Bitcoin Forum
October 24, 2019, 12:37:40 AM *
News: Help collect the most notable posts made over the last 10 years.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help with windows 8 sleep mode  (Read 1374 times)
Shotgun_WooWoo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 09, 2013, 05:35:17 PM
 #1

I need to find out how to set a program to run in windows 8 when it enters sleep mode.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571877460
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571877460

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571877460
Reply with quote  #2

1571877460
Report to moderator
1571877460
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571877460

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571877460
Reply with quote  #2

1571877460
Report to moderator
1571877460
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571877460

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571877460
Reply with quote  #2

1571877460
Report to moderator
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1001



View Profile
January 10, 2013, 01:31:12 AM
 #2

My understanding is that getting a program to run in sleep mode is a contradiction.  Sleep mode is the mode in which programs to not run.  DRAM refresh is reduced to the bare minimum and the CPU is deactivated until a hardware signal awakens it.

If you meant "when it leaves sleep mode", you'll need to have a program that watches for the SystemEvents.PowerModeChanged event, and then triggers whatever you need to do.  Such a utility may already exist.

17Np17BSrpnHCZ2pgtiMNnhjnsWJ2TMqq8
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
Shotgun_WooWoo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 10, 2013, 03:16:04 AM
 #3

You are correct, I just disabled sleep mode and set it to turn off the screen only.

grue
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1208



View Profile
January 10, 2013, 03:31:36 PM
 #4

You are correct, I just disabled sleep mode and set it to turn off the screen only.
that still uses electricity for the monitor; it just sends a blank signal

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Adblock for annoying signature ads | Enhanced Merit UI
Shotgun_WooWoo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 11, 2013, 07:09:52 PM
 #5

It works fine for bitcoin mining for me, I don't have to deal that much with electricity.

kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1001



View Profile
January 11, 2013, 09:38:25 PM
 #6

You are correct, I just disabled sleep mode and set it to turn off the screen only.
that still uses electricity for the monitor; it just sends a blank signal

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VESA_Display_Power_Management_Signaling

17Np17BSrpnHCZ2pgtiMNnhjnsWJ2TMqq8
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!