Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2024, 11:41:48 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 [139] 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 ... 197 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [LOCKED] cpuminer-opt v3.12.3, open source optimized multi-algo CPU miner  (Read 443960 times)
StelioKontos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 839
Merit: 267


Chad Hodler since 2013


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 12:21:57 AM
 #2761

I'm trying to compile the 3.7.0 on a Centos 6.9 vm on virtualbox to later copy it ont a real machine server running the same Centos 6.9, I don't even know if it makes sense, but I'm doing it to not install extra packages in the real server.

After managing to bypass several errors and difficulties such as the #pragma error of gcc 4.4.7 by upgrading gcc (not so obvious), now I'm stuck with these:



Does a fix exist for the errors above or alternatively does a precompiled version exist of cpuminer-opt-3.7.0 to run in a Centos 6.9 system with this processor: https://ark.intel.com/it/products/88173/Intel-Xeon-Processor-E3-1245-v5-8M-Cache-3_50-GHz ( SSE4.1/4.2, AVX2 )?

Thank you in advance.

freebitcoin
BTC faucet & more
1714045308
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714045308

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714045308
Reply with quote  #2

1714045308
Report to moderator
"This isn't the kind of software where we can leave so many unresolved bugs that we need a tracker for them." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714045308
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714045308

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714045308
Reply with quote  #2

1714045308
Report to moderator
joblo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1114


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 04:46:17 AM
 #2762

I'm trying to compile the 3.7.0 on a Centos 6.9 vm on virtualbox to later copy it ont a real machine server running the same Centos 6.9, I don't even know if it makes sense, but I'm doing it to not install extra packages in the real server.

After managing to bypass several errors and difficulties such as the #pragma error of gcc 4.4.7 by upgrading gcc (not so obvious), now I'm stuck with these:


Does a fix exist for the errors above or alternatively does a precompiled version exist of cpuminer-opt-3.7.0 to run in a Centos 6.9 system with this processor: https://ark.intel.com/it/products/88173/Intel-Xeon-Processor-E3-1245-v5-8M-Cache-3_50-GHz ( SSE4.1/4.2, AVX2 )?

Thank you in advance.

Those real servers would need most of the same packages, it's probably not worth it.

As for your compile error the first error is always the most important. From what you posted it looks like the Intel intrinsics aren't insrtalled.
You may find earlier errors for missing immintrin.h or files with similar names. I don't know if they exist for Centos 6, it's very old, or what
the package might be called.

AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
StelioKontos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 839
Merit: 267


Chad Hodler since 2013


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 07:19:14 AM
 #2763

Those real servers would need most of the same packages, it's probably not worth it.

As for your compile error the first error is always the most important. From what you posted it looks like the Intel intrinsics aren't insrtalled.
You may find earlier errors for missing immintrin.h or files with similar names. I don't know if they exist for Centos 6, it's very old, or what
the package might be called.

Thanks for reply. Since I've root access on those dedicated machines I could install the packages but I preferrerd not, let's see. Too bad Centos was installed instead of Ubuntu. Sad

freebitcoin
BTC faucet & more
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2017, 10:29:40 AM
 #2764

Those real servers would need most of the same packages, it's probably not worth it.

As for your compile error the first error is always the most important. From what you posted it looks like the Intel intrinsics aren't insrtalled.
You may find earlier errors for missing immintrin.h or files with similar names. I don't know if they exist for Centos 6, it's very old, or what
the package might be called.

Thanks for reply. Since I've root access on those dedicated machines I could install the packages but I preferrerd not, let's see. Too bad Centos was installed instead of Ubuntu. Sad

You could run everything inside docker, if you are comfortable with that
4ward
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 473
Merit: 18


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 10:56:49 AM
 #2765

It's controlled by configure.ac at line 111:

Code:
# GC2 for GNU static
if test "x$OS" = "xWindows_NT" ; then
   # MinGW
   AC_CHECK_LIB([pthread], [pthread_create], PTHREAD_LIBS="-lpthreadGC2",[])
else
   AC_CHECK_LIB([pthread], [pthread_create], PTHREAD_LIBS="-lpthread",[])
fi

It works as intended in the old MSYS environment but on cygwin linking fails because it can't find pthreadGC2.
I can't get cygwin to use the mingw toolchain which includes pthreadGC2. I've tried using --host and --build with
no luck.

yup, after linking with pthreadGC2 it works fine.
and it looks like it brings a very slight improve in performance (about 1% or so in a few algos that i benchmarked)
compiling sha version also works, too bad i don't have hardware to test it

StelioKontos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 839
Merit: 267


Chad Hodler since 2013


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 11:58:13 AM
 #2766

You could run everything inside docker, if you are comfortable with that

First time I heard of it, this could give an hint on how comfy I'm with it Smiley

Is is a vm manager like virtualbox or some kinda vps? Fact is I'm already paying - well, my boss is - for some dedicated servers with much power not to use and I'd loved to use them before going to spend other money around.

