Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2024, 09:59:00 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Noob help with rpc bitcoind  (Read 1076 times)
Gifted (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 501



View Profile
November 04, 2015, 03:38:55 AM
 #1

Hi, I am new to bitcoind and linux and i'm trying to learn. I have recently Bought a gambling script from someone and i thought i could install myself to learn.

In the config file it asks

$rpc = array(
      'login' => 'RPC_login',
      'password' => 'RPC_password',

Ive searched google and have found so many confusing instructions or out of date.

Im using thcservers.com that i bought with bitcoin  and i have access to ssh but do i really need ssh or can i upload and configure manualy.Does the server have to download the blockchain through shell?




If anyone can tell me what to do step by step that would be great. Smiley
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1713952740
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713952740

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713952740
Reply with quote  #2

1713952740
Report to moderator
1713952740
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713952740

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713952740
Reply with quote  #2

1713952740
Report to moderator
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3374
Merit: 6535


Just writing some code


View Profile WWW
November 04, 2015, 03:40:16 AM
 #2

What is the server OS? You will probably need to do it through ssh, and it is actually easier that way.

Gifted (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 501



View Profile
November 04, 2015, 03:41:02 AM
 #3

What is the server OS? You will probably need to do it through ssh, and it is actually easier that way.
linux, i have been trying through ssh but its new to me
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3374
Merit: 6535


Just writing some code


View Profile WWW
November 04, 2015, 03:42:41 AM
 #4

What is the server OS? You will probably need to do it through ssh, and it is actually easier that way.
linux
What linux distro? Ubuntu? Debian? CentOS? FreeBSD? etc.

Gifted (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 501



View Profile
November 04, 2015, 03:45:42 AM
 #5

What is the server OS? You will probably need to do it through ssh, and it is actually easier that way.
linux
What linux distro? Ubuntu? Debian? Fedora? Mint? etc.
How do i find out??  in the cpanel it just says linux
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3374
Merit: 6535


Just writing some code


View Profile WWW
November 04, 2015, 03:47:36 AM
 #6

What is the server OS? You will probably need to do it through ssh, and it is actually easier that way.
linux
What linux distro? Ubuntu? Debian? Fedora? Mint? etc.
How do i find out??  in the cpanel it just says linux
Open up an ssh session and type
Code:
lsb_release -a
into the console. Post the output here.

CrappyJavaScriptDev
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 03:49:34 AM
 #7

What is the server OS? You will probably need to do it through ssh, and it is actually easier that way.
linux
What linux distro? Ubuntu? Debian? Fedora? Mint? etc.
How do i find out??  in the cpanel it just says linux

What you have is website hosting which more than likely denies you root access and wont allow you to install bitcoin. Does the script allow remote connections to bitcoind?
Gifted (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 501



View Profile
November 04, 2015, 03:50:00 AM
 #8

What is the server OS? You will probably need to do it through ssh, and it is actually easier that way.
linux
What linux distro? Ubuntu? Debian? Fedora? Mint? etc.
How do i find out??  in the cpanel it just says linux
Open up an ssh session and type
Code:
lsb_release -a
into the console. Post the output here.
  -bash: lsb_release: command not found
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3374
Merit: 6535


Just writing some code


View Profile WWW
November 04, 2015, 03:51:22 AM
 #9

-bash: lsb_release: command not found

That's odd, it should work. Try
Code:
cat /etc/*-release

Gifted (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 501



View Profile
November 04, 2015, 03:52:59 AM
 #10

-bash: lsb_release: command not found

That's odd, it should work. Try
Code:
cat /etc/*-release
cat: /etc/*-release: No such file or directory
Gifted (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 501



View Profile
November 04, 2015, 03:56:04 AM
 #11

i have tried many different system instructions and none work so i guess this is my first problem. let me ask my server help window, now waiting for respond.
CrappyJavaScriptDev
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 04:00:24 AM
 #12

i have tried many different system instructions and none work so i guess this is my first problem

Like I said...You have the wrong type of hosting. You have cpanel hosting when you instead need a VPS.

