Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 04:37:43 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Pruning questions  (Read 1459 times)
doof
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2016, 10:35:51 AM
 #1

On my bit nodes hardware, I only have a 64gb card.  I upgraded the client to 0.11.2

Ive set prune 50gb via prune=50000

However, seems to be more like 5gb.  Anyone else seen this?
1513528663
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513528663

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513528663
Reply with quote  #2

1513528663
Report to moderator
1513528663
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513528663

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513528663
Reply with quote  #2

1513528663
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513528663
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513528663

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513528663
Reply with quote  #2

1513528663
Report to moderator
watashi-kokoto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
February 11, 2016, 12:07:43 PM
 #2

Ive set prune 50gb via prune=50000


set prune=45000

problem solved
belcher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 244


View Profile
February 11, 2016, 12:52:51 PM
 #3

Read this: https://bitcoin.org/en/release/v0.11.0#block-file-pruning

Quote
To recap, there are four types of data related to the blockchain in the bitcoin system: the raw blocks as received over the network (blk???.dat), the undo data (rev???.dat), the block index and the UTXO set (both LevelDB databases). The databases are built from the raw data.

Block pruning allows Bitcoin Core to delete the raw block and undo data once it’s been validated and used to build the databases. At that point, the raw data is used only to relay blocks to other nodes, to handle reorganizations, to look up old transactions (if -txindex is enabled or via the RPC/REST interfaces), or for rescanning the wallet. The block index continues to hold the metadata about all blocks in the blockchain.

The user specifies how much space to allot for block & undo files. The minimum allowed is 550MB. Note that this is in addition to whatever is required for the block index and UTXO databases.

My bold.

The solution is as watashi-kokoto writes, set a lower pruning threshold.

1HZBd22eQLgbwxjwbCtSjhoPFWxQg8rBd9
JoinMarket - CoinJoin that people will actually use.
PGP fingerprint: 0A8B 038F 5E10 CC27 89BF CFFF EF73 4EA6 77F3 1129
doof
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2016, 11:08:18 AM
 #4

Ive set prune 50gb via prune=50000


set prune=45000

problem solved
lol, let me try again.  Ive attempted to set my block size limits to 50GB via the command prune=50000.   However, after letting the node run for a week, It has only consumed 5GB, not 50GB.

Is it out by a magnitude?  Has anyone else seen this?
7788bitcoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
February 12, 2016, 11:15:08 AM
 #5

By the way, are we expecting wallet support soon for the pruning mode?

.MOYΛ NETWORKS.
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  ▀  ▀▀  ▀▀▀▀  ▀▀
                    ▄▄█████▄
                 ▄███████████▄
               ▄██████████████
             ▄█████▀▀   ▀█████             ▄▄▄▄▄             ▄▄
           ▄████▀        █████          ▄████████▄         ▄██▀
         ▄████▀          ████         ▄████▀▀▀▀███      ▄███▀
       ▄████▀           ▄████       ▄████▀     ████  ▄████▀
      ▄███▀             █████     ▄████▀        ███████▀
     ▄███▀              █████   ▄████▀           ▀███▀
    ███▀                ▀████▄█████▀
  ▄███▀                  ▀██████▀▀
 ███▀                      ▀▀▀▀
███▀
MOYANWHITEPAPERMOYAN
.
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
...FACEBOOK     TWITTER     LINKEDIN...
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
Jet Cash
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 728



View Profile WWW
February 12, 2016, 11:21:56 AM
 #6

I assume that in order to prune, core needs to start with the full blockchain. How does it prune? Does it delete records from the reference blockchain, or does it build a new pruned blockchain?

*****  Bitcoin mailer domain name for sale *****
BitcoinMailer.com
click on the domain link to buy it for $95
TierNolan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148


View Profile
February 12, 2016, 01:55:46 PM
 #7

I assume that in order to prune, core needs to start with the full blockchain. How does it prune? Does it delete records from the reference blockchain, or does it build a new pruned blockchain?

It deletes as it goes.  It downloads the headers first to find the longest chain and then downloads the blocks.  As each block is received, it is added to the block database.  While it is doing this, it is checking the blocks to see if there are any transactions for the wallet and storing them separately.  Once the block database goes over 10GB (or whatever your threshold), it deletes the oldest blocks first and will never delete a block that was received less than 2 days ago.  As the validation progresses, it always has around 10GBs worth of newest blocks. 

1LxbG5cKXzTwZg9mjL3gaRE835uNQEteWF
Jet Cash
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 728



View Profile WWW
February 12, 2016, 02:21:39 PM
 #8

Thanks for that explanation. Does this mean that I have to download the entire blockchain again if I want to use pruning, or can I use a blockchain stored on (say) a USB stick?

*****  Bitcoin mailer domain name for sale *****
BitcoinMailer.com
click on the domain link to buy it for $95
TierNolan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148


View Profile
February 12, 2016, 02:29:33 PM
 #9

Thanks for that explanation. Does this mean that I have to download the entire blockchain again if I want to use pruning, or can I use a blockchain stored on (say) a USB stick?

