Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:41:05 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: how long to transfer coins directly from the client?  (Read 2271 times)
CoinMan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104



View Profile
June 06, 2011, 04:26:45 AM
 #21

wow that was fast

"1/unconfirmed"  Soo I'm gonna have to have a talk with this guy lol


thanks again, I'm glad I found this place Tongue , now all I need to do is get my computer out of the stone age and start mining!

 Grin welcome to the revolution!

My Bitcoin Identity
Bitcoin: 183DFFQXR4xCyseBXzmh3XWc22izDWE5Dw
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481107265
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107265

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107265
Reply with quote  #2

1481107265
Report to moderator
1481107265
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107265

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107265
Reply with quote  #2

1481107265
Report to moderator
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 04:28:09 AM
 #22

Blockexplorer will normally appear to be 1 block behind because their counting starts at 0 rather than 1.

Bitcoin Block Explorer counts the same way Bitcoin does. It just has a slight delay.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
Dude65535
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 04:47:02 AM
 #23

Ah I just assumed since the software seems to list number of blocks instead of block number there would be a difference of one since the first block was number 0.

1DCj8ZwGZXQqQhgv6eUEnWgsxo8BTMj3mT
DigitalAsh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 05:11:08 AM
 #24

wow that was fast

"1/unconfirmed"  Soo I'm gonna have to have a talk with this guy lol


thanks again, I'm glad I found this place Tongue , now all I need to do is get my computer out of the stone age and start mining!

 Grin welcome to the revolution!


lol I do feel like I'm privy to some top secret information, whenever I mention buying/mining bitcoins people are like "lol are you serious?" just wait til they see Tongue
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 05:21:17 AM
 #25

Ah I just assumed since the software seems to list number of blocks instead of block number there would be a difference of one since the first block was number 0.

Both Bitcoin and BBE consider the genesis block to be block 0. Bitcoin's getblockcount is named very misleadingly (for historical reasons): it actually reports the block number instead of the block count. There's actually getblockcount+1 blocks if you count the genesis block.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
mikeydotcomdotau
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 06:13:36 AM
 #26

I was wondering how long can I safely delay connecting my wallet to the internet to receive bitcoins I have purchased? I work on a remote site, and my wallet can't see through the firewall. It will be a couple of weeks before I get back to civilisation. Will my bitcoins be waiting in p2p space waiting for me to pick them up?

Thanks, sorry for Noobing, etc.

Dude65535
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 06:18:40 AM
 #27

You can wait as long as you want. Its the credentials for spending your coins that are stored on your computer not the coins them self.

Well the coins are stored on your computer but also every other computer with a copy of the block chain.

1DCj8ZwGZXQqQhgv6eUEnWgsxo8BTMj3mT
sequence
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 09:10:04 AM
 #28

Is anyone else having problems with the client. I have waited so long to get my bitcoins transferred to my client from Mt Gox. I know its not Mt Gox, my transaction shows on block explorer, but for some reason I fluctuate from 1 to 2 connections only, with no change in block number. Opened port 8333 on my router, updated to 0.3.22 and still no luck. Can any one help?
jashan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile WWW
June 06, 2011, 09:49:49 AM
 #29

So I am also having an issue with a large delay in transferring bitcoins from Mt Gox to Bitcoin client. It has been over 2 hours with 1 connection and no change in block number Embarrassed. I wasn't having this problem two days ago. I hope my coins are not in limbo and lost somewhere!

I've had "1 connection" until I configured port forwarding in my router to forward 8333 to the machine I have Bitcoin running on. Now I usually get 100+ connections, and my blocks update really quick. ATM, it says 128786 blocks for me (I just started Bitcoin up, so this may not be perfectly up to date).

If you like this posting - feel free to give a tip:
1HrTEoRXbNG3GeCodpUZazTWCsjytijmkH

Keep those Bitcoins flowing :-)

Want to buy or sell Bitcoins? Sign up with TradeHill Exchange and get a 10% discount on your commission rates for life!
http://www.tradehill.com/?r=TH-R1180
sequence
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 09:55:25 AM
 #30

I checked port 8333 on canyouseeme.org.  Everything checks out, but still 1 connection.  I'll try again later.
IIOII
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 926



View Profile
June 06, 2011, 10:17:00 AM
 #31

I checked port 8333 on canyouseeme.org.  Everything checks out, but still 1 connection.  I'll try again later.

I sometimes experience exactly the same problem but most of the time it fully connects. I did not modify my configuration.

Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!