Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2018, 05:00:10 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: L3+/L3++ voltage tuning script  (Read 1455 times)
TheMiningDwarf
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 1


View Profile
June 22, 2018, 12:46:02 AM
 #61

I feared this wouldn't fix it, would have surprised me somehow anyways but everybody gets a lucky shot at times  Cool

I just don't seem to see the problem yet, I even have setup a "fake/simulated" L3++ for my script that hands out the json reply from you and guess what: works nicely.

Need some sleep first and will look over it tomorrow again, right now I am out of ideas and its hard to fix a problem I don't see and can't reproduce.

Though thanks for your support and input so far, that's motivating.



Thanks, I guess, but you are helping me out a lot more then I help you, I am the one with L3++ needing your help Smiley
1537506010
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537506010

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537506010
Reply with quote  #2

1537506010
Report to moderator
1537506010
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537506010

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537506010
Reply with quote  #2

1537506010
Report to moderator
1537506010
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537506010

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537506010
Reply with quote  #2

1537506010
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537506010
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537506010

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537506010
Reply with quote  #2

1537506010
Report to moderator
1537506010
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537506010

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537506010
Reply with quote  #2

1537506010
Report to moderator
1537506010
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537506010

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537506010
Reply with quote  #2

1537506010
Report to moderator
psycodad
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 781
Merit: 506


精神分析的爸


View Profile
June 23, 2018, 03:13:16 PM
 #62

I feared this wouldn't fix it, would have surprised me somehow anyways but everybody gets a lucky shot at times  Cool

I just don't seem to see the problem yet, I even have setup a "fake/simulated" L3++ for my script that hands out the json reply from you and guess what: works nicely.

Need some sleep first and will look over it tomorrow again, right now I am out of ideas and its hard to fix a problem I don't see and can't reproduce.

Though thanks for your support and input so far, that's motivating.



Thanks, I guess, but you are helping me out a lot more then I help you, I am the one with L3++ needing your help Smiley

I had another potentially uber brilliant idea for a fix  Grin Could you do 'git pull' and give it another try?

Protestatio facto contraria non valet.
TheMiningDwarf
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 1


View Profile
June 24, 2018, 08:40:23 AM
 #63

I feared this wouldn't fix it, would have surprised me somehow anyways but everybody gets a lucky shot at times  Cool

I just don't seem to see the problem yet, I even have setup a "fake/simulated" L3++ for my script that hands out the json reply from you and guess what: works nicely.

Need some sleep first and will look over it tomorrow again, right now I am out of ideas and its hard to fix a problem I don't see and can't reproduce.

Though thanks for your support and input so far, that's motivating.



Thanks, I guess, but you are helping me out a lot more then I help you, I am the one with L3++ needing your help Smiley

I had another potentially uber brilliant idea for a fix  Grin Could you do 'git pull' and give it another try?

you are a genious lol
it seems to be working
I am running the script on a L3++ now no error, will let you know the outcome Smiley
psycodad
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 781
Merit: 506


精神分析的爸


View Profile
June 24, 2018, 02:25:11 PM
 #64

That's a relief to hear! Still can't believe my own stupidity to oversee this.

Protestatio facto contraria non valet.
TheMiningDwarf
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 1


View Profile
June 24, 2018, 03:13:46 PM
 #65

That's a relief to hear! Still can't believe my own stupidity to oversee this.
Dont be sor hard on yourself
It works like a charm now
Thanks so so much
send me your BTC adress please for your time and help
TheMiningDwarf
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 1


View Profile
June 25, 2018, 03:10:18 PM
 #66

That's a relief to hear! Still can't believe my own stupidity to oversee this.

Hi,
I had a power outtage while running the script
now I get an error msg trying to run it again
The L3++ run and hash properly
I reboot them
remove the power for 5 mins and retried
still get that error since the power outtage

jhgosselin@Master-VRTJMB:~/bitmain-tools/scripts$ ./l3plus_autotune.py -i 10.0.100.135
/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Crypto/Cipher/blockalgo.py:141: FutureWarning: CTR mode needs counter parameter, not IV
  self._cipher = factory.new(key, *args, **kwargs)
Undefined errors occured fetching voltage settings from miner:
sh: /config/sv: Permission denied
psycodad
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 781
Merit: 506


精神分析的爸


View Profile
June 25, 2018, 07:02:01 PM
 #67

That's a relief to hear! Still can't believe my own stupidity to oversee this.
Dont be sor hard on yourself
It works like a charm now
Thanks so so much
send me your BTC adress please for your time and help

The script shows a BTC and LTC address of mine when it finishes or gets aborted (CTRL-C), though it is really not necessary, your patience and help in getting this fixed were greatly appreciated and as you can see the topic now proudly claims "L3+/L3++..."  Cheesy


That's a relief to hear! Still can't believe my own stupidity to oversee this.

