Bitcoin Forum
January 24, 2017, 05:08:36 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Don't Mine on an iMac!  (Read 21193 times)
MoonBuggy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 06:21:50 PM
 #21

I'm not saying they won't replace it for you as I've never dealt with Apple. I'm just saying that it's very likely they will know that it wasn't faulty hardware to begin with.
It was faulty hardware to begin with, though, that's the thing. It might not be everyday usage to run the thing at 100% GPU load, but that doesn't mean it's out-of-warranty usage (although overclocking would be).

In any case, I'd be very surprised if they didn't replace it without question - I've never had any major hassle with in-warranty servicing from Apple, and with the margins they make on their hardware, it's easier to just replace it and have a happy customer than waste the time arguing.

1E2CuHoVHF3kbbXJmPwSVMrvFv8Vf7fko3
1485234516
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485234516

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485234516
Reply with quote  #2

1485234516
Report to moderator
1485234516
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485234516

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485234516
Reply with quote  #2

1485234516
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
sgravina
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 442



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 04:02:28 AM
 #22

OK I just measured the power through my iMac with a 6750 chip in it.

iMac not mining:              72 watts.
iMac running DiabloMiner: 88 watts.

So turning mining on adds 16 watts!  Whereas mining on my 5850 adds about 150 watts.

The iMac is not using much power for the graphics card!

The the electricity to keep the iMac on all day mining is only $0.34.  Whereas the 44 MHash/second earns you $0.85.

So the iMac is still profitable as a miner.

Sam
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 03:44:25 PM
 #23

OK I just measured the power through my iMac with a 6750 chip in it.

iMac not mining:              72 watts.
iMac running DiabloMiner: 88 watts.

So turning mining on adds 16 watts!  Whereas mining on my 5850 adds about 150 watts.

The iMac is not using much power for the graphics card!

The the electricity to keep the iMac on all day mining is only $0.34.  Whereas the 44 MHash/second earns you $0.85.

So the iMac is still profitable as a miner.

Sam
5850 > 6750
your argument is invalid. It's like saying "derp imma use 6650 to mine, coz it use 50W!!"

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Druas
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 04:01:13 PM
 #24

Apparently Open CL doesn't work very well on a Mac, so I was only mining at about 1/4 the rate that the 6970 would get in a PC
Anyone have any idea if Lion will even come close to fixing this? Or is there going to be no change?
BusmasterDMA
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118



View Profile
July 11, 2011, 04:17:45 AM
 #25

Apparently Open CL doesn't work very well on a Mac, so I was only mining at about 1/4 the rate that the 6970 would get in a PC
Anyone have any idea if Lion will even come close to fixing this? Or is there going to be no change?

Yes it does indeed appear so.  Upgrading from SL to Lion has roughly doubled DiabloMiner.app's performance on my MacPro from an average of 140MH/s to 285MH/s with a Radeon HD5870. 

Bears.  Beets.  Battlestar Galactica.  Bitcoin.
somebadger
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile WWW
July 11, 2011, 07:05:08 AM
 #26

i'd extend this thread to not mine on any laptop based computer or laptop Tongue all in one boards in small enclosures are not made for 24/7 mining. Your just asking for trouble. unless you get your own cooling solutions going.

http://pool.betcoin.co/banners/1.sig.png <-- Click here to join me Smiley
--
Have I been helpful ? Kick some coins over to 1BLkDhijWne8dAhK4TA9dceUC6C6K6Fite Smiley
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
July 11, 2011, 11:47:45 AM
 #27

it is quite possible the gpu overheated and was permanently damaged.

best thing to do is not tell anyone what you did. Delete all signs of bitcoin off of the machine and then walk into your boss's office wit a puzzled look on your face "gee boss I dunno what happened"


Theres a good chance Apple care will fix the repair but they may try to weasel out of it if they knew you were bit mining with it.

This is what I did. The tech dept ended up having to replace the Mobo and video card, but was covered by Apple Care.

