Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2018, 09:06:18 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: My set-up to heat house using bitmain S7 (UPDATE 03JAN2016)  (Read 8881 times)
rockyforever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
December 22, 2015, 04:38:15 AM
 #21

Is it underground or something??
Or you dont have really warm summers?  Grin

live in washington state near seattle. the summers get warm but with all the trees and shade my house stays cool.

I bought the house from a previous owner who had an in line duct fan put in a vent to the outside for his wood working tools so the sawdust wouldn't spread throughout the garage. I can point the miners at the in line fan that sucks the hot air to outside the house. The garage is a 2 car garage with a workshop built in, so technically a 3 car garage?

Creating a Bitcoin client that fully implements the network protocol is extremely difficult. Bitcoin Core and some of its derivatives are the only known safe implementations of full nodes. Some other projects attempt to compete, but it is not recommended to use such software for anything serious. (Lightweight clients like Electrum and Bither are OK.)
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540285578
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540285578

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540285578
Reply with quote  #2

1540285578
Report to moderator
1540285578
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540285578

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540285578
Reply with quote  #2

1540285578
Report to moderator
1540285578
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540285578

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540285578
Reply with quote  #2

1540285578
Report to moderator
rockyforever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
December 22, 2015, 04:39:37 AM
 #22

Be careful about backlogging heat in there.. Will burn up your miners.

hence the duct fan. no worries.

i was thinking the same but seems that you have been thinking on all Wink btw i never imagine that someone would use it to heat up his house, well, i had some ideas about a greenhouse, but never to use it to heat up the house, you bring me some ideas Wink

I wish that you can continue posting new images, i really want to see it 100% finished.

what images would you like to see? i will take some photos of the fan connected so you can see how big the fan is pushing the air into the hvac system.

rockyforever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
December 22, 2015, 04:46:48 AM
 #23

Well done.

Maybe I didn't understand / missed this part.  How are you pushing the air around the house?  Do you keep the furnace blower set to always on?

this was an option I was using but the furnace blower was sucking the cool air from inside the house and pushing it back through and was cooling off the air blowing from the miners. The air was to cold to have blowing constantly.

The 470 cfm duct fan is sufficient to blow throughout the house. When i put a piece of paper or plastic in the vents in the rooms you can see it vibrating strongly from air flow. Also if you stand on the vents in the room they are warm to the touch from the air constantly blowing on them. The one thing that sucks now is my garage is back to being cold again lol

My house is a little over 1000 square feet. They ran the hvac system to the nearest point of each room to reduce the amount needed under the house. this allows for efficiently and less cfm to move air throughout.

If i had a bigger house (2 stories or 1500+ sq ft.) this system wouldn't work and I would have connect directly to the one rooms vent access.

rockyforever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
December 22, 2015, 05:12:48 AM
 #24

Be careful about backlogging heat in there.. Will burn up your miners.

hence the duct fan. no worries.

i was thinking the same but seems that you have been thinking on all Wink btw i never imagine that someone would use it to heat up his house, well, i had some ideas about a greenhouse, but never to use it to heat up the house, you bring me some ideas Wink

I wish that you can continue posting new images, i really want to see it 100% finished.

what images would you like to see? i will take some photos of the fan connected so you can see how big the fan is pushing the air into the hvac system.

http://imgur.com/HVA7gWn
http://imgur.com/mDQMI3J
http://imgur.com/NKl3PpK
http://imgur.com/eI7EfM8

I used the 6" hvac ducting. I cut a 6" hole into my hvac system using some hvac cutting tools. I got the 3 pack from home depot that has the straight cut, and left/right cuts. The location wasn't ideal because I couldn't get an angle with my large hands/arms so my wife did the majority of the cutting. I fed the ducting into the my hvac duct system about 1-2 ft without the foam lining and connected to the duct fan utilizing an hvac metal band. The 1-2 ft inside was pointed down along the normal path of air flow (without lining) but the hvac duct tubing from the entrance of my existing hvac system to the duct fan had the insulation attached. set the fan on the cut hole in the wood next to furnace, attached the elbow and ran 2 pieces of the insulated 6" tubing from the elbow to the exhaust fans of the miners. the 6" hvac flexible duct fits perfectly over the fans. I used an extra metal band for one to keep attached and used a plastic tie for the other as an insurance holder.

Tomorrow I am going to attach the hvac tubing from the miners to elbow better, the tape doesnt hold as well as I thought.

bctmke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 22, 2015, 03:52:32 PM
 #25

Well done.

Maybe I didn't understand / missed this part.  How are you pushing the air around the house?  Do you keep the furnace blower set to always on?

this was an option I was using but the furnace blower was sucking the cool air from inside the house and pushing it back through and was cooling off the air blowing from the miners. The air was to cold to have blowing constantly.

