Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2014, 11:09:03 PM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [LTC-GLOBAL] (Android) The Unoffical LTC-GLOBAL App  (Read 568 times)
raad287
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile

Ignore
November 18, 2012, 12:25:24 PM
 #1

The Unofficial LTC-GLOBAL App is an Open Source Android utility used to pull market and fund information from Litecoin Global.
This thread will mirror the update thread posted on the Litecoin Forums.

The current version is v0.7.2
-All security information is accessible.
-Trade History and Ticker Browse functions utilize the API, all other functions are parsed;
 will evolve as LTC-GLOBAL does.

In Works
- AutoUpdate
- Extended Graphing Features
- Widget / Alerts
- Login / Google Authenticator
- Trading

The app contains no ads at the moment, however unobtrusive coin-centric ads may be added in the future, to promote
services and time spent developing the app. Any ads included will be announced before hand, and the option to disable
them will be available in the settings. There will be no paid versions.
 
Any comments, complaints or suggestions are welcome.  

Google Play
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.raad287.ltcglobal

Github
https://github.com/raad287/The-Unofficial-LTC-GLOBAL-App

Litecoin Forums
http://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,743.0.html

1398294543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398294543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398294543
Reply with quote  #2

1398294543
Report to moderator
1398294543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398294543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398294543
Reply with quote  #2

1398294543
Report to moderator
1398294543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398294543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398294543
Reply with quote  #2

1398294543
Report to moderator
Buy a Blade, Get a 5-Chip Free!
Start Mining with GAWMiners.com
24/7 Live Phone & Tech Support
Free Hosting & Electricity for 1 Year!

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1398294543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398294543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398294543
Reply with quote  #2

1398294543
Report to moderator
1398294543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398294543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398294543
Reply with quote  #2

1398294543
Report to moderator
Liquid
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


Bitcoin - The Future Is Now


View Profile

Ignore
November 18, 2012, 12:29:22 PM
 #2

Installed thanks  Cheesy

Lifetime Member of the Bitcoin Foundation | Member of the Bitcoin Association of Australia  | Member of the Litecoin Association
Founder of Litecoin Australia
Founder of Digital Bitcoin
Remember remember the 5th of November
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896

Remember me


View Profile

Ignore
November 18, 2012, 12:31:07 PM
 #3

How much RAM does it consume? My Android application uses over 10 megabytes of memory FOR NOTHING!

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
raad287
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile

Ignore
November 18, 2012, 12:35:30 PM
 #4

How much RAM does it consume? My Android application uses over 10 megabytes of memory FOR NOTHING!

The apk itself is about 250kb. As far as memory usage in app, I'll have to measure it, it shouldn't be storing anymore then what's displayed at one time.
Remember remember the 5th of November
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896

Remember me


View Profile

Ignore
November 18, 2012, 01:23:25 PM
 #5

Well for instance, your buttons are always displayed, right? My application has a bunch of buttons and fields,text views that are always displayed and..it caused my app to use more than 10 megabytes of memory, even going as high as 12.
I honestly can't explain it...

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
raad287
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile

Ignore
November 18, 2012, 09:37:58 PM
 #6

Well for instance, your buttons are always displayed, right? My application has a bunch of buttons and fields,text views that are always displayed and..it caused my app to use more than 10 megabytes of memory, even going as high as 12.
I honestly can't explain it...
Are you adding views dynamically? It could just be continually adding views everytime the screen is drawn, when you see a button, and the screen was redrawn 10 times, there's actually 10 buttons there lol. Screen orientation changes also call onCreate again, which could be causing the redraws.

TableLayout tl_data = (TableLayout) findViewById(R.id.main_tableLayout_data);
      tl_data.removeAllViews();

removeAllViews clears out all the children, obviously it doesn't have to be a table layout lol.

You can force a specific orientation mode in the manifest, you can also do it dynamically. To write it into the manifest, add it to the activity tag.
 <activity
            android:name=".MainActivity"
            android:screenOrientation="portrait"
HotSwap
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 272



View Profile

Ignore
November 18, 2012, 09:51:54 PM
 #7

Looks awesome! to bad i have iPhone Sad
Remember remember the 5th of November
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896

Remember me


View Profile

Ignore
November 19, 2012, 12:14:00 AM
 #8

Well for instance, your buttons are always displayed, right? My application has a bunch of buttons and fields,text views that are always displayed and..it caused my app to use more than 10 megabytes of memory, even going as high as 12.
I honestly can't explain it...
Are you adding views dynamically? It could just be continually adding views everytime the screen is drawn, when you see a button, and the screen was redrawn 10 times, there's actually 10 buttons there lol. Screen orientation changes also call onCreate again, which could be causing the redraws.

TableLayout tl_data = (TableLayout) findViewById(R.id.main_tableLayout_data);
      tl_data.removeAllViews();

removeAllViews clears out all the children, obviously it doesn't have to be a table layout lol.