(sorry to the op because of this offtopic)

freebitcoin
BTC faucet & more
joblo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1114


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 04:39:04 PM
Last edit: October 27, 2017, 05:46:51 PM by joblo
 #2767

yup, after linking with pthreadGC2 it works fine.
and it looks like it brings a very slight improve in performance (about 1% or so in a few algos that i benchmarked)
compiling sha version also works, too bad i don't have hardware to test it

Good to read you got it working but too bad no significant improvement.

At my end I got it working using http://www.msys2.org/ but again no significant performance difference.

Msys2 is pretty clumsy to setup, nice installer but it only installs a minimal base system. Then you use a clumsy
package manager to install everything else.

gcc 6.3 7.2 and openssl 1.0.2l are available. Compiling with SHA works but I couldn't verify due to lack of SHA CPU.
It works fine from within Msys2 shell, getting it to work from a DOS shell required copying all the DLLs included in Mingw,
over 40 of them.

I don't like bundling DLLs, just delivering a Windows binary is scary enough. I was hoping there was a way to download
just the DLLs from Msys2 but they are all hidden in individual package files. It seems the only way to get them is to install
Msys2 and all the packages that provide the DLLs.

AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2017, 08:26:45 PM
 #2768

You could run everything inside docker, if you are comfortable with that

First time I heard of it, this could give an hint on how comfy I'm with it Smiley

Is is a vm manager like virtualbox or some kinda vps? Fact is I'm already paying - well, my boss is - for some dedicated servers with much power not to use and I'd loved to use them before going to spend other money around.

(sorry to the op because of this offtopic)

here is a good starting point on what docker is: https://opensource.com/resources/what-docker
dunedainbob
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 28, 2017, 11:58:40 PM
 #2769

Is this "yescryptR16" actually a new algorithm, or is it just yescrypt?   https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2329470.0

If new, any plans to support?  

Thanks!

Edit: source is at https://github.com/conan-equal-newone/yenten

   SEMUX   -   An innovative high-performance blockchain platform   
▬▬▬▬▬      Powered by Semux BFT consensus algorithm      ▬▬▬▬▬
Github    -    Discord    -    Twitter    -    Telegram    -    Get Free Airdrop Now!
joblo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1114


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 01:28:13 AM
 #2770

Is this "yescryptR16" actually a new algorithm, or is it just yescrypt?   https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2329470.0

If new, any plans to support?  

Thanks!

Edit: source is at https://github.com/conan-equal-newone/yenten

Not until there's a stratum pool where I can test. It looks like the same hash function with different parameters.

AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
dunedainbob
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 02:12:00 AM
 #2771

Is this "yescryptR16" actually a new algorithm, or is it just yescrypt?   https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2329470.0

If new, any plans to support?  

Thanks!

Edit: source is at https://github.com/conan-equal-newone/yenten

Not until there's a stratum pool where I can test. It looks like the same hash function with different parameters.

Is http://www.ypool.co a stratum pool?  Could you use that?  The pool operator apparently thought it was regular yescrypt so he set it up that way, but he's obviously not finding any blocks because no one is actually sending him yescryptR16 solutions.  Can you use his mistake to test, or does it not work that way?

BTW I don't mean to be pushy, if you can't be bothered (edit: or if it won't work) it's fine, I just thought I'd let you know in case you wanted to.

   SEMUX   -   An innovative high-performance blockchain platform   
▬▬▬▬▬      Powered by Semux BFT consensus algorithm      ▬▬▬▬▬
Github    -    Discord    -    Twitter    -    Telegram    -    Get Free Airdrop Now!
StelioKontos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 839
Merit: 267


Chad Hodler since 2013


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 01:39:06 PM
 #2772

I'm trying to compile the 3.7.0 on a Centos 6.9 vm on virtualbox to later copy it ont a real machine server running the same Centos 6.9, I don't even know if it makes sense, but I'm doing it to not install extra packages in the real server.