Hi,
I had a power outtage while running the script
now I get an error msg trying to run it again
The L3++ run and hash properly
I reboot them
remove the power for 5 mins and retried
still get that error since the power outtage

jhgosselin@Master-VRTJMB:~/bitmain-tools/scripts$ ./l3plus_autotune.py -i 10.0.100.135
/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Crypto/Cipher/blockalgo.py:141: FutureWarning: CTR mode needs counter parameter, not IV
  self._cipher = factory.new(key, *args, **kwargs)
Undefined errors occured fetching voltage settings from miner:
sh: /config/sv: Permission denied


Just for curiousity: Did that happen on all your L3++, multiples or just one?

Sounds like the sv binary on the Antminer got corrupted from the power outage, the easiest way to resolve this is by removing the file:

- ssh to the l3++ in question as root
- remove the file with "rm /config/sv"

Once it is removed (you can check this with "ls -la /config/") you just run the script again and it will install a fresh copy of it when it finds it missing.

HTH

Protestatio facto contraria non valet.
psycodad
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 781
Merit: 506


精神分析的爸


View Profile
July 23, 2018, 05:37:42 PM
 #68

Since many asked how much you can save with down-volting, I took the opportunity to make some measurements with the new L3+ I received today with a Wattmeter.
The power supply used in this test is an EVGA 1600 platinum rated, power supply input was ~236VAC and the ambient temp was ~27-28°C:

L3+(+) Model Frequency Temperatures Wattage Voltage settings Errors/min (avg)
L3+ (07/18)38460/61/59/57878W0x80/0x80/0x80/0x800/0/0/0
L3+ (07/18)38456/56/55/53733W*0xfe/0xfe/0xfe/0xfe0.01/0.04/0/0

Code:
| Temp Chips | 56 C | 56 C | 55 C | 53 C |
| Err 5min   | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
| Err 10min  | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
| Err 15min  | 0.07 | 0.07 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
| Err All    | 0.01 | 0.04 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
**************************************************
| Start 18:14.52 | 0x80 | 0x80 | 0x80 | 0x80 |
| Start 18:14.52 | 60 C | 61 C | 59 C | 57 C |
| End   19:29.55 | 0xfe | 0xfe | 0xfe | 0xfe |
| End   19:29.55 | 56 C | 56 C | 55 C | 53 C |
**************************************************
Report written to /tmp/192.168.9.221-rxYPcO.rep
Finished tuning, miner stable AFAICS

*That's a whopping ~145W or ~16.5% savings, I did really expect more like 70-90W so I am quite (positively) surprised.

When I do further experiments with different frequencies I will update this post with new data, others are welcome to contribute their findings.

HTH

Protestatio facto contraria non valet.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1052



View Profile
July 27, 2018, 07:14:42 AM
 #69

Any chance you can mod this script to work with the BlissZ firmware?

psycodad
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 781
Merit: 506


精神分析的爸


View Profile
July 27, 2018, 09:12:28 AM
 #70

Any chance you can mod this script to work with the BlissZ firmware?

AFAIK it should work with Blissz firmware too, somebody helped me earlier to adapt it for the json output of Blissz:

https://github.com/psycodad-bct/bitmain-tools/blob/master/scripts/l3plus_autotune.py#L102

If you have problems running it, please post the output that the script is spewing out before it terminates.

Protestatio facto contraria non valet.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1052



View Profile
July 27, 2018, 09:39:40 AM
 #71

Failed to decode json reply:
Extra data: line 1 column 1479 - line 1 column 1480 (char 1478 - 1479)

{"STATUS":[{"STATUS":"S","When":1532684339,"Code":70,"Msg":"CGMiner stats","Description":"cgminer 4.10.0"}],"STATS":[{"CGMiner":"4.10.0","Miner":"1.0.1.3","CompileTime":"Sun Jan 14 00:00:57 CST 2018","Type":"Antminer L3+ Blissz v1.02"},{"STATS":0,"ID":"L30","Elapsed":9059,"Calls":0,"Wait":0.000000,"Max":0.000000,"Min":99999999.000000,"GHS 5s":"556.241","GHS av":552.29,"miner_count":4,"frequency":"425","frequency1":425,"frequency2":425,"frequency3":425,"frequency4":425,"volt1":"7","volt2":"7","volt3":"7","volt4":"7","watt1":216,"watt2":216,"watt3":216,"watt4":216,"fan_num":2,"fan1":3114,"fan2":2508,"temp_num":4,"temp1":52,"temp2":53,"temp3":50,"temp4":50,"temp2_1":60,"temp2_2":60,"temp2_3":57,"temp2_4":57,"temp31":0,"temp32":0,"temp33":0,"temp34":0,"temp4_1":0,"temp4_2":0,"temp4_3":0,"temp4_4":0,"temp_max":53,"Device Hardware%":0.0000,"no_matching_work":23,"chain_acn1":72,"chain_acn2":72,"chain_acn3":72,"chain_acn4":72,"chain_acs1":" oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo","chain_acs2":" oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo","chain_acs3":" oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo","chain_acs4":" oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo","chain_hw1":0,"chain_hw2":0,"chain_hw3":0,"chain_hw4":23,"chain_rate1":"139.20","chain_rate2":"139.48","chain_rate3":"138.91","chain_rate4":"138.65"}],"id":1}

psycodad
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 781
Merit: 506


精神分析的爸


View Profile
July 27, 2018, 02:09:33 PM
 #72

Failed to decode json reply:
Extra data: line 1 column 1479 - line 1 column 1480 (char 1478 - 1479)
...