The 470 cfm duct fan is sufficient to blow throughout the house. When i put a piece of paper or plastic in the vents in the rooms you can see it vibrating strongly from air flow. Also if you stand on the vents in the room they are warm to the touch from the air constantly blowing on them. The one thing that sucks now is my garage is back to being cold again lol

My house is a little over 1000 square feet. They ran the hvac system to the nearest point of each room to reduce the amount needed under the house. this allows for efficiently and less cfm to move air throughout.

If i had a bigger house (2 stories or 1500+ sq ft.) this system wouldn't work and I would have connect directly to the one rooms vent access.

Understood.  That's a solid setup (I have a single floor ranch myself that is < 1000 sqft much like you).  So this intrigues me Smiley

NXS is on the move!   Come subscribe to our subreddit  https://www.reddit.com/r/nexusearth/
Come mine NXS at http://nxsminingpool.com
rockyforever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
December 22, 2015, 06:30:15 PM
 #26

Well done.

Maybe I didn't understand / missed this part.  How are you pushing the air around the house?  Do you keep the furnace blower set to always on?

this was an option I was using but the furnace blower was sucking the cool air from inside the house and pushing it back through and was cooling off the air blowing from the miners. The air was to cold to have blowing constantly.

The 470 cfm duct fan is sufficient to blow throughout the house. When i put a piece of paper or plastic in the vents in the rooms you can see it vibrating strongly from air flow. Also if you stand on the vents in the room they are warm to the touch from the air constantly blowing on them. The one thing that sucks now is my garage is back to being cold again lol

My house is a little over 1000 square feet. They ran the hvac system to the nearest point of each room to reduce the amount needed under the house. this allows for efficiently and less cfm to move air throughout.

If i had a bigger house (2 stories or 1500+ sq ft.) this system wouldn't work and I would have connect directly to the one rooms vent access.

Understood.  That's a solid setup (I have a single floor ranch myself that is < 1000 sqft much like you).  So this intrigues me Smiley

It would work than. I tried 2 previous in duct fans with lower cfm (180 and 350) that failed miserably. This one was more expensive but moved the amount of air needed, also if the fan of the furnace is turned on you don't have to worry about adding a dampener because the cfm is sufficient.

posternat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 23, 2015, 09:12:45 AM
 #27

How much extra energy do you use to take away the heat from S7?

I think even with natural convection, the heat generated by S7 can heat a room without the complex set up.

    ▄█▄
   ██▀  ▄█▄
  ██▀  ▄█▀  ▄▀
 ██▀  ▄█▀  ▄▀
▐█▌  ▄█▀  ▄▀
██   ██   
██   ██   
██   ██   
▐█▌  ▀█▄  ▀▄
 ██▄  ▀█▄  ▀▄
  ██▄  ▀█▄  ▀▄
   ██▄  ▀█▀
    ▀█▀
████
▀▀▀▀
▄▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█████████████▐████
▀▀     ▄▄▄▄▄▀██████████▐████
▄▀▀▄▄▄▄▄█████▀ ▀▄▄▄     ▐████
▀▀     ▄▀███▄▄▄▄       ▐████
▄▄   ▀█▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▐████
▀▄▄▀▀▀▀▀██████████████▐████
▄▄   ▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▐████

▀▄▄▀▀▀  ██████           ▐████
██████▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ▐████

▄▄  ████▀▄██████████▐████
▀▄▄▀▀▀▀ ▄████████████▐████
BIDIUM       ▄█▄
   ▄█▄
  ▀██

▀▄  ▀█▄  ▀██
 ▀▄  ▀█▄  ▀██
  ▀▄  ▀█▄  ▐█▌
   █   ██   ██
   █   ██   ██
   █   ██   ██
  ▄▀  ▄█▀  ▐█▌
 ▄▀  ▄█▀  ▄██
▄▀
  ▄█▀  ▄██
   ▀█▀
  ▄██
       ▀█▀






























rockyforever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
December 24, 2015, 03:46:54 AM
 #28

How much extra energy do you use to take away the heat from S7?

I think even with natural convection, the heat generated by S7 can heat a room without the complex set up.
The watts to run the in line fan is the "extra" energy used to utilize the heat generated by the S7 but this allows me not to have to turn my furnace on to heat the house.


rockyforever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
December 25, 2015, 07:21:10 PM
 #29

Have you calculated how much money you save by using the S7 to heat your house?
Last month my electricity bill was 180$. That was running 2 S7s and 3 S3+ (just recently sold). First winter in this house since I bought this spring so cant compare costs but I can compare some friends houses and their bills (they were interested in comparision as well).

A friend with same sq ft paid 165$ in heating, another paid 230$ and a third paid 345$ (they have a two story though). All were shocked that I was paying near the same, cheaper or way cheaper.