After managing to bypass several errors and difficulties such as the #pragma error of gcc 4.4.7 by upgrading gcc (not so obvious), now I'm stuck with these:


Does a fix exist for the errors above or alternatively does a precompiled version exist of cpuminer-opt-3.7.0 to run in a Centos 6.9 system with this processor: https://ark.intel.com/it/products/88173/Intel-Xeon-Processor-E3-1245-v5-8M-Cache-3_50-GHz ( SSE4.1/4.2, AVX2 )?

Thank you in advance.

Those real servers would need most of the same packages, it's probably not worth it.

As for your compile error the first error is always the most important. From what you posted it looks like the Intel intrinsics aren't insrtalled.
You may find earlier errors for missing immintrin.h or files with similar names. I don't know if they exist for Centos 6, it's very old, or what
the package might be called.

I'm slowly trying to come to an end at this Smiley

Followed your advice, did a make -B > makelog.txt.

First lines to popup on screen (they weren't redirected to makelog.txt, strange), were about 10 of this:

configure: WARNING: The assembler does not support the AVX2 instruction set.

It seems for that I need gcc 4.7 at least, I'm running gcc 4.4.7, I'll try to update this as first thing.


freebitcoin
BTC faucet & more
StelioKontos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 839
Merit: 267


Chad Hodler since 2013


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 01:40:08 PM
 #2773

You could run everything inside docker, if you are comfortable with that

First time I heard of it, this could give an hint on how comfy I'm with it Smiley

Is is a vm manager like virtualbox or some kinda vps? Fact is I'm already paying - well, my boss is - for some dedicated servers with much power not to use and I'd loved to use them before going to spend other money around.

(sorry to the op because of this offtopic)

here is a good starting point on what docker is: https://opensource.com/resources/what-docker

Thank you, I'll surely need that once I manage to compile the miner.

freebitcoin
BTC faucet & more
StelioKontos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 839
Merit: 267


Chad Hodler since 2013


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 02:27:57 PM
Last edit: October 29, 2017, 03:52:51 PM by StelioKontos
 #2774

configure: WARNING: The assembler does not support the AVX2 instruction set.

It seems for that I need gcc 4.7 at least, I'm running gcc 4.4.7, I'll try to update this as first thing.

Sorry if I flood the thread, but it may be useful information to others, too.

Managed to update to gcc 4.9 (thanks to this guy's comment), with:

(reminder: I'm on Centos6.9)

sudo yum install centos-release-scl
sudo yum install devtoolset-3-toolchain
scl enable devtoolset-3 bash

Relaunched make, got these lines on screen (still out of redirected txt, duh):



warning: implicit declaration of function ‘syslog’ [-Wimplicit-function-declaration]

Then many other lines started to popout, ending with these, that may be related to Intel intrinsics already mentioned before:



Now I try to fix all these, if you have any clues to spare, thank you in advance.

Found this for _mm_shuffle_epi8 of the last screenshot : https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb531427(v=vs.120).aspx

The full makelog2.txt: https://pastebin.com/yr6dexwL

---

after digging here and there, it looks like a matter of upgrading GCC to the greater version available, from my current 4.9 to 6.x or 7.x even.

freebitcoin
BTC faucet & more
StelioKontos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 839
Merit: 267


Chad Hodler since 2013


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 05:48:07 PM
 #2775

Another update, sorry for the spam.

Managed to install devtoolset-6 (GCC 6.3.1), it was quite straightforward:

Code:
sudo yum install centos-release-scl
sudo yum install devtoolset-6
scl enable devtoolset-6 bash



The errors are always there, but at least they more detailed. They are all very similar, I'll paste just one:

Code:
In file included from algo/echo/aes_ni/vperm.h:20:0,
    from algo/echo/aes_ni/hash:21:
/opt/rh/devtoolset-6/root/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-redhat-linux/6.3.1/include/tmmintrin.h:136:1: error: inlining failed in call to always_inline '_mm_shuffle_epi8' : target specific option mismatch
 _mm_shuffle_epi8 (__m128i __X, __m128i __Y)
 ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Searching in and here found just this similar question: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/43128698/inlining-failed-in-call-to-always-inline-mm-mullo-epi32-target-specific-opti but not much idea how to proceed.

freebitcoin
BTC faucet & more
joblo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1114


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 06:19:35 PM
 #2776

Another update, sorry for the spam.