If the script you purchased allows for remote connections to bitcoind you can install bitcoin on your home pc (or any other server) and allow remote connections so that your cpanel host can connect to your bitcoind node at home OR you can buy a VPS and install bitcoin and a web server on that.
Gifted (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 501



View Profile
November 04, 2015, 04:01:10 AM
 #13

Ok i'm using     CentOS
Gifted (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 501



View Profile
November 04, 2015, 04:02:16 AM
 #14

i have tried many different system instructions and none work so i guess this is my first problem

Like I said...You have the wrong type of hosting. You have cpanel hosting when you instead need a VPS.

If the script you purchased allows for remote connections to bitcoind you can install bitcoin on your home pc (or any other server) and allow remote connections so that your cpanel host can connect to your bitcoind node at home OR you can buy a VPS and install bitcoin and a web server on that.
 Ok, thats sound good...how do i do this? i do have vps already installed on my computer
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3374
Merit: 6535


Just writing some code


View Profile WWW
November 04, 2015, 04:03:43 AM
 #15

cat: /etc/*-release: No such file or directory

Well that's a problem.

I just checked the website and I think you are using CentOS 6 since that is the default linux version for vps with cpanel.

Type the following commands:
Code:
yum install nano
nano ~/.bitcoin/bitcoin.conf

This will open up an interactive window where you can edit text.

Add the following lines:
Code:
server=1
rpcuser=<YOUR USERNAME>
rpcpassword=<YOUR PASSWORD>
where <YOUR USERNAME> and <YOUR PASSWORD> is the username and password you want for the rpc server. The password should be hard to guess and a random string of letters and numbers because knowing the user and pass means that someone could potentially send commands to the rpc server and steal all of the bitcoin there.

Then hit Ctrl+x and follow the prompts to save the file. Once that is done, start up bitcoind (or restart it). In the config file for the gambling script, set the RPC_Login and RPC_password to <YOUR USERNAME> and <YOUR PASSWORD> respectively. Make sure to keep the single quotes around each one so that it recognizes the strings.

achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3374
Merit: 6535


Just writing some code


View Profile WWW
November 04, 2015, 04:04:34 AM
 #16

i have tried many different system instructions and none work so i guess this is my first problem

Like I said...You have the wrong type of hosting. You have cpanel hosting when you instead need a VPS.

If the script you purchased allows for remote connections to bitcoind you can install bitcoin on your home pc (or any other server) and allow remote connections so that your cpanel host can connect to your bitcoind node at home OR you can buy a VPS and install bitcoin and a web server on that.
That is wrong. The hosting service has the option for a VPS with cpanel also installed. Since he has ssh access, he can do the stuff I posted above.

CrappyJavaScriptDev
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 04:06:34 AM
 #17

i have tried many different system instructions and none work so i guess this is my first problem

Like I said...You have the wrong type of hosting. You have cpanel hosting when you instead need a VPS.

If the script you purchased allows for remote connections to bitcoind you can install bitcoin on your home pc (or any other server) and allow remote connections so that your cpanel host can connect to your bitcoind node at home OR you can buy a VPS and install bitcoin and a web server on that.
That is wrong. The hosting service has the option for a VPS with cpanel also installed. Since he has ssh access, he can do the stuff I posted above.

Ah didn't see that you can choose to have your VPS come preinstalled with cpanel. I guess we will need clarification on which plan OP picked from https://www.thcservers.com.
Gifted (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 501



View Profile
November 04, 2015, 04:16:35 AM
 #18

ok i confirmed, it is saved
Gifted (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 501



View Profile
November 04, 2015, 04:22:59 AM
 #19

ok bitcoind is not starting up...what is the command line?
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3374
Merit: 6535


Just writing some code


View Profile WWW
November 04, 2015, 04:24:36 AM
 #20

Thankyou very much i guess now i setup a blockchain account and get private key
Your welcome. If you'd like, you can tip my address in my signature.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!