You can force a specific orientation mode in the manifest, you can also do it dynamically. To write it into the manifest, add it to the activity tag.
 <activity
            android:name=".MainActivity"
            android:screenOrientation="portrait"
Everything is setup on startup. No dynamic creation(not sure if that was even possible). I have disabled screen orientation.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
raad287
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile

Ignore
November 19, 2012, 12:19:27 AM
 #9

Quote
Everything is setup on startup. No dynamic creation(not sure if that was even possible). I have disabled screen orientation.
Imageviews? I would watch the resolution of the whatever your filling an imageview with, it will scale it down, but there is no reason to have a 1080p icon that's gonna scale down to a max of 100x100 either.
raad287
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile

Ignore
November 19, 2012, 12:48:31 AM
 #10

Also to clarify, this is a problem your having with an app your trying to write?

Just to make sure your not talking about a current bug in this app lol.
raad287
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile

Ignore
December 08, 2012, 05:36:51 AM
 #11

v0.8 released on Google Play
- Added Orderbook (API)
- Added Settings page
      -Added graph options for Orderbook
- Added External button
raad287
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile

Ignore
December 08, 2012, 12:47:05 PM
 #12

v0.8.1 released on Google Play
- Basic error checking on settings page
- Code overhaul
raad287
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile

Ignore
December 09, 2012, 01:25:44 AM
 #13

v0.8.2 released
- Bugfix, orderbook off by one error
raad287
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile

Ignore
December 10, 2012, 06:51:57 AM
 #14

v0.8.3 released
- Bugfix: incorrect/incomplete order sorting, first and last orders were cut off.
burnside
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 10, 2012, 07:18:06 AM
 #15

How hard would it be to clone it for "The Unofficial BTC-TC App"?  Wink

The API is an exact clone.

Cheers.


Creator of the late BTC Trading Corp / LTC-GLOBAL -- burnside's LTC Mining Pool: http://ltc.kattare.com -- Kattare: http://www.kattare.com
raad287
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile

Ignore
December 10, 2012, 07:32:09 AM
 #16

How hard would it be to clone it for "The Unofficial BTC-TC App"?  Wink


The API is an exact clone.

Cheers.



If the api is exactly the same, about 15 minutes lol. Not everything is running off the api at the moment, but from what I can see it'll parse the same too.

The real question at this point is, should a separate BTC-TC App be created; with virtually duplicate code, or roll the functionality into this one?
burnside
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 11, 2012, 09:28:14 AM
 #17

How hard would it be to clone it for "The Unofficial BTC-TC App"?  Wink


The API is an exact clone.

Cheers.



If the api is exactly the same, about 15 minutes lol. Not everything is running off the api at the moment, but from what I can see it'll parse the same too.

The real question at this point is, should a separate BTC-TC App be created; with virtually duplicate code, or roll the functionality into this one?

I'd make a new one.  Better exposure I think in the app market.

I'll get to crackin' on the API for making trades soon.  Having a hard time sorting it all out in my head, how to deal with 2FA, etc...

Cheers.

Creator of the late BTC Trading Corp / LTC-GLOBAL -- burnside's LTC Mining Pool: http://ltc.kattare.com -- Kattare: http://www.kattare.com
raad287
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile

Ignore
June 02, 2013, 07:36:42 PM
 #18

Version 0.8.4 released
-Dividends queries now work correctly
-Dividends now pull data via the API instead of parsing
burnside
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile WWW

Ignore
June 03, 2013, 08:04:07 AM
 #19

Version 0.8.4 released
-Dividends queries now work correctly
-Dividends now pull data via the API instead of parsing

Very nice.  Love it!

Creator of the late BTC Trading Corp / LTC-GLOBAL -- burnside's LTC Mining Pool: http://ltc.kattare.com -- Kattare: http://www.kattare.com
raad287
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile

Ignore
June 05, 2013, 03:23:38 PM
 #20

v0.9 Released
-Fixed Contract and Prospectus, everything now displays correctly, and is pulling data via the API
-All functions now pull data directly from the API with the exception of Notifications and Motions, as there is no API for that information.

As of version 0.9 I have decided to AdMob ads in the free version, due to the amount of time this project takes. The ad is a banner ad only, and only on the main page, there will be no obtrusive push-ads or notification ads of any sort. There is also a paid version published if you would like to support development directly, and there will be no ads of any kind.

The project is still completely open source, and both versions run off of the same development tree. You could easily compile the app yourself, and remove the banner ad, but the idea is to support development on this project.

As of this update, all features on the app should be working correctly.

The next features lined up to implement are
-Dividend Graphing
-Graphing Customization options, color, size, etc
-Font Size Customization options
-Ability to view your portfolio via your API key
-Ability to trade using OAuth

There will also be a duplicate app published very shortly for https://btct.co/ the Bitcoin version of LTC-GLOBAL, they run off of the same API, and should require very little modification.
Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!