Thank you, it seems I ‎unintentionally never followed up on arnold_mad who reported this problem previously and thought it to be fixed. It's just a blind guess that the json output of the Blissz firmware has the same unprintable character at the end as all others have.

Could you do a 'git pull' and try to re-run the script and see if you get any further?

TIA

Protestatio facto contraria non valet.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1052



View Profile
July 28, 2018, 02:37:44 PM
 #73

Failed to decode json reply:
Extra data: line 1 column 1479 - line 1 column 1480 (char 1478 - 1479)
...

Thank you, it seems I ‎unintentionally never followed up on arnold_mad who reported this problem previously and thought it to be fixed. It's just a blind guess that the json output of the Blissz firmware has the same unprintable character at the end as all others have.

Could you do a 'git pull' and try to re-run the script and see if you get any further?

TIA

= Running since: 00:00.06, now sleeping for 54.8s =

Wohoo, it works! Thanks  Grin

allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1052



View Profile
July 31, 2018, 02:36:22 AM
 #74

"= Running since: 00:08.06, now sleeping for 54.7s =
Invalid boards read, aborted!
9 3
"

psycodad
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 781
Merit: 506


精神分析的爸


View Profile
July 31, 2018, 08:48:03 AM
 #75

"= Running since: 00:08.06, now sleeping for 54.7s =
Invalid boards read, aborted!
9 3
"

This means that the voltage tool couldn't read voltage of all 4 blades during this run.
If the error persists over several tries, a cold reboot can cure it normally. I've only seen this on one of my miners that ran for more than 180 days and after a cold boot it went away.

Personally and if possible I recommend a cold boot (switching the miner off for 10-15min and back on).

Protestatio facto contraria non valet.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1052



View Profile
July 31, 2018, 09:03:15 AM
 #76

"= Running since: 00:08.06, now sleeping for 54.7s =
Invalid boards read, aborted!
9 3
"

This means that the voltage tool couldn't read voltage of all 4 blades during this run.
If the error persists over several tries, a cold reboot can cure it normally. I've only seen this on one of my miners that ran for more than 180 days and after a cold boot it went away.

Personally and if possible I recommend a cold boot (switching the miner off for 10-15min and back on).


Thanks for the help. I will give that a try. I'm wondering if there is a way to make the voltage changes persistent.


psycodad
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 781
Merit: 506


精神分析的爸


View Profile
July 31, 2018, 10:00:14 AM
 #77

"= Running since: 00:08.06, now sleeping for 54.7s =
Invalid boards read, aborted!
9 3
"

This means that the voltage tool couldn't read voltage of all 4 blades during this run.
If the error persists over several tries, a cold reboot can cure it normally. I've only seen this on one of my miners that ran for more than 180 days and after a cold boot it went away.

Personally and if possible I recommend a cold boot (switching the miner off for 10-15min and back on).


Thanks for the help. I will give that a try. I'm wondering if there is a way to make the voltage changes persistent.



The voltages you yourself (w/ set_voltage) or my tuning tool set are persistent over cold and warm reboots as they are set in the non-volatile memory of the PIC controller on each hashboard.

Protestatio facto contraria non valet.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1052



View Profile
July 31, 2018, 11:01:05 AM
 #78

"= Running since: 00:08.06, now sleeping for 54.7s =
Invalid boards read, aborted!
9 3
"

This means that the voltage tool couldn't read voltage of all 4 blades during this run.
If the error persists over several tries, a cold reboot can cure it normally. I've only seen this on one of my miners that ran for more than 180 days and after a cold boot it went away.

Personally and if possible I recommend a cold boot (switching the miner off for 10-15min and back on).


Thanks for the help. I will give that a try. I'm wondering if there is a way to make the voltage changes persistent.



The voltages you yourself (w/ set_voltage) or my tuning tool set are persistent over cold and warm reboots as they are set in the non-volatile memory of the PIC controller on each hashboard.


Awesome, thanks for clearing that up for me.


TheMiningDwarf
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 1


View Profile
September 16, 2018, 03:13:25 PM
Merited by psycodad (1)
 #79

I found back the btc adress : 14kfN1siTWYsLxteeDxXJBfk8ZP74u2Pbz
Sent to you
Sorry for the delay
check your pm please
psycodad
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 781
Merit: 506


精神分析的爸


View Profile
September 17, 2018, 07:53:19 PM
 #80

I found back the btc adress : 14kfN1siTWYsLxteeDxXJBfk8ZP74u2Pbz
Sent to you
Sorry for the delay
check your pm please

Thank you very much, greatly appreciated!
Have a merit for generously supporting open source software development!


Protestatio facto contraria non valet.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!