Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 02:32:53 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Optimizing HD5770?  (Read 5433 times)
karuso
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 10:12:11 PM
 #1

I am using an HD5770 running at 920/1320@88°C=159mhashs

I read that some people are gettings 200-220mhashs with the HD5770.

Is there a way to optimize it using the stock fan?  It's the Sapphire edition btw.
The high temp is also scaring me.

I am also thinking about getting a second 5770 for crossfire. How many mhashs would i get with it? Couldnt find any multi-gpu benchmarks. Would this make sense or would it be wiser to sell it and get a new gpu instead?

Thanks in advance for the answers
1481423573
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481423573

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481423573
Reply with quote  #2

1481423573
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481423573
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481423573

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481423573
Reply with quote  #2

1481423573
Report to moderator
1481423573
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481423573

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481423573
Reply with quote  #2

1481423573
Report to moderator
1481423573
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481423573

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481423573
Reply with quote  #2

1481423573
Report to moderator
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 08, 2011, 10:45:08 PM
 #2

lower mem clock.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
karuso
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 11:16:26 PM
 #3

thanks for the tip
i set the mem clock to default (1200) and it didnt affect the mhashs rate at all. So i guess that it has no significance for mining?
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:26:10 AM
 #4

thanks for the tip
i set the mem clock to default (1200) and it didnt affect the mhashs rate at all. So i guess that it has no significance for mining?
i meant MUCH lower
https://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=4292

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Seraphim401
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


Live Long and Prosper


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:41:33 AM
 #5

I have 2 HD 5770's in cf giving me a combined hash of ~405 Mh/s.
Both running @960/150.
Flags for gpu one: -v -w 128 -f 60
Flags for gpu two:   -v -w 128 -f 0
Used MSI afterburner to lower mem clock.


karuso
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:37:34 PM
 #6

Thanks but i cant adjust it any lower than 600 with afterburner. Why?
Seraphim401
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


Live Long and Prosper


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 02:08:10 PM
 #7

Thanks but i cant adjust it any lower than 600 with afterburner. Why?
Add to following under [ATIADLHAL] in the msiafterburner conf file:
 
EnableUnofficialOverclocking   = 1
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it

UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 2
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod   = 0

karuso
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 02:58:59 PM
 #8

Thanks but i cant adjust it any lower than 600 with afterburner. Why?
Add to following under [ATIADLHAL] in the msiafterburner conf file:
 
EnableUnofficialOverclocking   = 1
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it

UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 2
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod   = 0

my config doesnt have those lines

should i just add them?
Seraphim401
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


Live Long and Prosper


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 03:00:00 PM
 #9

Thanks but i cant adjust it any lower than 600 with afterburner. Why?
Add to following under [ATIADLHAL] in the msiafterburner conf file:
 
EnableUnofficialOverclocking   = 1
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it

UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 2
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod   = 0

my config doesnt have those lines

should i just add them?
Yes

EpicNoob
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 03:24:34 PM
 #10

n/a
tunatime
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 05:02:50 PM
 #11

don't oc you card any more 88c is already hot go dl guiminer and use  the flags -v -w128 should bring you up to about 170ish or so. i have 2 5770 that put out 200+Mhs a card i run them at 970core to get to the 200 you need a core of at least 960 and probably a v bump to but dont do this as you card is way to hot for more v
karuso
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 05:05:15 PM
 #12

Before overclocking change thermal paste, sapphire uses bad one. On my cards (Sapphire HD5830 & HD5570) this reduced temperature a few degrees.

Yeah i just opened it and it looks like they used too much paste
will change it in a few days.



Ah i was editing the wrong cfg. I edited the one in profiles instead. Now i edited the right one which was still missing the "EnableUnofficialOverclocking" line and restarted my computer. Still cant edit lower than 600 though. Whats wrong?






I applied the flags already and am getting 195 now. And the temp is now at 60(100%)-70(50%)
EpicNoob
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 05:08:37 PM
 #13

n/a
karuso
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 05:25:08 PM
 #14

You can set 600Mhz, then close Afterburner and run it again, after that you will be able to set lower clock.
Nice trick? Smiley

Thanks it works! But now i cant lower the gpu speed to less than 938?
Seraphim401
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


Live Long and Prosper


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 05:28:03 PM
 #15

Repeat the step until the desired clock speed has been reached.

EpicNoob
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 05:29:57 PM
 #16

n/a
karuso
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 06:31:09 PM
 #17

Thanks works now Wink
Man From The Future
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 07:00:36 PM
 #18

I have 2 HD 5770's in cf giving me a combined hash of ~405 Mh/s.
Both running @960/150.
Flags for gpu one: -v -w 128 -f 60
Flags for gpu two:   -v -w 128 -f 0
Used MSI afterburner to lower mem clock.



Is that just because you have f 60 on one?

You should get 220 each, if you do what http://www.smpake.com/?p=59 says... :S

(I only get 200 on one, as for obvious reasons, I don't use a high aggression on the one for my real monitor Smiley)
karuso
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 07:22:35 PM
 #19

I have 2 HD 5770's in cf giving me a combined hash of ~405 Mh/s.
Both running @960/150.
Flags for gpu one: -v -w 128 -f 60
Flags for gpu two:   -v -w 128 -f 0
Used MSI afterburner to lower mem clock.



Is that just because you have f 60 on one?

You should get 220 each, if you do what http://www.smpake.com/?p=59 says... :S

(I only get 200 on one, as for obvious reasons, I don't use a high aggression on the one for my real monitor Smiley)

How does he get the 5770 to work @1ghz anyway? Mine crashes instantly if i try to set it to more than 920
karuso
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 06:18:09 PM
 #20

I have 2 HD 5770's in cf giving me a combined hash of ~405 Mh/s.
Both running @960/150.
Flags for gpu one: -v -w 128 -f 60
Flags for gpu two:   -v -w 128 -f 0
Used MSI afterburner to lower mem clock.



Is that just because you have f 60 on one?

You should get 220 each, if you do what http://www.smpake.com/?p=59 says... :S

(I only get 200 on one, as for obvious reasons, I don't use a high aggression on the one for my real monitor Smiley)

How does he get the 5770 to work @1ghz anyway? Mine crashes instantly if i try to set it to more than 920

bump
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!