third party middleman, money can be secure and transactions effortless." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1558932152
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558932152

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558932152
Reply with quote  #2

1558932152
Report to moderator
ACAB
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 636
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 24, 2015, 09:10:30 PM
 #2

You tried to post an empty message. Check your message in preview and try again.
If you lost your message check Drafts.
Ondart
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 24, 2015, 09:20:18 PM
 #3

Hey, thanks for the reply. The message title and body is not empty. It's many pages long. Something else is wrong. I have the entire post saved locally and I tried a couple of times. It just won't post. I can take a screen shot if you send me an e-mail address to prove it.

-Ondart

BTC: 171t96czWbGjYrccpgDjjgsD7HS3CCG135
ACAB
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 636
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 24, 2015, 09:23:24 PM
 #4

Try to open thread with shorter version and then edit it. If that doesn't fix your problem please post your message to an image service and maybe we can see the problem.
Ondart
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 24, 2015, 09:31:13 PM
 #5

I am attempting to post a detailed procedure on how to create a bitcoin full node running on raspberry pi and harden it for Internet access and it's all done, several weeks of work. It is 14 pages long. I can't really shorten the thread. I am not sure I understand, you want me to paste the entire 14 pages as images on an image service? Do I post it with the HTML code so you can see that? This is really annoying. I am trying to help the bitcoin community and I can't post a detailed procedure that took me three weeks to write for all to see.

BTC: 171t96czWbGjYrccpgDjjgsD7HS3CCG135
minifrij
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1151


In Memory of Zepher


View Profile WWW
October 24, 2015, 09:42:28 PM
 #6

A similar thing was reported here. It seems to have been an 'issue (since it seems to be indeed a bug) (which) will not be solved for 1.1.x line'. Since this forum runs on 1.1.19, that may be why.

Just for checking though, if your post contains any non-standard characters try copying the text into notepad and then copying it back into the message box. That seems to have fixed the problem here.

I am not sure I understand, you want me to paste the entire 14 pages as images on an image service? Do I post it with the HTML code so you can see that? This is really annoying. I am trying to help the bitcoin community and I can't post a detailed procedure that took me three weeks to write for all to see.
Post an image of your default message body and such with the error that it shows, and perhaps put the code in your post in a PasteBin or something.
ACAB
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 636
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 24, 2015, 09:53:01 PM
 #7

If it is too long why don't you split your post to 3-4 messages? Open the thread then reply your thread. Does it all really need to be in the same post?
shorena
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1308


No I dont escrow anymore.


View Profile WWW
October 24, 2015, 09:55:05 PM
 #8

I am attempting to post a detailed procedure on how to create a bitcoin full node running on raspberry pi and harden it for Internet access and it's all done, several weeks of work. It is 14 pages long. I can't really shorten the thread. I am not sure I understand, you want me to paste the entire 14 pages as images on an image service? Do I post it with the HTML code so you can see that? This is really annoying. I am trying to help the bitcoin community and I can't post a detailed procedure that took me three weeks to write for all to see.

You can lock it while you work on it (bottom left IIRC) or reserve the first few posts.
Ondart
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 24, 2015, 10:09:08 PM
 #9


Thanks for the advice, I broke it in half and was able to post it in two parts: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1219378.new#new

BTC: 171t96czWbGjYrccpgDjjgsD7HS3CCG135
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1119


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
October 24, 2015, 11:26:13 PM
 #10

Its only 12,000 characters combined so wouldn't have thought it'd cause an issue as some of my posts are 40,000.

minifrij
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1151


In Memory of Zepher


View Profile WWW
October 24, 2015, 11:38:17 PM
 #11

Its only 12,000 characters combined so wouldn't have thought it'd cause an issue as some of my posts are 40,000.
Same as one of my posts, with 22k characters.
Perhaps it has to do with elements which hold text, Code and Quote being the main ones which come to mind. Neither of our posts really contain any of either.
Some way of testing this could be useful, though it seems to just be a bug in the forum software. Hopefully it will be fixed in EpochTalk.
Zz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1068


View Profile
October 24, 2015, 11:39:32 PM
 #12

Its only 12,000 characters combined so wouldn't have thought it'd cause an issue as some of my posts are 40,000.

You are Legendary. Considering both ranks, it could be restriction for newbies.
smiletyson
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 639
Merit: 503


Blockchain with solar energy


View Profile
October 24, 2015, 11:55:57 PM
 #13

Its only 12,000 characters combined so wouldn't have thought it'd cause an issue as some of my posts are 40,000.

You are Legendary. Considering both ranks, it could be restriction for newbies.
When he opened those threads he probably wasn't legendary.

[]
▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
▄▄██████████████████▄▄
▄████████████████████████▄
▄███████▀               █████▄
▄██████▀       ▀███████   █████▄
▄█████▀  ▄    █▄   ▀██▀  ▄  █████▄
████▀  ▄██  █  ███▄    ▄███  █████
▄███  ▄████ ███  ██▀     ▀███  ████▄
███         ▀███    ▄███▄   ▀█  ████
███  ████▄            ▀▀▀██▄     ███
████  ████ ████▀    █▄▄▄         ███
▀████  ██  ██▀  ▄██  ███▀▀      ███▀
█████  █  ▀  ▄████▀    ▄██▀  ▄████
▀█████     ▄█▀▀    ▄  ██▀  ▄█████▀
▀█████       ▄▄█████    ▄██████▀
▀█████               ▄███████▀
▀████████████████████████▀
▀▀██████████████████▀▀
▀▀▀████████▀▀▀
▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
▄▄██████████████████▄▄
▄████████████████████████▄
▄███████▀               █████▄
▄██████▀       ▀███████   █████▄
▄█████▀  ▄    █▄   ▀██▀  ▄  █████▄
████▀  ▄██  █  ███▄    ▄███  █████
▄███  ▄████ ███  ██▀     ▀███  ████▄
███         ▀███    ▄███▄   ▀█  ████
███  ████▄            ▀▀▀██▄     ███
████  ████ ████▀    █▄▄▄         ███
▀████  ██  ██▀  ▄██  ███▀▀      ███▀
█████  █  ▀  ▄████▀    ▄██▀  ▄████
▀█████     ▄█▀▀    ▄  ██▀  ▄█████▀
▀█████       ▄▄█████    ▄██████▀
▀█████               ▄███████▀
▀████████████████████████▀
▀▀██████████████████▀▀
▀▀▀████████▀▀▀
[|]
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1119


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2015, 12:28:29 PM
 #14

Its only 12,000 characters combined so wouldn't have thought it'd cause an issue as some of my posts are 40,000.

You are Legendary. Considering both ranks, it could be restriction for newbies.
When he opened those threads he probably wasn't legendary.

I was hero

Ondart
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 25, 2015, 08:32:19 PM
 #15


I would be happy to e-mail someone the two procedures I wrote that I was using to copy paste both into a single body of the message so one could reproduce the issue at will and troubleshoot it if anyone wants it. Just send me your e-mail in a private message and I'll send it over if interested.

BTC: 171t96czWbGjYrccpgDjjgsD7HS3CCG135
shorena
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1308


No I dont escrow anymore.


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2015, 08:37:40 PM
 #16


I would be happy to e-mail someone the two procedures I wrote that I was using to copy paste both into a single body of the message so one could reproduce the issue at will and troubleshoot it if anyone wants it. Just send me your e-mail in a private message and I'll send it over if interested.

Put it on pastebin?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!