Bitcoin Forum
June 25, 2019, 02:50:45 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: I need help with Bitcoin-QT transferring of BTC  (Read 818 times)
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 11:41:48 PM
 #1

I am using the latest version of Bitcoin-QT on openSUSE.

When I try to transfer 0.31779405 BTC to my other wallet I get the following dialog window;



When I have tried to transfer 0.59xxxxx bitcoins in the last couple of weeks I got the same dialog but it said the fee was 0.00004, when I adjusted my transfer to that number it took weeks to transfer as people told me I should have made it 0.0004 not 0.00004.

Anyhow I how do I know that I need to set my transfer fee to in Bitcoin-QT for any amount?

Thanks,
Try The Brand New Ethereum Game
50 Last Players Also Win The Bank
Works On Any iOS/Android Device With Standard Browser
Join Us On Telegram To Get Notified When You Can Win
COLOR PIXELS
AND WIN
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1561431045
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561431045

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561431045
Reply with quote  #2

1561431045
Report to moderator
1561431045
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561431045

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561431045
Reply with quote  #2

1561431045
Report to moderator
Light
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 502



View Profile
March 14, 2014, 11:45:23 PM
 #2

First off you're going to have to factor in the transaction fee into the amount of wish to send. If for example you have 0.01 in your wallet and you wish to pay a 0.0001 fee then you can only send a maximum of 0.0099. You might not want to bother sending with such a tiny fee as it's going to take forever to send, my advice would be to include at least 0.0001 or more depending on your number of inputs and how fast you want your transaction to go through.
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 12:17:12 AM
 #3

First off you're going to have to factor in the transaction fee into the amount of wish to send. If for example you have 0.01 in your wallet and you wish to pay a 0.0001 fee then you can only send a maximum of 0.0099. You might not want to bother sending with such a tiny fee as it's going to take forever to send, my advice would be to include at least 0.0001 or more depending on your number of inputs and how fast you want your transaction to go through.

Is there a general rule of thumb  when sending any amount? Sorry I normally use multibit on my PC that automatically adds the fee on transactions being sent.

I tried to set the fee to 0.001 on the amount above (subtracking 0.001 from the total number), then it told me the same dialog message above but the transaction was 0.002 which really threw me. (sigh)

Light
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 502



View Profile
March 15, 2014, 12:33:41 AM
 #4

Is there a general rule of thumb  when sending any amount? Sorry I normally use multibit on my PC that automatically adds the fee on transactions being sent.

I tried to set the fee to 0.001 on the amount above (subtracking 0.001 from the total number), then it told me the same dialog message above but the transaction was 0.002 which really threw me. (sigh)

It depends on the number of inputs and the size of the transaction (not the amount you are sending but the number of bytes). I can't tell you exactly what you can get away with, but in in general 0.0005 should guarantee nearly any transaction being sent. You can refer to here for more info: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Transaction_fees. You need to direct your client to set the fee at 0.0001 per kB or however much you want (by changing its settings), as you can't simply expect to subtract a specific amount from the amount you wish to spend and assume the client will know that is the tx fee.
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 12:49:23 AM
 #5

Is there a general rule of thumb  when sending any amount? Sorry I normally use multibit on my PC that automatically adds the fee on transactions being sent.

I tried to set the fee to 0.001 on the amount above (subtracking 0.001 from the total number), then it told me the same dialog message above but the transaction was 0.002 which really threw me. (sigh)

It depends on the number of inputs and the size of the transaction (not the amount you are sending but the number of bytes). I can't tell you exactly what you can get away with, but in in general 0.0005 should guarantee nearly any transaction being sent. You can refer to here for more info: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Transaction_fees. You need to direct your client to set the fee at 0.0001 per kB or however much you want (by changing its settings), as you can't simply expect to subtract a specific amount from the amount you wish to spend and assume the client will know that is the tx fee.

okay so when I reduce the Bitcoins being transferred by 0.0005 I get this message; is it okay?



Thanks,
cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 03:54:32 AM
 #6

Goto Settings -> Options and change the fee to 0.0001 then retry the transaction and accept the fee.  Make it 0.0002 if you really want to be sure it'll go through.

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 10:04:55 AM
Last edit: March 15, 2014, 10:49:05 AM by smoothrunnings
 #7

Goto Settings -> Options and change the fee to 0.0001 then retry the transaction and accept the fee.  Make it 0.0002 if you really want to be sure it'll go through.

I have run into a problem again. LOL (sigh)

I set the fee to 0.0001 as seen below:


I then send the entire amount to my other wallet and get this message but no option to send.


If I manually subtract 0.0001 from my total I and try to send it I get this message, and no option to send.


And I get the same messages when I use 0.0002 and when I subtract it and try sending the bitcoins the last message says 0.00006. Sad

Any suggestions?
Thanks,
cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 06:42:36 PM
 #8

That's fine, either: 
use 0.0001 in the box and send all but 0.0003
or use 0.0002 in the box and send all but 0.0006

The first box tells you that it would like to send the fee that you typed in the box (0.0001).  The second box means that it realized your transaction is so large it needs a bigger fee and it would like to use 3 times what you typed in the box.

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 16, 2014, 11:44:55 AM
 #9

That's fine, either: 
use 0.0001 in the box and send all but 0.0003
or use 0.0002 in the box and send all but 0.0006

The first box tells you that it would like to send the fee that you typed in the box (0.0001).  The second box means that it realized your transaction is so large it needs a bigger fee and it would like to use 3 times what you typed in the box.

It's still broken. I took off 0.0004 and was given a prompt that I forgot to capture that said I was exceed the transfer limit. Anyhow the transfer is stuck now once more, I tried to transfer out 0.59xxxxx bitcoins and this same thing happened.

If you look at the blockchain it says I only included 0.00003 fees, how does it figure that?

https://blockchain.info/tx/2d2f268d0f8c5a7270054ecf33801a80505bee59cfa878cec9c52ceca94afb0f

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!