Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2018, 10:13:45 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How To Setup A Cpu/ Gpu For Mining?  (Read 2475 times)
chroniclel33t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 07, 2016, 12:50:38 PM
 #1

hi guys, wondering how to setup a cpu and such for mining bitcoins, thanks.
1537870425
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537870425

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537870425
Reply with quote  #2

1537870425
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537870425
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537870425

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537870425
Reply with quote  #2

1537870425
Report to moderator
1537870425
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537870425

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537870425
Reply with quote  #2

1537870425
Report to moderator
makingwin1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 07, 2016, 01:03:14 PM
 #2

i prefer having amd gpu and cpu becouse they will work more efficiently.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
February 07, 2016, 01:32:55 PM
 #3

Mining with CPU hasn't been viable for over five years and GPU hasn't been viable for going on three years.

ASIC mining hardware is now required to mine Bitcoin.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
chroniclel33t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 07, 2016, 01:59:39 PM
 #4

Mining with CPU hasn't been viable for over five years and GPU hasn't been viable for going on three years.

ASIC mining hardware is now required to mine Bitcoin.

all good, i have many servers with very high specs, i am not talking for a 1 machine job. i have a bunch of servers.
mwizard
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 07, 2016, 02:28:22 PM
 #5


all good, i have many servers with very high specs, i am not talking for a 1 machine job. i have a bunch of servers.

I suggest you go to this site and work out the hash rate/second of your systems.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Non-specialized_hardware_comparison

For the purposes of this discussion we will give it a fast graphics board, say 500 megahash/second, or 0.5 gigahash/second.  This would earn about 2 cents a month as a Bitcoin miner.  

A single typical ASIC miner runs at about 5,000 Gigahash/second. This is 10,000 times faster than your PC.  

So if you have 10,000 PCs you may have the same hash rate as 1 ASIC miner (S7) and earn about $200 this month, and less in following months.  You will also generate an enormous electricity bill with the PCs.

The total current hash network runs at 1,100,000,000 gigahash/second.  This is about 2 billion times faster than a high end PC.  

So even if you have a million PCs it is still hardly anything.   The days of PC and GPU Bitcoin mining have long gone. 

The only possibility for you is mining some alt coin.  Also if you don't own the PCs, and pay the electrical bill yourself, you may end up in serious trouble if you do not have the owners permission to use the PCs this way.
Billyboy402
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 07, 2016, 02:38:45 PM
 #6

Try Ethereum on cpu/gpu
5x 280x = ~100 MH/s ( ROI: ~2 cards/ month = one card used ~170 $ )

Period   ETH                     USD
Minute   0.002687             $0.01
Hour     0.161211             $0.42
Day           3.869064             $10.15
Week   27.083448     $71.02
Month   116.071921     $304.39

Network Hashrate:   791.35 GH/s
Block time: ~14 second

Hashrate: 791350 MH/s = 791.35 GH/s
Period   ETH                            USD
Minute   21.262388            $55.76
Hour           1,275.743257            $3,345.52
Day           30,617.83817           $80,292.53
Week   214,324.867256       $562,047.68
Month   918,535.145384       $2,408,775.75

Ethereum price: 2.62 $ or 0.0068 BTC at the time of this post.

THIS ACCOUNT WAS HACK > SORRY FOR ANY ONE THAT HAS DEALT WITH THIS ACCOUNT.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
February 07, 2016, 06:34:10 PM
 #7

Mining with CPU hasn't been viable for over five years and GPU hasn't been viable for going on three years.

ASIC mining hardware is now required to mine Bitcoin.

all good, i have many servers with very high specs, i am not talking for a 1 machine job. i have a bunch of servers.

High end servers aren't going to have good AMD gaming GPU's, they typically have Intel GPU's which never were any good for Bitcoin mining.  Even if they did that still wouldn't equate to one current Bitcoin Miner.  So get an Avalon 6 or a Bitmain S7 and put in your data center.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
calkob
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 07, 2016, 08:06:40 PM
 #8

Yeah i would definately give up on the idea of mining bitcoin with a GPU, never mind a CPU.  As has already been said you could easily mine ether or another altcoin and exchange for bitcoin this would be way more profitable.   Grin
CrashBitz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 07, 2016, 08:38:25 PM
 #9

hi guys, wondering how to setup a cpu and such for mining bitcoins, thanks.
Set them up as a per any gaming rig to play your favourite PC game while your ASIC miners crack on and get you some mBTC

Crash
chroniclel33t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 07, 2016, 11:55:17 PM
 #10


all good, i have many servers with very high specs, i am not talking for a 1 machine job. i have a bunch of servers.

I suggest you go to this site and work out the hash rate/second of your systems.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Non-specialized_hardware_comparison

For the purposes of this discussion we will give it a fast graphics board, say 500 megahash/second, or 0.5 gigahash/second.  This would earn about 2 cents a month as a Bitcoin miner.  

A single typical ASIC miner runs at about 5,000 Gigahash/second. This is 10,000 times faster than your PC.  

So if you have 10,000 PCs you may have the same hash rate as 1 ASIC miner (S7) and earn about $200 this month, and less in following months.  You will also generate an enormous electricity bill with the PCs.

The total current hash network runs at 1,100,000,000 gigahash/second.  This is about 2 billion times faster than a high end PC.  

So even if you have a million PCs it is still hardly anything.   The days of PC and GPU Bitcoin mining have long gone. 

The only possibility for you is mining some alt coin.  Also if you don't own the PCs, and pay the electrical bill yourself, you may end up in serious trouble if you do not have the owners permission to use the PCs this way.

thanks, also billyboy. thanks both for helping so idea is get a miner or gamble btc.
Billyboy402
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 08, 2016, 03:38:57 PM
 #11

since your trying to do this for the first time, I would advise to use Eobot: https://www.eobot.com/ You could just register and user their software for mining using either your CPU and GPU so it would be very basic to use and easy to setup plus there are a lot of alt coins that you could choose to mine there so it would be pretty basic as easy.

Never use their software,they have virus in the program/miner.
Eobot is a ponzi scheme based website.
He will earn more with a rig of 3x amd radeon 280x on ethereum mining. ( Roi is under 5 months ) or KnC Titan scrypt miner Smiley
You have 2 best ways:
1) Buy a mining rig with 2-3 amd radeon 280x and start mining ethereum.
2) Buy a KnC Titan scrypt miner @350 MH/s ( the hasrate is not stable at 350 MH/s - it can run up to 400 MH/s or less than 350 MH/s ) and start mining Litecoin (or any other stable scrypt coin ) you will get back your money in about 3 months - if you will buy it under 650$ (i'm using litecoin wisdom mining calculator )


THIS ACCOUNT WAS HACK > SORRY FOR ANY ONE THAT HAS DEALT WITH THIS ACCOUNT.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!