Managed to install devtoolset-6 (GCC 6.3.1), it was quite straightforward:

Code:
sudo yum install centos-release-scl
sudo yum install devtoolset-6
scl enable devtoolset-6 bash

The errors are always there, but at least they more detailed. They are all very similar, I'll paste just one:

Code:
In file included from algo/echo/aes_ni/vperm.h:20:0,
    from algo/echo/aes_ni/hash:21:
/opt/rh/devtoolset-6/root/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-redhat-linux/6.3.1/include/tmmintrin.h:136:1: error: inlining failed in call to always_inline '_mm_shuffle_epi8' : target specific option mismatch
 _mm_shuffle_epi8 (__m128i __X, __m128i __Y)
 ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Searching in and here found just this similar question: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/43128698/inlining-failed-in-call-to-always-inline-mm-mullo-epi32-target-specific-opti but not much idea how to proceed.

You're trying to compile for a CPU archietcture simulated by Virtualbox. Even if the compile was successful it wouldn't work properly
on real hardware. I do not support attempts to cross compile on Linux. You're on your own.

AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
joblo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1114


View Profile
October 31, 2017, 04:45:45 AM
 #2777

cpuminer-opt-3.7.1 is released.

Added yescryptr16 algo for Yenten coin
Added SHA support to yescrypt and yescryptr16

These features have not been tested and have a higher risk of problems. Please report any problems
in this thread.

It would also be appreciated if a Ryzen user could report the performance difference with SHA enabled.
SHA support requires compiling from source on a recent Linux distribution, see RELEASE_NOTES
for details. The Windows binaries do not include SHA support.

git: https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt

tarball: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0lVSGQYLJIZZXoyZkRNLUc2cE0/view?usp=sharing

windows binaries: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0lVSGQYLJIZTTV6YnhnV3F0eWc/view?usp=sharing

AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
FlowLive
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 31, 2017, 04:55:23 PM
 #2778

cpuminer-opt-3.7.1 is released.

Added yescryptr16 algo for Yenten coin
Added SHA support to yescrypt and yescryptr16

These features have not been tested and have a higher risk of problems. Please report any problems
in this thread.

It would also be appreciated if a Ryzen user could report the performance difference with SHA enabled.
SHA support requires compiling from source on a recent Linux distribution, see RELEASE_NOTES
for details. The Windows binaries do not include SHA support.

git: https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt

tarball: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0lVSGQYLJIZZXoyZkRNLUc2cE0/view?usp=sharing

windows binaries: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0lVSGQYLJIZTTV6YnhnV3F0eWc/view?usp=sharing

Do you mean to say that SHA is now enabled in binaries? Or only for yescrypt and yescriptr16 or that it still needs to be compiled regardless?

Also I am trying to mine Yenten but keep getting

Code:
[2017-10-31 12:54:42] stratum_recv_line failed
[2017-10-31 12:54:42] ...retry after 10 seconds
joblo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1114


View Profile
October 31, 2017, 05:11:22 PM
 #2779


Do you mean to say that SHA is now enabled in binaries? Or only for yescrypt and yescriptr16 or that it still needs to be compiled regardless?

Also I am trying to mine Yenten but keep getting

Code:
[2017-10-31 12:54:42] stratum_recv_line failed
[2017-10-31 12:54:42] ...retry after 10 seconds

There is no SHA support in any binaries for any algos. The only way to get it is to compile yourself with a supported
CPU, compiler, openssl, and algo.

I'm not aware of any working pools but the error you see suggests a connection was made and then failed.
Need more info including command line (minus sensitive data) and miner output. If there is a working pool
I can do some testing myself.

I see you also posted connection problems in the Yenten thread. That is likely the cause of your stratum errors,
assuming you are trying to connect to an external address, ie a pool.
 
Stratum is the default if you don't specify the protocol in the url. If you're mining the wallet you must specify
-o http://<ipaddr>:<port>

Also don't use -a yescrypt for yenten, that's the old yescrypt but was used as a quick and dirty hack in yenten-minerd.



AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
FlowLive
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 31, 2017, 05:16:40 PM
 #2780

Yes I use yescryptr16 and it's solo mining.

The only way I succeeded was but connecting a vpn... weird...

So now I can mine using the built-in miner or using minerd, I'm getting around 1100h/s but wanted to see the difference with yours as I always get better results with it!
Pages: « 1 ... 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 [139] 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 ... 197 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!