Bitcoin Forum
February 28, 2017, 10:10:15 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Windows 7 bitcoin doesn't seem to try mining  (Read 2359 times)
mikerz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 12:24:38 PM
 #1

Hi all,

I previously got bitcoin working on a mac computer along with GPU mining, but when I try the same on windows I can't even get a preliminary "khash/s" in the bitcoin program nor do I see a button or dropdown option for starting to mine.

If I set my bitcoin.conf to autogenerate, then I see a "Generating" status, but nothing happens even if left overnight.

Any thoughts?
1488276615
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488276615

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488276615
Reply with quote  #2

1488276615
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1488276615
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488276615

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488276615
Reply with quote  #2

1488276615
Report to moderator
1488276615
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488276615

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488276615
Reply with quote  #2

1488276615
Report to moderator
mikerz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 12:43:25 PM
 #2

Ah thanks, that explains it;

I was under the impression that if I run the bitcoin client, then it provides a server for a GPU miner to connect to?

I'm using GUIMiner and it's giving me constant "Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC"

Do I need to install some library/other software on my pc that macs usually come with?
digdugg67
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 01:44:11 PM
 #3

Mikerz,  you might also want to look at right clicking on the short cut and select 'run as administrator' that usually works with the bitcoinclient software on Win7

tips accepted :: 1FY6Nm4P7KZfFBCbcsEsZXe89jzNvgqi7K
Sign up with http://www.tradehill.com/?r=TH-R1450 use referral code TH-R1450 to get 10% off the trade commissions/fees
mikerz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 02:24:15 PM
 #4

Well, thanks for the suggestions I'll try out running everything with full access as well as a different gpu miner.

According to the calculator, it should still be profitable for me considering i'll have .5-1 GHash/s at my disposal with multiple machines

How are the average yields in pools? I've avoided them because it seems like I would be putting in the same amount of processing for a potentially much lower yield.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!