All-in-all, it ended up ok, but probably not worth the .5 BTC I made Tongue

At least you got a half bitcoin!  Don't spend it all in one place!

kwiky
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 08:22:15 PM
 #28

OK I just measured the power through my iMac with a 6750 chip in it.

iMac not mining:              72 watts.
iMac running DiabloMiner: 88 watts.

So turning mining on adds 16 watts!  Whereas mining on my 5850 adds about 150 watts.

The iMac is not using much power for the graphics card!

The the electricity to keep the iMac on all day mining is only $0.34.  Whereas the 44 MHash/second earns you $0.85.

So the iMac is still profitable as a miner.

Sam
You do realize that is a 6750M as MOBILE, as in a laptop chip. 6750M is not the same as a desktop 6750 (if there even is such a thing).

Herodes
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 12:58:09 AM
 #29

Hm.. If you bought an expensive car, should you not be able to drive it across America without it breaking down the first night?

Yet you accept that an iMac breaks down after one night of bitcoin mining ?

Sounds like poor engineering from Apple's part if you ask me. What's the point of having a powerful computer if it can't be run to the maximum? Would you buy a house with 8 rooms, where you could never use more than 5 of the rooms, and if you did, the house would fall apart?


I am sure there are legitimate uses of running the GPU's at full speed apart from bitcoin mining. But now everyone know to stay away from the iMac when mining.

What about suing Apple over this? Would it be less ridiculous than Apple suing MACARAJA?

Leon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
July 13, 2011, 04:25:42 AM
 #30

Wow sorry to hear that but still kinda LOL.  Tongue

Opening a webhost soon. Free for the first 5 orders!
http://img593.imageshack.us/img593/7034/iluvbitcoin.png
Stupidpal
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 06:02:36 AM
 #31

I mine with my iMac. It's got a 6750M as well. But I've notched up the fans with SMC Fan Control so the GPU temp doesn't go beyond 60 C.

If I helped, tip me! Smiley http://btc.to/a7
The easiest way to earn Bitcoins! BitCatch Randomizer
ninjasmurf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
April 15, 2013, 12:38:17 AM
 #32

old topic but question that i'm still trying to answer: how loud is your iMac while mining? thanks in advance. have a lovely day.

is BFL going to ship before the end of the year? tip your answer.
Yes = 1hWezTD2J55HnvNrFAzhfpXkrDi3DLK1E or No = 13VMhP3seeXU5aej82R89AJV4X32x81Nju
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 654



View Profile WWW
April 15, 2013, 05:15:38 PM
 #33

old topic but question that i'm still trying to answer: how loud is your iMac while mining? thanks in advance. have a lovely day.

I'm guessing the fans would go all the way up. Hear what that sounds like by googling and downloading smcfancontrol which lets you set preferred fan speed settings from the menubar. Just create a setting where the fans are on full. I do that for mining on Mac Pros and they're pretty loud either way, but my MacBook Pro is fairly quiet even on full. Seeing as you have a mobile GPU it might not be too bad.

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
GoldSeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile
April 15, 2013, 11:17:50 PM
 #34

Don't steal from work.

If you would like to support Casinocoin development, please consider contributing BTC to : 1NGvxkdQra41xcy7JWnucnLg7nV169p8js
These funds will be used to pay for external development.
Personal CSC addresses: CbPcvneUmRuQc9k651ezm7hjK89PRGyLsE & CMUMq6WNpk1EjoMoiVuETRcEwxKAGJstZT
Operatr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


www.DonateMedia.org


View Profile WWW
April 16, 2013, 01:24:03 AM
 #35

A mac is a terrible, inefficient choice for mining of any kind. A purpose built PC can do it much better and allows for future expansion with more GPUs, or as a host system for future ASIC devices, diverting GPU power to Litecoin later on as GPU mining for Bitcoin is just about to get snuffed out by immensely superior hardware.

BBQKorv
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
April 18, 2013, 05:01:40 PM
 #36

It's funny how i-devices are not designed such a way you could utilize their 100% potentional without damaging them. All at the cost of better looks and "usability".

Like a car that breaks a propshaft if you put your feet down, who would buy such a car? Somehow it seems to be acceptable in electronics.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!