ShrykeZ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 632
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 26, 2015, 01:08:19 AM
 #30

Nice little setup although how effective is this heating method for your home?
rockyforever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
December 26, 2015, 06:23:12 PM
 #31

Nice little setup although how effective is this heating method for your home?

working just great. keeps my house between 68-69 in 4 rooms (master bedroom, living room, kitchen and main bathroom). Its not a method but really just utilizing the heat already generated by the miners to heat the house.

rockyforever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
December 26, 2015, 06:27:25 PM
 #32

just ordered another 2 S7s so I will create a custom vent duct with sheet metal so all 4 (connected with flexible ducting) will be utilized to heat the house. I will see if its the same or better.

l8nit3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1011
Merit: 1000

www.L8nit3-miners.com


View Profile WWW
December 26, 2015, 06:47:36 PM
 #33

Wow, brilliant! Ive joked many times about using mining equipment as space heaters, but this is way beyond what I envisioned! Well Done!

GirlsToken2.0 - NEW DEV BCT ANN
BTC: 1G2PTf59cYsWKoZjj3i3Cv1Bb8NuNaeho2
L8nit3-Miners YIIMP & ZNOMP #GetMining
[/color]
btcprospecter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 251


★777Coin.com★ Fun BTC Casino!


View Profile
January 02, 2016, 10:25:31 AM
 #34

Great idea. Good way to offset you mining costs

opmac
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 02, 2016, 12:13:44 PM
 #35

Would a single 6" alum flex tube attached to the fan blowing directly into another room work as well.

<a href="https://www.onehash.com/?ap=4fcc39073b7545289b75ae" title="OneHash | Bitcoin Betting Platform"><img src="https://www.onehash.com/affiliates/assets/images/animated/oh3.gif" alt="OneHash banner"/></a>
rockyforever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2016, 12:06:41 AM
 #36

Would a single 6" alum flex tube attached to the fan blowing directly into another room work as well.

Indeed it did. Updated with a sound reduction box. Waiting for batch 9 to arrive to add to the set-up

torepia
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 05, 2016, 07:22:36 PM
 #37

Like your setup mate! I'm also heating a house with miners, if u wanna check it out here's the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfmfdEjRkWU
I badly need to insulte the room because of noise with the S7's, would you insulate the room in the video, or create a box like you did, inside the room instead?

Do you know the amount of dB your setup makes?

Thanks
rockyforever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
January 06, 2016, 01:02:41 AM
 #38

Like your setup mate! I'm also heating a house with miners, if u wanna check it out here's the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfmfdEjRkWU
I badly need to insulte the room because of noise with the S7's, would you insulate the room in the video, or create a box like you did, inside the room instead?

Do you know the amount of dB your setup makes?

Thanks

Nice set-up!

Insulating the room would be easier but prob would still be louder than enclosing the S7s with an insulated box. The box is more of a hassle having to cut ports for the air to come out and air going in but would enclose the sound to a smaller area. Either would work good. Just make sure the insulation is both fireproof and sound reduction.

I did not have a dB meter to test the difference but it is incredibly quieter! (10x quieter)

goodluck!

whatever you end up doing please take pics!

vilain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 10:41:41 PM
 #39

Like your setup mate! I'm also heating a house with miners, if u wanna check it out here's the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfmfdEjRkWU
I badly need to insulte the room because of noise with the S7's, would you insulate the room in the video, or create a box like you did, inside the room instead?

Do you know the amount of dB your setup makes?

Thanks

Nice set-up!

Insulating the room would be easier but prob would still be louder than enclosing the S7s with an insulated box. The box is more of a hassle having to cut ports for the air to come out and air going in but would enclose the sound to a smaller area. Either would work good. Just make sure the insulation is both fireproof and sound reduction.

I did not have a dB meter to test the difference but it is incredibly quieter! (10x quieter)

goodluck!

whatever you end up doing please take pics!

This is a very nice idea. How I wish I lived in a cold country! Temps here almost never go below 20°C, and are usually around 30°C.  Sad
torepia
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 13, 2016, 02:47:15 AM
 #40

Like your setup mate! I'm also heating a house with miners, if u wanna check it out here's the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfmfdEjRkWU
I badly need to insulte the room because of noise with the S7's, would you insulate the room in the video, or create a box like you did, inside the room instead?

Do you know the amount of dB your setup makes?

Thanks

Nice set-up!

Insulating the room would be easier but prob would still be louder than enclosing the S7s with an insulated box. The box is more of a hassle having to cut ports for the air to come out and air going in but would enclose the sound to a smaller area. Either would work good. Just make sure the insulation is both fireproof and sound reduction.

I did not have a dB meter to test the difference but it is incredibly quieter! (10x quieter)

goodluck!

whatever you end up doing please take pics!

Came up with a redneck solution instead, has killed the high-pitch sound, so its not a problem anymore.
What I did was basically make sure all the miners get direct cold air from the outside, which made the temps go down. And then the fans didn't have to work as hard anymore, problem solved (for now).
https://youtu.be/oabV90lx_rI
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!