You can bootstrap the blockchain from an external file.  You have to get it one way or another if you want to scan for transactions.  The pruning flag keep the block database at the limit (though the UTXO set and wallet data is separate).

1LxbG5cKXzTwZg9mjL3gaRE835uNQEteWF
doof
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765


View Profile WWW
February 17, 2016, 06:30:55 AM
 #10

I assume that in order to prune, core needs to start with the full blockchain. How does it prune? Does it delete records from the reference blockchain, or does it build a new pruned blockchain?

It deletes as it goes.  It downloads the headers first to find the longest chain and then downloads the blocks.  As each block is received, it is added to the block database.  While it is doing this, it is checking the blocks to see if there are any transactions for the wallet and storing them separately.  Once the block database goes over 10GB (or whatever your threshold), it deletes the oldest blocks first and will never delete a block that was received less than 2 days ago.  As the validation progresses, it always has around 10GBs worth of newest blocks. 

Heres my node running 0.11.2 and prune.  http://101.165.103.43:1008

Just seems to be stuck on that block number, and only 5gb not 50gb.
Dagwanoenyent
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86


View Profile
February 18, 2016, 12:17:17 AM
 #11

So using this prooning you can reduce size of synchronized folder?
Youtube video about this will be very helpful.
Moloch
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Moloch.net


View Profile WWW
February 18, 2016, 06:56:40 AM
 #12

So using this pruning you can reduce size of synchronized folder?
Youtube video about this will be very helpful.

Yes, it reduces the data stored... I set it to 550MB (the minimum), which ends up taking ~2GB of disk space instead of 60GB

Keep in mind, you lose a bit of functionality... If you ever need to rescan the blockchain, it will need to download the entire 60GB again

Jackling
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 351


Proof-of-Asset Protocol


View Profile
February 19, 2016, 06:43:34 PM
 #13

So using this pruning you can reduce size of synchronized folder?
Youtube video about this will be very helpful.

Yes, it reduces the data stored... I set it to 550MB (the minimum), which ends up taking ~2GB of disk space instead of 60GB

Keep in mind, you lose a bit of functionality... If you ever need to rescan the blockchain, it will need to download the entire 60GB again

I have several wallet, they are created at different times. So it is very inconvenient if I have to download the whole blockchain again and again.

|
 
 
50
|
 




                       ▄
           ▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
▄▄▄▄█████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████

█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
▀▀▀▀█████  █████████████
           ▀▀▀▀▀▀███████
                       ▀
|
 
 
$1,5 M
|



        ▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄
      ▄█████▀▀███▀▀█████▄
    ▄███▀     ███     ▀███▄
   ████       ███       ████
  ███▀                   ▀███
 ███▀                     ▀███
▄██▀       █████████       ▀██▄
███                         ███
███        █████████        ███
███                         ███
▀██▄       █████████       ▄██▀
 ███▄                     ▄███
  ███▄                   ▄███
   ████       ███       ████
    ▀███▄     ███     ▄███▀
      ▀█████▄▄███▄▄█████▀
        ▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀
|
 
|
 
<>
<>
<>
<>
 
GITHUB
TWITTER
YOUTUBE
FACEBOOK
Moloch
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Moloch.net


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2016, 09:34:01 AM
 #14

So using this pruning you can reduce size of synchronized folder?
Youtube video about this will be very helpful.

Yes, it reduces the data stored... I set it to 550MB (the minimum), which ends up taking ~2GB of disk space instead of 60GB

Keep in mind, you lose a bit of functionality... If you ever need to rescan the blockchain, it will need to download the entire 60GB again

I have several wallet, they are created at different times. So it is very inconvenient if I have to download the whole blockchain again and again.

If that is the case, don't run it in pruned mode... 60GB isn't that much space

Dagwanoenyent
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86


View Profile
February 20, 2016, 09:26:39 PM
 #15

I'm only need pruned blockchain - wallet for sending and receiving coins.
This will work without problems?
ranochigo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


View Profile WWW
February 21, 2016, 02:37:10 AM
 #16

I'm only need pruned blockchain - wallet for sending and receiving coins.
This will work without problems?
Currently, as of 0.11.2, wallet support and new block relaying are disabled. They should be enabled in 0.12. However, if you have to add a new address using a private key, you need to redownload and verify the blockchain to scan for older transactions.














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
Dagwanoenyent
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86


View Profile
February 22, 2016, 08:55:33 PM
 #17

I'm only need pruned blockchain - wallet for sending and receiving coins.
This will work without problems?
Currently, as of 0.11.2, wallet support and new block relaying are disabled. They should be enabled in 0.12. However, if you have to add a new address using a private key, you need to redownload and verify the blockchain to scan for older transactions.
This sound complicated..I hope this new version will be stable.
I saw beta version ready for downloading..
Thanks.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!